Washington County, FloridaEdit This Page
From FamilySearch Wiki
United States
Florida
Washington County
Guide to Washington County Florida genealogy. Birth records, marriage records, death records, census records, family history, and military records.
| Washington County, Florida | |||||||||
| Map | |||||||||
![]() Location in the state of Florida | |||||||||
![]() Location of Florida in the U.S. | |||||||||
| Facts | |||||||||
| Founded | December 9, 1825 | ||||||||
|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| County Seat | Chipley | ||||||||
| Courthouse | |||||||||
| |||||||||
Contents |
Quick Dates
Washington County's civil records start the following years:
| Marriage | Court | Census | Land | Probate |
| 1877 | 1890 | 1830 | 1880 | 1880 |
County Courthouse
Washington County Courthouse
711 3rd Street
Chipley, FL 32428
Phone: 850.638.6200
Clerk Circuit Court has marriage, divorce, probate, land and court records from 1890.[1]
History
Parent County
1825--Washington County was created 9 December 1825 from Jackson County.
County seat: Chipley [2]
Boundary Changes
Record Loss
Places / Localities
Populated Places
Neighboring Counties
Resources
African American
- Florida African American Griots Project - USGenWeb
- Afrigeneas - African Ancestored Genealogy
Cemeteries
- Washington County Cemeteries ~ USGenWeb Archives Project
- Washington County Tombstone Photos ~ USGenWeb Archives Project
- Florida Tombstone Transcription Project - USGenWeb
- Interment.net - Florida cemetery records by County
- Veterans Administration National Cemeteries - Florida National Cemeteries
Census
| Historical populations | ||
|---|---|---|
| Census | Pop. | %± |
| 1830 | 978 | — |
| 1840 | 859 | −12.2% |
| 1850 | 1,950 | 127.0% |
| 1860 | 2,154 | 10.5% |
| 1870 | 2,302 | 6.9% |
| 1880 | 4,089 | 77.6% |
| 1890 | 6,426 | 57.2% |
| 1900 | 10,154 | 58.0% |
| 1910 | 16,403 | 61.5% |
| 1920 | 11,828 | −27.9% |
| 1930 | 12,180 | 3.0% |
| 1940 | 12,302 | 1.0% |
| 1950 | 11,888 | −3.4% |
| 1960 | 11,249 | −5.4% |
| 1970 | 11,453 | 1.8% |
| 1980 | 14,509 | 26.7% |
| 1990 | 16,919 | 16.6% |
| Source: "American FactFinder". United States Census Bureau. | ||
For tips on accessing Washington County, Florida census records online, see: Florida Census.
- 1783 Spanish Census - USGenWeb Archives Project
- 1821 Census/Tax List Index - USGenWeb Archives Project
- 1823 Census/Tax List Index - USGenWeb Archives Project
- 1880 Census African Born Blacks and Mulattos - USGenWeb Archives Project
- Federal Census Information from National Archives - USGenWeb Archives Project
- State Census Information from Florida State Archives - USGenWeb Archives Project
- Census of Pensioners Revolutionary Military Service - USGenWeb Archives Project
Church
Church records and the information they provide vary significantly depending on the denomination and the record keeper. They may contain information about members of the congregation, such as age, date of baptism, christening, or birth; marriage information and maiden names; and death date. For general information about Florida denominations, view the Florida Church Records wiki page.
Florida Church Listings ~ Church Angel
Court
Land
Land and property records can place an ancestor in a particular location, provide economic information, and reveal family relationships. Land records include: deeds, abstracts and indexes, mortgages, leases, grants and land patents.
See Florida Land and Property for additional information about early Florida land grants. After land was transferred to private ownership, subsequent transactions were usually recorded at the county courthouse and where records are currently housed.
- Davis Federal Land Records, Washington County ~ USGenWeb Archives Project
- Florida Territorial Land Records
Local Histories
Local histories are available for Washington County, Florida. County histories may include biographies, church, school and government history, and military information. For more information about local histories see the wiki page section Florida Local Histories.
Medical Directory for Chipley 1902 ~ USGenWeb Archives Project
Maps
- Family Maps of Washington County, Florida (land patent maps) at HistoryGeo.com ($). Free surname search.
- 1870 Gray's Atlas Panhandle Portion of State - USGenWeb Archives Project
- 1882 Rand McNally Panhandle Portion of State - USGenWeb Archives Project
- Exploring Florida, FCIT Maps, University of South Florida
Military
- Washington County Military Files ~ USGenWeb Archives Project
- Florida State Military Files - USGenWeb Archives Project
- Pension Transcriptions - Florida state pension records from various wars - USGenWeb Pension Project
- Florida Casualties in the Korean Conflict
- Florida Casualties in the Vietnam War
Newspapers
Additional newspapers abstracts can sometimes be found using search phrases such as Washington County, Florida newspapers in online catalogs like:
- WorldCat (For instructions see WorldCat Online Catalog).
- Do a Washington County, Florida Place-name search for these and other records in the Family History Library Catalog (For instructions see FHL Catalog Place-name Search).
Obituaries
Probate
Probate records are held by the Washington County, Florida Clerk of Court and are housed at the Washington County, Florida Courthouse. Microfilmed records can be found online at Florida Probate Records, 1784-1990. See the wiki page Florida Probate Records for information about how to use probate records.
Content: Probate Records may give the decedent's date of death, names of his or her spouse, children, parents, siblings, in-laws, neighbors, associates, relatives, and their place of residence.
Record types: Wills, estates, guardianships, naturalizations, and adoptions.
Taxation
Taxes were levied on free white males over 21 and slaves aged 21 to 60. These persons are referred to as "polls." Tax listings, or digests, of a county generally list the taxable landowners and other polls and the amount of tax. The records for each county are divided by militia district. For more information see the wiki page Florida Taxation.
Vital Records
Vital Records consist of births, adoptions, marriages, divorces, and deaths recorded on registers, certificates, and documents. A copy or an extract of most original records can be purchased from the Florida Department of Health, Bureau of Vital Statistics or the County Clerk's office of the county where the event occurred.
For some online statewide indexes, see the FamilySearch Historical Record Collections for Florida.
Marriage
- 1877-1888 - Washington County Marriage Index 1877-1888. Batch M513131 at FamilySearch - free.[3]
- 1881-1885 - Washington County Marriage Book AA Index 1881-1885. Batch M513132 at FamilySearch - free.[3]
Death
- Washington County, Florida Obituary Collection Free from GenealogyBuff.com. From Various Funeral Homes in the Chipley, Vernon, Wausau, Caryville, and Ebro, Florida areas.
Societies and Libraries
- The West Florida Genealogical Society
- Florida State Historical Societies - Listing by County
- Florida Family History Centers
- Florida Historical Society
- Florida State Genealogical Society
Family History Centers
Web Sites
- The FLGenWeb Project
- Voters in the First Florida Election 1845 ~ USGenWeb Archives Project
- USGenWeb
- USGenWeb Archives Project
- State of Florida
- Family History Library Catalog
- Washington County, Florida Genealogy and Family History (Linkpendium)
- Washington County, FLGenWeb Project, Inc.
References
- ↑ Handybook for Genealogists: United States of America, 10th ed. (Draper, Utah: Everton Pub., 2002), Washington County, Florida Page 137 At various libraries (WorldCat); FHL Book 973 D27e 2002.
- ↑ The Handybook for Genealogists: United States of America,10th ed. (Draper, UT:Everton Publishers, 2002).
- ↑ 3.0 3.1 Genealogical Society of Utah, Parish and Vital Records List (July 1998). Microfiche. Digital version at https://familysearch.org/learn/wiki/en/images/3/3f/Igifloridamz.pdf.
Need additional research help? Contact our research help specialists.
Need wiki, indexing, or website help? Contact our product teams.
Did you find this article helpful?
You're invited to explain your rating on the discussion page (you must be signed in).
- This page was last modified on 13 June 2013, at 02:17.
- This page has been accessed 1,803 times.
New to the Research Wiki?
In the FamilySearch Research Wiki, you can learn how to do genealogical research or share your knowledge with others.
Learn More


