Washington County, ArkansasEdit This Page
From FamilySearch Wiki
United States
Arkansas
Washington County
Guide to Washington County Arkansas genealogy. Birth records, marriage records, death records, census records, family history, and military records.
| Washington County, Arkansas | |||||||
| Map | |||||||
![]() Location in the state of Arkansas | |||||||
![]() Location of Arkansas in the U.S. | |||||||
| Facts | |||||||
| Founded | October 17, 1828 | ||||||
|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| County Seat | Fayetteville | ||||||
| Courthouse | |||||||
| Address | Washington County Courthouse 280 N College Ave #300 Fayetteville, AR 72701 Phone: 501.444.1711 | ||||||
| |||||||
County Courthouse
Washington County Courthouse
280 N College Ave #300
Fayetteville, AR 72701
Phone: 501.444.1711
County Clerk has marriage records from 1845 and probate records from 1828; Clerk Circuit Court has divorce, court and land records; City Librarian has cemetery records[1]
| | |||||
| Birth | Marriage | Death | Census | Land | Probate |
| |
1845 |
|
|
|
1828 |
History
Washington County is Arkansas's seventeenth county, formed on October 17, 1828, and named for George Washington, the first President of the United States.
Parent County
- 1828--Washington County was created 17 October 1828 from Crawford County. County seat: Fayetteville [2]
Boundary Changes
See an interactive map of Washington County boundary changes.
Variant Spellings
Record Loss
Places/Localities
Populated Places
- Elkins
- Elm Springs
- Farmington
- Fayetteville
- Goshen
- Greenland
- Johnson
- Lincoln
- Prairie Grove
- Springdale
- Tontitown
- West Fork
- Winslow
Neighboring Counties
Genealogy Resources
Research Guides
African Americans
Bible Records
Cemeteries
Cemeteries of Washington County - Index and Transcriptions - Washington County ARGenWeb,
Combs Cemetery, Confederate Cemetery, Fayetteville National Cemetery, Harrell Cemetery, Joyce Cemetery, Mount Salem Cemetery, Reese Cemetery 1, Reese Cemetery 2, Roberson Cemetery, Tharp Cemetery, Walker Cemetery, Whitehouse Cemetery, Zion Cemetry
Census
- 1830 Census - Tripod Mika Jackson
- 1840 Census - Tripod Mika Jackson
- 1850 Census with Index - USGenWeb Washington County Archives
Church Records
Church records and the information they provide vary significantly depending on the denomination and the record keeper. They may contain information about members of the congregation, such as age, date of baptism, christening, or birth; marriage information and maiden names; and death date. For general information about Arkansas denominations, view the Arkansas Church Records wiki page.
- Churches in Fayetteville AR - ChurchAngel
- Churches in Springdale, AR - ChurchAngel
Court
Genealogy
Land and Property
Land and property records can place an ancestor in a particular location, provide economic information, and reveal family relationships. Land records include: deeds, abstracts and indexes, mortgages, leases, grants and land patents.
See Arkansas Land and Property for additional information about early Arkansas land grants. After land was transferred to private ownership, subsequent transactions were usually recorded at the county courthouse and where records are currently housed.
Federal Land Patents, Homestead and Cash Entry Patents Before 1908 - USGenWeb Washington County Archives, Land Records 1834-1991, Fayetteville Public Library Land Index, 1830-1903
Washington County Archives Land Records
Local Histories
Local histories are available for Washington County, Arkansas. County histories may include biographies, church, school and government history, and military information. For more information about local histories, see Arkansas Local Histories.
- Penny Postcards from Washington County - USGenWeb Washington County Archives
- National Register of Historic Places for Washington County AR
- American Memory for Washington County - Library of Congress
- St. John's College of Arkansas - Washington County ARGenWeb
- School Records Indexcovers early 1900s and is courtesy of the Fayetteville Public Library
Maps
- Family Maps of Washington County, Arkansas (land patent maps) at HistoryGeo.com ($). Free surname search.
- Gold Bug Historic Maps - reflect changes in county boundaries
- Interactive Battle Map for Arkansas
Military
Revolutionary War
- A Census of Pensioners for Revolutionary or Military Services: With their Names, Ages, and Places of Residence, as Returned by the Marshalls of the Several Judicial Districts, Under the Act for Taking the Sixth Census]. 1841. Digital version at Google Books. 1967 reprint: FHL Collection 973 X2pc 1840. [See Arkansas, Washington County on page 191.]
- Rejected or Suspended Applications for Revolutionary War Pensions. Washington, D.C., 1852. Reprinted by Genealogical Publishing Co., Inc., 1969, and 1991. Reprints include "an Added Index to States." FHL Collection 973 M24ur; digital version at Ancestry ($). [Includes veterans from this county; Arkansas section begins on page 439.]
Mexican War
- Fayetteville Roster Mexican War - Washington County ARGenWeb
Civil War
Civil War service men from Washington County served in various regiments. Men often joined a regiment or a company (within a regiment) that originated in their county. Listed below are the military units that were formed in or had many men from Washington County.
- Confederate Soldiers Buried in Washington County - Washington County ARGenWeb
- Arkansas Civil War Biographies - Washington County ARGenWeb
- United Daughters of Confederacy - Prairie Grove, Arkansas
Also see Arkansas in the Civil War
Civil War Battle
The following Civil War battles were fought in Washington County.
- November 28, 1862 = Cane Hill also known as Canehill, Boston Mountains[5]
- December 7, 1862 = Prairie Grove also known as Fayetteville[6]
- Map showing Civil War battles in Arkansas
Naturalization
Newspapers
Additional newspapers abstracts can sometimes be found using search phrases such as Washington County, Arkansas newspapers in online catalogs like:
- WorldCat
- FamilySearch. Do a Washington County, Arkansas Place-name search for these and other records in the Family History Library Catalog (For instructions see, FHL Catalog Place-name Search).
- Northwest Arkansas Online
- Northwest Arkansas Times
- Fayetteville Free Weekly
- Springdale Morning News
- Obituary Records: 1868-2010 | Courtesy of the Fayetteville Public Library | This index covers three newspapers: Northwest Arkansas Times, Fayetteville Weekly Democrate and the Fayetteville Daily Democrate
Occupations
Probate Records
Probate records of Arkansas have been kept by the probate or county courts. You can obtain copies of the original records by contacting the clerk's office in the county courthouse.
The Family History Library has microfilm copies of many Arkansas probate records. See Arkansas Probate Records for more information about Probate records in Arkansas, including statewide indexes.
Taxation
Arkansas tax records replace missing censuses and provide lists of residents during years between censuses. There may be gaps of several years for some counties. For more information see Arkansas Taxation.
Vital Records
Vital Records consist of births, adoptions, marriages, divorces, and deaths recorded on registers, certificates, and documents. A copy or an extract of most original records can be purchased from the Arkansas Vital Records State Department of Health or the County Clerk's office of the county where the event occurred. See also Arkansas Vital Records Online and Arkansas Statewide Indexes and Collections at the Family History Library.
Birth
Marriage
- 1845-1922 - Washington County Marriage Books D-R Index 1845-1922 in International Genealogical Index at FamilySearch - free.[7]
- 1887-1949 - Washington County Marriage Books I-Z, A1-C1 Index 1887-1949 in Arkansas, County Marriages, 1837-1957 at FamilySearch - free.[8]
- Washington County Marriages - submitted to Washington County ARGenWeb
- Washington County Archive Marriage Record Search, 1845-1941
- Arkansas Marriage Records - GenWed.com
Death
- Obituaries submitted to Washington County ARGenWeb
Vital Record Substitutes
Genealogy Societies and Libraries
Family History Centers
- Introduction to LDS Family History Centers
- Springdale Arkansas Jones Family Center Family History Center
- Springdale, Arkansas
Websites
- USGenWeb project. May have maps, name indexes, history or other information for this county. Select the state, then the county.
- Family History Library Catalog
- Washington County, Arkansas Genealogy and Family History (Linkpendium)
References
- ↑ The Handybook for Genealogists : United States of America, 10th ed., (Draper, UT: Everton Publishers, 2002), p. 70.
- ↑ The Handybook for Genealogists: United States of America,10th ed. (Draper, UT:Everton Publishers, 2002).
- ↑ Arkansas, Adjutant General's Office, Report of the Adjutant General of Arkansas, for the period of the late rebellion, and to November 1, 1866, (Bethesda, Maryland: University Publications of America, c1990) FHL fiche 6082312
- ↑ Desmond Walls Allen, Third Arkansas Union Cavalry, (Conway, Arkansas: Arkansas Research, c1987) FHL book 976.7 M28dc
- ↑ Heritage Preservation Services, Civil War Battle Summaries by State, (accessed 2 August 2012).
- ↑ Heritage Preservation Services, Civil War Battle Summaries by State, (accessed 15 August 2012).
- ↑ 7.0 7.1 Genealogical Society of Utah, Parish and Vital Records List (July 1998). Microfiche. Digital version at https://www.familysearch.org/learn/wiki/en/images/d/d7/Arkansasnz.pdf.
- ↑ FamilySearch Wiki contributors, "Arkansas County Marriages (FamilySearch Historical Records)," in FamilySearch Wiki, accessed 18 April 2013.
Need additional research help? Contact our research help specialists.
Need wiki, indexing, or website help? Contact our product teams.
Did you find this article helpful?
You're invited to explain your rating on the discussion page (you must be signed in).
- This page was last modified on 21 May 2013, at 19:54.
- This page has been accessed 2,634 times.
New to the Research Wiki?
In the FamilySearch Research Wiki, you can learn how to do genealogical research or share your knowledge with others.
Learn More

