Washington County, MaineEdit This Page

From FamilySearch Wiki

Guide to Washington County Maine genealogy. Birth records, marriage records, death records, census records, family history, and military records.

United States Gotoarrow.png Maine Gotoarrow.png Washington County

Hand and keyboard.jpg Maine
Online Records
Washington County, Maine
Map
Map of Maine highlighting Washington County
Location in the state of Maine
Facts
Founded June 25, 1789
County Seat Machias
Courthouse
Address Washington County Courthouse
PO Box 297
Machias, ME 04654-0297
Phone: 207.255.3127
Washington County Website

Contents

County Courthouse

Town Clerks have birth, marriage, death and burial records. Clerk of the Court has divorce and court records from 1931, probate records from 1785, land records from 1783 and naturalization records from 1854. Maine State Archives, Augusta, has divorce and court records before 1931.[1]

History

Parent County

Created 25 June 1789 from Lincoln County. [2]

Boundary Changes

Record Loss

Places / Localities

MaineWashington CountyAroostook CountyPenobscot CountyHancock CountyNew BrunswickYork CountyCharlotte CountySunbury CountyTownship 8 R4 NDanforthForest City TownshipTownship 8 R3 NBrookton Township (aka Number 9 R3 Plantation)Forest TownshipTownship 11 R3 NVanceboroKossuth TownshipTopsfieldCodyville PlantationLambert Lake TownshipDyer TownshipWaiteTalmadgeTownship 6 R1 NFowler Township (T1 R1 TS)Passamaquoddy Indian Township ReservationGrand Lake Stream (Plantation)Township 6 NDSakom Township 5 NDTownship 42 MDTownship 43 MDGreenlaw Chopping TownshipBig Lake TownshipPrincetonBaileyvilleAlexanderCrawfordTownship 26 EDTownship 37 MDTownship 36 MDDevereaux TownshipTownship 30 MDDay Block Township  (Township 31 MD BPP)WesleyTownship 19 EDCooperMeddybempsBaring PlantationCalaisRobbinstonPerryPassamaquoddy Pleasant Point Indian ReservationCharlottePembrokeDennysvilleBeddingtonTownship 24 MDTownship 25 MDNorthfieldBerry Township (aka Number 18 Plantation)Cathance Township (aka Number 14 Plantation)DebloisTownship 18 MDTownship 19 MDCherryfieldColumbiaColumbia FallsCenterville TownshipWhitneyvilleMarshfieldEast MachiasMarion TownshipEdmunds TownshipSteubenMilbridgeHarringtonAddisonBealsJonesportJonesboroRoque BluffsMachiasMachiasportWhitingCutlerTrescott Township (aka Number 9 Plantation)LubecEastportBar HarborWinter HarborGouldsboroSorrentoSullivanTownship 7 SDTownship 10 SDTownship 9 SDFranklinEastbrookTownship 16 MDTownship 22 MDOsbornTownship 28 MDTownship 35 MDTownship 34 MDTownship 41 MDTownship 40 MDOqiton TownshipTownship 3 NDLakevilleWhitney Township (5 R1 N)Carroll PlantationSpringfieldWebster PlantationPrentiss Township (7 R3 N)Drew PlantationKingmanReed Plantation (aka Wytopitlock)Glenwood (Plantation)BancroftWestonGrand MananCampobelloWest Isles ParishSaint GeorgeSaint PatrickSaint AndrewsSaint CroixDufferinSaint StephenSaint DavidSaint JamesDumbartonNew MarylandManners SuttonPrince WilliamMcAdamCanterburyNorth Lake
Modern town borders in Washington County, Maine. Towns with records are named in black. Unincorporated green places usually lack records.


Towns and Cities

Plantations. For further details see Maine plantations.

Baring Plantation      • Codyville Plantation      • Grand Lake Stream

Extinct towns and plantations[3] [4]

Indian Reservations

Unorganized territories. Within each group townships are listed from southeast to northwest. For further details see Maine townships.

    • Township 26 East Division
    • Township 42 Middle Division
    • Township 43 Middle Division
    • Greenlaw Chopping Township (Township 27 East Division)
    • Big Lake Township (Number 21 Township aka Plantation 21)
    • Sakom Township (Township 5 Norh Division)
    • Township 6 North Division
    • Fowler Township (Township 1 R1 Titcomb Survey)
    • Dyer Township (Township 1 R2 Titcomb Survey)
    • Lambert Lake Township (Township 1 R3 Titcomb Survey)
    • Township 6 R1 North of Bingham's Penobscot Purchase
    • Kossuth Twp (Township 7 R2 North of Bingham's Penobscot Purchase)
    • Township 8 R3 North of Bingham's Penobscot Purchase
    • Brookton (formerly Jackson Brook Plantation)
    • Forest Township (Twp 10 R3 North of Bingham's Penobscot Purchase)
    • Township 11 R3 North of Bingham's Penobscot Purchase (Hillgove Twp)
    • Township 8 R4 North of Bingham's Penobscot Purchase
    • Township 9 R4 North of Bingham's Penobscot Purchase (Forest City Twp)

Communities   • Machias          • Woodland

Village   • Forest City

Neighboring Counties:  Aroostook | Hancock | Penobscot | New Brunswick counties: Charlotte | York

Resources

Cemeteries

Church

Church records and the information they provide vary significantly depending on the denomination and the record keeper. They may contain information about members of the congregation, such as age, date of baptism, christening, or birth; marriage information and maiden names; and death date. For general information about Maine denominations, view the Maine Church Records wiki page.

Court

Gazetteers

Land

Land and property records can place an ancestor in a particular location, provide economic information, and reveal family relationships. Land records include: deeds, abstracts and indexes, mortgages, leases, grants and land patents.

See Maine Land and Property for additional information about early Maine land grants. After land was transferred to private ownership, subsequent transactions were usually recorded at the county courthouse and where records are currently housed.

Local Histories

Local histories are available for Washington County, Maine. County histories may include biographies, church, school and government history, and military information. For more information about local histories, see the wiki page section Maine Local Histories.

Maps

Military

Newspapers

Finding More Maine Newspapers

Additional newspapers abstracts can sometimes be found using search phrases such as Washington County, Maine newspapers in online catalogs like:

Probate

Probate records for Washington County, Maine can be found at https://familysearch.org/search/collection/1930294

Taxation

Maine tax records complement land records and can be used to supplement the years between censuses. There may be gaps of several years in the records.

Vital Records

In Maine, vital records are kept by town clerks or selectmen. Although some towns have existed since the 1650s, most vital records date from about 1700. The vital statistics are often arranged by family. For more information, see the Wiki page for the town and the Wiki page, Maine Vital Records.

Societies and Libraries

Family History Centers

Web Sites

A wiki article describing an online collection is found at:

Maine, Washington County Courthouse Records (FamilySearch Historical Records)

References

  1. Handybook for Genealogists: United States of America, 10th ed. (Draper, Utah: Everton Pub., 2002), Washington County, Maine page 305, At various libraries (WorldCat); FHL Book 973 D27e 2002.
  2. 2.0 2.1 Handybook for Genealogists, 181.
  3. Before an extinct town or plantation was discontinued, chances are it created official records of interest to genealogists. For preservation these records were usually turned over to a nearby functioning town in the same county.
  4. Michael J. Leclerc, Genealogist's Handbook for New England Research, 5th ed. (Boston, Mass.: New England Historic Genealogical Society, 2012), 119. At various libraries (WorldCat); FHL Book 974 D27g 2012.

 

Need additional research help? Contact our research help specialists.

Need wiki, indexing, or website help? Contact our product teams.


Did you find this article helpful?

You're invited to explain your rating on the discussion page (you must be signed in).

  • This page was last modified on 5 March 2014, at 03:12.
  • This page has been accessed 11,686 times.