Washington County, IowaEdit This Page
From FamilySearch Wiki
Guide to Washington County Iowa genealogy. Birth records, marriage records, death records, census records, family history, and military records.
|Washington County, Iowa|
Location in the state of Iowa
Location of Iowa in the U.S.
|Founded||January 18, 1838|
1838--Washington County was created 18 January 1838 from Henry, Louisa, and Muscatine Counties. It was formerly named Slaughter County, but the name changed to Washington County 25 January 1839.
County seat: Washington 
For animated maps illustrating Iowa County boundary changes, "Rotating Formation Iowa County Boundary Maps" (1816-1872) may be viewed for free at the MapofUS.org website.
For a list of record loss in Iowa Counties see: Iowa Counties with Burned Courthouses
- Washington County, Iowa Biographical Dictionary at Ancestry.com ($)
Most church records are held by individual churches. For contact information, check a phone directory, such as SearchBug or Dex Knows. Some denominations are gathering their records into a central repository. For more information about these major repositories, see Iowa Church Records.
- Records of the Immanuel Lutheran Church, Washington County, in Evangelical Lutheran Church in America database at Archives.com ($).
Land and property records can place an ancestor in a particular location, provide economic information, and reveal family relationships. Land records include: deeds, abstracts and indexes, mortgages, leases, grants and land patents.
See Iowa Land and Property for additional information about early Iowa land grants. After land was transferred to private ownership, subsequent transactions were usually recorded at the county courthouse, where records are currently housed.
Local histories are available for Washington County, Iowa. County histories may include biographies, church, school and government history, and military information. For more information about local histories, see the wiki page section Iowa Local Histories.
Regiments. Service men in Washington County, Iowa served in various regiments. Men often joined a company (within a regiment) that originated in their county. Listed below are companies that were specifically formed in Washington County, Iowa:
- - 7th Regiment, Iowa Infantry, Company H
- - 8th Regiment, Iowa Infantry, Company C
- - 10th Regiment, Iowa Infantry, Company E
- - 11th Regiment, Iowa Infantry, Company F
- - 13th Regiment, Iowa Infantry, Companies I and K
- - 17th Regiment, Iowa Infantry, Company D
- - 18th Regiment, Iowa Infantry, Company I
- - 19th Regiment, Iowa Infantry, Company C
- - 25th Regiment, Iowa Infantry, Companies A and I
- - 30th Regiment, Iowa Infantry, Company E
- - 31st Regiment, Iowa Infantry, Company K
- - 45th Regiment, Iowa Infantry (100 days, 1864), Company B
- - 10th Regiment, Iowa Infantry, Company E
:- 11th Regiment, Iowa Infantry, Company F
:- 13th Regiment, Iowa Infantry, Company I
:- 13th Regiment, Iowa Infantry, Company K
:- 17th Regiment, Iowa Infantry, Company D
:- 18th Regiment, Iowa Infantry, Company I
:- 19th Regiment, Iowa Infantry, Company C
:- 1st Regiment, Iowa Cavalry, Company F
:- 25th Regiment, Iowa Infantry, Company A
:- 25th Regiment, Iowa Infantry, Company I
:- 2nd Regiment, Iowa Infantry, Company H
:- 30th Regiment, Iowa Infantry, Company E
:- 30th Regiment, Iowa Infantry, Company K
:- 45th Regiment, Iowa Infantry (100 days, 1864), Company B
:- 7th Regiment, Iowa Infantry, Company H
:- 8th Regiment, Iowa Infantry, Company C
NewspaperArchive.com ($) has a large collection of digitized Iowa newspapers online. This database is sometimes free at libraries.
In most counties in Iowa, probate records have been kept by the county judge. They include wills, fee books, claim registers, legacy records, inheritance records, probate ticklers, and dockets. The records are available at the county courthouse.
The Family History Library Catalog lists films of probate records. To find the records for this county, use the Place Search for Iowa - Washington - Probate records.
Iowa tax records complement land records and can be used to supplement the years between censuses. Tax lists were usually made every year, however, there may be gaps of several years. For more information, see the wiki page Iowa Taxation.
Vital Records consist of births, adoptions, marriages, divorces, and deaths recorded on registers, certificates, and documents. A copy or an extract of most original records can be purchased from the Iowa Department of Public Health or the County Clerk's office of the county where the event occurred. See also How to order Iowa Vital Records or order electronically online..
Societies and Libraries
See also a List of Iowa Archives, Libraries, Publications, Historical & Genealogical Societies
Family History Centers
- Washington County, IA History, Records, Facts and Genealogy
- Iowa Genealogy Network Community on Google+
- Iowa Genealogy Network Group on Facebook
- Family History Library Catalog
- Washington County, Iowa Genealogy and Family History (Linkpendium)
- ↑ The Handybook for Genealogists: United States of America,10th ed. (Draper, UT:Everton Publishers, 2002).
- This page was last modified on 2 July 2014, at 01:17.
- This page has been accessed 3,788 times.
Share Your Opinion!
Give feedback on our new look! Tell us what you like, and what you would do differently.Give Feedback