Washington County, IndianaEdit This Page

From FamilySearch Wiki

United States Gotoarrow.png Indiana Gotoarrow.png Washington County

Guide to Washington County Indiana genealogy. Birth records, marriage records, death records, census records, family history, and military records.

Hand and keyboard.jpg Indiana
Online Records
Washington County, Indiana
Map
Map of the U.S. highlighting Indiana
Location of Indiana in the U.S.
Facts
Founded December 21, 1813
County Seat Salem
Courthouse
Address Washington County Courthouse
99 Public Square
Salem, IN 47167
Phone: 812.883.5748
County Website
Adopt-a-wiki page
Indiana Genealogical Society.JPG This page adopted by:
Indiana Genealogical Society
who welcome you to contribute.
Adopt a page today

Contents

Historical Facts

Beginning dates for major county records
Birth
Marriage
Death
Land
Probate
1882*
1815*
1882*
1814
1814
*For earlier dates,

try... Church | Obituaries | Cemeteries



Neighboring Counties

Lawrence  • Jackson  • Scott  • Clark  • Floyd  • Harrison  • Crawford  • Orange


Harrison CountyBreckinridge CountyPerry CountyMeade CountyOldham CountyJefferson CountyHardin CountyBullitt CountyNelson CountySpencer CountyShelby CountyHenry CountyCarroll CountyTrimble CountySpencer CountyOrange CountyClark CountyMonroe CountyGreene CountyMartin CountyJefferson CountyJackson CountyJennings CountyFloyd CountyScott CountyDubois CountyCrawford CountyLawrence CountyWashington CountyINWashington.JPG


Boundary Changes

For animated maps illustrating Indiana County boundary changes, "Rotating Formation Indiana County Boundary Maps" (1790-1873) may be viewed for free at the MapofUS.org website.

Record Loss

For a list of record loss in Indiana Counties see: Indiana Counties with Burned Courthouses

Washington County, Indiana Resources

Bible Records

Biographies

Cemeteries

Crown Hill Cemetery in Salem, Indiana is the largest cemetery in the county. Dating back to 1824, the cemetery has several thousand grave sites. The cemetery has an online database of burials on its web page at Crown Hill Cemetery.

BillionGraves

Census Records

For tips on accessing Washington County, Indiana census records online, see: Indiana Census.

  • Index to Defective, Dependent & Delinquent Census for Washington County, Indiana (1880) (members only database, Indiana Genealogical Society)

Church Records

Most church records are held by individual churches. For contact information, check a phone directory, such as SearchBug or Dex Knows. Some denominations are gathering their records into a central repository.

Lutheran
  • Records of Good Shepherd Lutheran Church, in Evangelical Lutheran Church in America database at Archives.com ($).

For more information about these major repositories, see Indiana Church Records.

Finding More Church Records

Additional church records can sometimes be found using search phrases such as Washington County, Indiana Church Records in online catalogs like:

Court Records

Directories

Emigration and Immigration

Ethnic and Religious Groups

Gazetteers

Genealogies

History

Local Histories
  • Biographical and Historical Souvenir for the Counties of Clark, Crawford, Harrison, Floyd, Jefferson, Jennings, Scott and Washington, Indiana. (Evansville, Ind: Unigraphic, 1972.) FHL US/CAN Film 934899 Item 4 FHL Collectionother libraries  INTERNET ARCHIVE
  • History of Washington County Indiana: A Re-Production of the Original "History of Lawrence, Orange and Washington Counties" 1884. (Salem, Ind: Washington County Historical Society, 1999.) 977.226 H2Lc FHL FHL Collection

other libraries     INTERNET ARCHIVE

Land and Property

Land and property records can place an ancestor in a particular location, provide economic information, and reveal family relationships. Land records include: deeds, abstracts and indexes, mortgages, leases, grants and land patents.

After land was transferred from the government to private ownership, subsequent transactions were recorded at the courthouse, where records are currently housed.
See Indiana Land and Property for additional information about early Indiana land grants and patents.

Finding More Land Records

Additional land records can sometimes be found using search phrases such as Washington County, Indiana Probate Records in online catalogs like:

Maps

Migration

Military Records

War of 1812

Civil War

Civil War service men from Washington County served in various regiments. Men often joined a company (within a regiment) that originated in their county. Listed below are companies that were specifically formed in Washington County.

Civil War Books

  • "Military History" Chapter 7 in History of Washington County Indiana: A Re-Production of the Original "History of Lawrence, Orange and Washington Counties" 1884. (Salem, Ind: Washington County Historical Society, 1999.)(page 793-815, Regiment, Companies)977.226 H2Lc FHL FHL Collection other libraries     INTERNET ARCHIVE

Newspapers

Obituaries

Occupation

Periodicals

Probate Records

In most counties in Indiana, probate records have been kept by the county clerk of the circuit court. They include wills, fee books, claim registers, legacy records, inheritance records, probate ticklers, and dockets. The records are available at the county courthouse.

Finding More Probate Records

Additional probate records can sometimes be found using search phrases such as Washington County, Indiana Probate Records in online catalogs like:

Public Records

School Records
Voting Registration

Repositories

See also a List of Indiana Archives, Libraries, Publications, Historical & Genealogical Societies

Archives
County Courthouse

Washington County Courthouse
99 Public Square
Salem, IN 47167
Phone: 812.883.5748

County Health Department birth and death from 1882.
County Clerk has marriage, divorce, probate, probate and court records from 1814
and newspapers from 1891.
County recorder has land records.
County Historical Society has many family records. [3]

Family History Centers

For additional nearby Family History Centers, search online in the Family History Center directory.

Libraries, Museums and Societies

The Stevens Memorial Museum and Genealogy Library, 307 East Market Street, Salem, Indiana, 812-883-6495, is also home to the Washington County Historical Society (WCHS).

WCHS publishes a newsletter that contains events, news articles, and books and other items for sale by the library. The library and museum are open 9AM to 5PM daily, except for Sunday, Monday, and holidays.

The name has recently changed to The John Hay Center which encompasses the entire organization including the Stevens Memorial Museum, the Pioneer Village, John Hay Birthplace, and the Depot Railroad Museum. The web site is www.johnhaycenter.org.

Stevens Museum has cemetery records books, histories, marriage and divorce records, and miscellaneous materials such as 1800-1902 Abstract of Wills, 1882-1999 Death Records and others.


Taxation

Indiana tax records complement land records and can be used in place of censuses or to supplement the years between censuses. Because only persons who owned taxable property were listed, many residents were not included in tax lists. There may also be gaps of several years in the tax records of some counties.

For more information see the wiki page Indiana Taxation.

Finding More Tax Records

Additional tax records can sometimes be found using search phrases such as Washington County, Indiana Tax Records in online catalogs like:

Vital Records

Vital records consist of birth, death, marriage and divorce records. Indiana law in 1882 required registration of births and deaths in counties. The Indiana Department of Health has birth records filed after October 1907 and death records filed after January 1900 for deaths. Copies may be obtained from the county health department or the Indiana State Division of Vital Records. See also How to order Indiana Vital Records or order electronically online.

Marriage licenses were required by counties beginning in 1800. Original marriage records are held at the office of the Washington County, Indiana County Clerk with divorce records located with the Washington County, Indiana Clerk of Courts.

  • Indiana State Digital Archives for Death, E-Publication, Institution, Military, Misc Historical, Naturalization Records can be searched by person name (accessed 26 May 2011)
Birth Records
Marriage Records
Death Records

Finding Vital Records at Other Repositories

Additional vital records can sometimes be found using search phrases such as Washington County, Indiana Vital Records in online catalogs like:


Washington County, Indiana Web Sites

Places

Information about the city of Salem, see the Wikipedia article Salem, Indiana

References

  1. The Handybook for Genealogists: United States of America,10th ed. (Draper, UT:Everton Publishers, 2002).
  2. Wikipedia contributors, "Washington County, Indiana" in Wikipedia: the Free Encyclopedia at http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Washington_County,_Indiana (accessed 10 May 2012).
  3. Handybook for Genealogists: United States of America, 10th ed. (Draper, Utah: Everton Pub., 2002), Washington County, Indiana 217 At various libraries (WorldCat); FHL Book 973 D27e 2002.
  4. Genealogical Society of Utah, Parish and Vital Records List (July 1998). Microfiche. Digital version at https://www.familysearch.org/learn/wiki/en/images/8/8d/Igiindianah.pdf.

 

Need additional research help? Contact our research help specialists.

Need wiki, indexing, or website help? Contact our product teams.


Did you find this article helpful?

You're invited to explain your rating on the discussion page (you must be signed in).

  • This page was last modified on 9 October 2014, at 17:06.
  • This page has been accessed 12,580 times.