Washington County, PennsylvaniaEdit This Page
From FamilySearch Wiki
United States
Pennsylvania
Washington County
Washington County, Pennsylvania genealogy and family history research page. Guide to genealogy, history, and courthouse sources including birth records, marriage records, death records, census records, wills, deeds and land records, Civil War records, Revolutionary War records, family histories, cemeteries, churches, tax records, newspapers, and obituaries.
| Washington County, Pennsylvania | |||||||
| Map | |||||||
![]() Location in the state of Pennsylvania | |||||||
![]() Location of Pennsylvania in the U.S. | |||||||
| Facts | |||||||
| Founded | March 28, 1781 | ||||||
|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| County Seat | Washington | ||||||
| Courthouse | |||||||
| Address | Washington County Courthouse 1 South Main St. Washington, PA 15301 Washington County Website | ||||||
| |||||||
Washington County Pennsylvania Historical Facts
| Beginning dates for major county records | |||||
| |
|
|
|
| |
| |
|
|
|
| |
- Parent Counties: Formed from Westmoreland County 28 March 1781. [1]
- County Seat: Washington
- Neighboring Counties: Washington County, Pennsylvania residents may also have records in [2]Beaver (north) • Greene (south) • Allegheny (northeast) • Westmoreland (east) • Fayette (southeast) • Hancock County, West Virginia (northwest) • Marshall County, West Virginia (southwest) • Ohio County, West Virginia and Brooke County, West Virginia (west)
Named for General George Washington of the American Revolutionary War.
Boundary Changes
Note: Washington County was claimed by both Virginia and Pennsylvania until the Mason-Dixon Line was finalized in 1767.
- 27 Jan 1750: Part of Cumberland County.
- 9 March 1771: Became part of Bedford County when it was was erected.
- 26 January 1773: The future county became part of Westmoreland County.
- 24 September 1788: Allegheny County set off. [1]
- 9 February 1796: Greene County set off. [1]
- 12 March 1800: Beaver County set off. [1]
Washington County Pennsylvania Genealogy Resources
Bible Records
Cemeteries
Cemetery records often reveal birth, marriage, death, relationship, military, and religious information.
| Online Grave Transcripts | Published Grave Transcripts | County Cemetery Directories |
| Findagrave.com |
{{FHL|372937|subject-id|disp=Family History Library}} |
Findagrave.com |
| Interment.net | Names in Stone | |
| USGenWeb | Billion Graves | |
| Pennsylvania Genealogy | Epodunk | |
| Pennsylvania Gravestones | ||
| Billion Graves | ||
| Names in Stone | ||
| Access Genealogy | ||
| Ancestry($) | ||
| |
||
| See Pennsylvania Cemeteries for more information. | ||
BillionGraves:
- http://www.billiongraves.com/pages/cemetery/cemetery.php?cemetery_id=84860 Immaculate Conception Cemetery, Washington]
- Beallsville Cemetery, Scenery Hill
- Purviance Cemetery, Claysville
Census
For tips on accessing Washington County, Pennsylvania Federal (or United States) census records online, see: Pennsylvania Census.
There are no county or state census records available for Pennsylvania. County and city tax records can be used as a substitute when census records are not available.
Church Records
Church records and the information they provide vary significantly depending on the denomination and the record keeper. They may contain information about members of the congregation, such as age, date of baptism, christening, or birth; marriage information and maiden names; and death date. In Pennsylvania, church records are often used as a substitute for birth, marriage, and death information. For general information about Pennsylvania denominations, view the Pennsylvania Church Records wiki page.
Additional church records can be located at Linkpendium and by searching the Family History Library Catalog. The FHLC has a plethora of church recordsfor Washington County, many are limited in the time frame they cover. When searching the FHL catalog, be sure to also search at the town and township level.
Finding Church Records at Other Repositories
Additional church records can sometimes be found using search phrases such as Washington County, Pennsylvania Church Records in online catalogs like:
- Historical Society of Pennsylvania
- WorldCat (For instructions see WorldCat Online Catalog).
- Family History Library Catalog (For instructions see FHL Catalog Place-name Search).
USGenWeb. Washington County "Little Washington" Pennsylvania Religious, Churches, Worship
USGenWeb. Churches of Washington County.PA
County-wide Database - Multi-denominational
- 1708-1985 - Pennsylvania, Church and Town Records, 1708-1985 at Historical Society of Pennsylvania – $, free to members of the society; Also available at Ancestry.com – $; 7,542,774 entries. This database is incomplete for all counties.
- Contains the church records of:
- Canonsburg: Canonsburg United Presbyterian Church
- Finleyville: Mingo Presbyterian Church
- Peters: Center United Presbyterian Church
- Washington: Covenant United Presbyterian Church; Faith United Presbyterian Church; First Presbyterian Church; First United Methodist Church; Jefferson Avenue United Methodist Church
- Contains the church records of:
Roman Catholic
- "100 years of the Pittsburgh Catholic Diocese 1843–1943". Western Pennsylvania Genealogical Society Quarterly, 17:1. FamilySearch Library book 974.8 B2wg. Contains chronolgy, map, county-by-county information.
Court Records
Washington County, Pennsylvania court records are housed at the Washington County, Pennsylvania Courthouse. For many counties copies of court records may be found at the Pennsylvania State Archives and in the FamilySearch collection. Note that within these collections some films may contain the same records, but have different titles. Other titles are not duplicates. See Finding Court Records at other repositories within this section for links to the online catalogs for these two collections. Films at the Pennsylvania State Archives are not available for inter-library loan. If court records are available FamilySearch films may be ordered at a local Family History Center.
Court of Common Pleas
The Courts of Common Pleas are the trial courts of Pennsylvania. Major civil and criminal cases are heard in these courts. Judges also decide cases involving adoption, divorce, child custody, abuse, juvenile delinquency, estates, guardianships, charitable organizations and many other matters. The Common Pleas courts are organized into 60 judicial districts. Washington County, Pennsylvania has its own judicial district. Judges of the Common Pleas courts are elected to 10-year terms. A president judge and a court administrator serve in each judicial district.[3]
Clerk of the Courts
The Clerk of Courts prepares and maintains the records for the Criminal Division of the Court of Common Pleas. The Clerk signs and affixes the Seal of the Courts to all writs and processes, administers oaths and affirmations, and assumes custody of the seal and records of the Courts. The Clerk certifies and distributes orders of the Court. The Clerk also certifies and prepares bills of costs for the defendants and utilizes the computerized financial management system to disburse fines, costs and restitution.[4] For the Washington County, Pennsylvania Clerk of Courts address see the Courthouse section on this page.
Prothonotary
The office of the Prothontary is the custodian of all civil matters in the county. This includes naturalization, immigration, equity actions, judgements, federal and local tax leins, city liens, family court, arbitrations, license suspension appeals, appeals to higher court, commercial code filings, applications for passports and divorce proceedings. See the Courthouse section on this page for the Washington County, Pennsylvania Prothonotary office information.
Orphans' Court
See Vital Records
The Orphans' Court is responsible for a wide range of matters. The name of the Court is derived from the more general definition of "orphan," that being a person or thing that is without protective affiliation or sponsorship. This would include those not capable of handling their own affairs, minors, incapacitated persons, decedents estates, nonprofit corporations and trusts. It is the role of the Court to ensure that the best interests of the person or entity are not compromised.
It is believed the name of this court was borrowed from the Court of Orphans of the city of London, England which had the care and guardianship of children of deceased citizens, in their minority.[5]
For Washington County, Pennsylvania Orphans' Court contact information see the Courthouse section on this page.
- ’’’1781–1868’’’ Orphans' Court Docket with Index (1781FHL Film 863629 (first of 8 films)
Finding Court Records at Other Repositories
Additional court records can sometimes be found using search phrases such as Washington County, Pennsylvania Court Records in online catalogs like:
- Historical Society of Pennsylvania
- WorldCat (For instructions see WorldCat Online Catalog).
- Family History Library Catalog (For instructions see FHL Catalog Place-name Search).
Emigration and Immigration
For information about emigration into Pennsylvania, see the Pennsylvania Emigration and Immigration page.
Ethnic Groups
Germans
Family Histories
- [Walton] Walton, John. "Job Walton of Fleming County, Kentucky," National Genealogical Society Quarterly, Vol. 52, No. 1 (Mar. 1964):15-24. FHL Collection 973 B2ng v. 52
Gazetteers
Genealogy
History
Published Histories
Land and Property
Land records in Washington County began in 1781. These records are filed with the Recorder of Deeds in Washington, Pennsylvania. If your ancestor lived in the area which became Washington County, they may have filed land claims with Virginia when the area was know as the District of West Augusta.
Land and property records can place an ancestor in a particular location, provide economic information, and reveal family relationships. Land records include: deeds, abstracts, indexes, mortgages, leases, grants, sheriff sales, land patents, and maps. Property records include liens as well as livestock brands and estray records.
The following are examples of available resources:
Online Land Records
- 1967–present Images are available online using the Landex system. There is a fee to view the images.
Online Land Abstracts
Land Records on Microfilm
- 1781-1924 Deed Books, 1781-1886; Deed Index, 1781-1924 FHL film 852973 (first of 114 films)
- 1781-1925 Mortgages, 1841-1854; Mortgage Index, 1781-1925 FHL films 863616–863621
Maps
- MacInnes, Sharon Cook. Early Landowners of Pennsylvania: Atlas of Township Warrantee Maps of Washington County. Apollo, Pennsylvania : Closson Press, 2004. FHL book 974.882 R2m
Note that the "Maps" section below also includes maps related to land ownership.
Additional Resources
See Pennsylvania Land and Property for more information about using land records, especially about original land warrants, surveys, and patents filed at the state land office.
Additional resources can sometimes be found using search phrases such as Washington County Pennsylvania Land in online catalogs such as:
- Historical Society of Pennsylvania
- WorldCat (For instructions see WorldCat Online Catalog.)
- Family History Library Catalog (For instructions see FHL Catalog Place-name Search.)
Local Histories
- History of Washington County : from its first settlement to the present time ... 1870 by Alfred Creigh. Digitized book from archive.org. Digitized book from Penn State.
- History of Washington County, Pennsylvania : with biographical sketches of many of its pioneers and prominent men, 1882, by Boyd Crumrine. Digitized book from archive.org Digitized book from Historic Pittsburgh Transcription from chartiers.com.
- Commemorative Biographical Record of Washington County Biographical Sketches of Prominent and Representative Citizens...1893, by J. H. Beers. Volume 1 Transcription from chartiers.com.
- 20th Century History of the City of Washington and Washington County, Pennsylvania and representative citizens, 1910 by Joseph Fulton McFarland, 2 volumes. Digitized book online from archive.org: Volume 1 Volume 2
- Some pioneers of Washington County, Pa. A family history, 1902 by Francis Smith Reeder. Digitized book from archive.org.
- The centennial celebration of the incorporation of the borough of Washington, Pa., in its Old Home Week of October 2-8, 1910 from GoogleBooks
- A century of education; or, The history of the schools of Burgettstown, Washington County, Pennsylvania, for one hundred years, 1898, by William Melvin. Digitized book at archive.org.
- Centennial anniversary of the founding of Monongahela City, Pa. : celebrated November 15th, 1892 by C. W. Hazzard. Digitized book at Historic Pittsburgh.
Maps
Ancestor Tracks has an Atlas of Township Warrantee Maps of Washington County and a Companion Scans of Township Warratee Maps CD ($). They show precise outlines in metes and bounds of each original tract and all surrounding tracts in each township, giving the names of the warrantee and patentee; dates of the warrant, survey, and patent; and the patent and survey book and page of the recorded patent.
Migration
Military
Revolutionary War
Local men served in the Washington County Militia. A guide at the Pennsylvania State Archives website identifies townships where specific companies recruited soldiers, see Revolutionary War Militia Battalions and Companies, Arranged by County.
Men living in what is now Washington County (then Westmoreland County) also served in the 8th Pennsylvania Regiment.[6]
Naturalization and Citizenship
Naturalization records can contain information about immigration and nativity. Prior to 1906, it is rare to find the town of origin in naturalization records. See Pennsylvania Naturalization for more information about the types of records and availability.
Naturalizations granted at the county level were kept by the office of the Prothonotary. Naturalizations could also be granted on the Federal Court level.
Naturalization records available for Washington County, Pennsylvania include the following:
Online Naturalization Indexes and Records
- 1820-1906 – Index to Declarations and Petitions in the Western District of Pennsylvania, US Circuit and District Courts located in US Naturalization Records Indexes, 1794-1995 database on Ancestry.com - ($), National Archives publication M1208
- 1820-1906 – Index to Declarations and Petitions in the Western District of Pennsylvania, US Circuit and District Courts located in US Naturalization Records Indexes, 1794-1995 database on Ancestry.com - ($), National Archives publication M1208
- 1820-1930 – Naturalization Petitions of the U.S. District Court, 1820-1930, and Circuit Court, 1820-1911, for the Western District of Pennsylvania on Fold3.com - ($), indexed, National Archives publication M1537, incomplete for all counties
- 1820-1930 – Naturalization Petitions of the U.S. District Court, 1820-1930, and Circuit Court, 1820-1911, for the Western District of Pennsylvania on Fold3.com - ($), indexed, National Archives publication M1537, incomplete for all counties
- 1820-1930 - Naturalization Petitions of the U.S. District Court, 1820-1930, and Circuit Court, 1820-1911, for the Western District of Pennsylvania located in Selected US Naturalization Records - Original Documents, 1790-1974 database on Ancestry.com - ($), indexed, National Archives publication M1537
- 1820-1930 - Naturalization Petitions of the U.S. District Court, 1820-1930, and Circuit Court, 1820-1911, for the Western District of Pennsylvania located in Selected US Naturalization Records - Original Documents, 1790-1974 database on Ancestry.com - ($), indexed, National Archives publication M1537
Original Naturalization Records on Microfilm
- 1802-1906 - Naturalization records, 1802-1906; Index, 1802-1962, FHL film 1378512 (first of 22 films)
Finding Naturalization Indexes at Other Repositories
Additional naturalization indexes can sometimes be found using search phrases such as Washington County, Pennsylvania naturalization in online catalogs like:
- Historical Society of Pennsylvania
- WorldCat (For instructions see WorldCat Online Catalog).
- Abstracts in Family History Library Catalog (For instructions see FHL Catalog Place-name Search).
Newspapers
Washington County, Pennsylvania newspapers may contain genealogical value including obituaries, births, marriages, deaths, anniversaries, family gatherings, family travel, achievements, business notices, engagement information, and probate court proceedings.
To access newspapers, contact public libraries, historical/genealogical societies, college or university libraries, or state archives in the area where the newspaper was published.
For information on state-wide newspapers see Pennsylvania Newspapers
Newspapers of Washington County
- Pennsylvania Newspapers
- Chronicling America US Newspaper Directory
Online Newspapers
To learn if there are newspapers online for a specific town or city in Pennsylvania, see news.google.com/newspapers and search for the town or the name of a newspaper.
- The Reporter August 22, 1808 - Dec 19, 1825
- Washington Daily NewsJanuary 1, 1918 - May 11, 1919
- Washington Daily Reporter March 25, 1884 - December 31, 1896
- The Washington Observer January 4, 1878 - November 6, 1967
- The Washington Reporter March 29, 1845 - September 16, 1985
- The Washington Sem-Weekly Reporter October 5, 1889 - December 25, 1891
- The Washington Weekly Reporter November 10, 1883 - February 29, 1888
Online Newspaper Abstracts
- PA-Roots Newspaper Articles for Washington County, Pennsylvania.
- Miscellaneous Newspaper Items A part of a PAGenWeb Project
- Newspaper Articles by year.
Newspaper Abstracts
- Compliled by Bonnie Malmat, Abstracts of the Washington, PA Reporter:Washington County, PA (Apollo, Pennsylvania:Closson Press, c1990-2008) FHL book 974.882 B38m 1810-1850 (seven volumes)
Obituaries
Obituaries are generally found in local newspapers where the person died. However, sometimes an obituary is found in the location from which he or she originated. To find an obituary, see the information under the Newspaper heading
| Sometimes the fastest way of finding obituaries is to call or email the local public library in the area where the person died. If the library does not have newspapers, a librarian often will know where they are kept. If a death date is known, and the newspapers are at the library, someone on staff will usually make a search for a small fee, or will indicate someone who will do the search. |
Online Obituary Abstracts
- PA-Roots Obituaries for Washington County, Pennsylvania.
- Links to the Dixon Collection Death Notices for 1880 Washington County, PA. A full list of 1880 Deaths from the Washington Reporter or Washington Observer.
- Washington County Obituaries courtesy USGenWeb Archives
Obituary Excerpts and Abstracts
- Compiled by Yvonne L. Blair Morgan, Index of Census, Newspaper Obituary Files and Microfilm:Fayette, Green, Washington and Westmoreland Counties (Apollo, Pennsylvania:Closson Press, c2003) At various libraries (WorldCat); FHL book 974.88 V42m
- Compliled by Bonnie Malmat, Abstracts of the Washington, PA Reporter:Washington County, PA (Apollo, Pennsylvania:Closson Press, c1990-2008) FHL book 974.882 B38m 1810-1850 (seven volumes)
Occupations
Indentured Servants
Periodicals
Poorhouse, Almshouse
Probate Records
Probate matters in Washington County, Pennsylvania are handled by the Orphans' Court and start when the county was created. To obtain original probate records, contact the Orphan's Court in the County Courthouse.
In addition to wills and administrations, the Orphans' Court also handles: audits of accounts of executors, administrators, trustees, and guardians; distribution of estates of decedents, incompetents, and minors; appointment and control of guardians; adoptions; appeals from the Register of Wills involving probate matters; inheritance tax appeals and various petitions and motions.
Online Probate Indexes
- 1781–1796— Estate Records in Washington County ($) on Ancestry. Taken from Bell, Raymond Martin. Estate Records and Deed Records
Online Probate Records
Original probate records for some Pennsylvania counties are available free online as digital images at FamilySearch.org. The dates vary significantly for each county and not all counties are listed. Some counties may only have probate indexes. This Pennsylvania collection of images may be browsed through the links listed below:
Complete Collection:
- 1683-1994 – Pennsylvania, Probate Records, 1683-1994 at FamilySearch.org
- 1683-1994 – Pennsylvania, Probate Records, 1683-1994 at FamilySearch.org
Washington County Only:
- 1781–1850 – Washington County Probate Records
- 1781–1850 – Washington County Probate Records
Online Probate Abstracts
- 1786–1830 – PAGenWeb – incomplete Extract of Washington County Partitions, Estate Divisions. Includes name, wife, children with spouses.
Original Probate Records on Microfilm
- 1781–1872 Wills, includes index 1781–1935. FHL film 863622 (first of 17 films)
- 1781–1850 Probate Files, includes index 1781–1924. FHL film 1683181 (first of 57 films)
- 1781–1868 Orphans' Court Records, includes index 1781–1952. FHL film 863629–863636
Additional Probate Indexes and Abstracts
Additional probate indexes or abstracts can sometimes be found using search phrases such as Washington County, Pennsylvania probate wills in online catalogs like:
- Historical Society of Pennsylvania
- WorldCat (For instructions see WorldCat Online Catalog).
- Family History Library Catalog (For instructions see FHL Catalog Place-name Search).
Repositories
Archives
- The Pennsylvania Archives collection contains county archive records that can be searched onsite. Currently the Archives' staff cannot provide research or make copies of these records. Their collections include Almshouse Registers; Tax records; Birth, Death and Marriage Indexes and Records; Midwife records; African American records; Wills; Deeds; Naturalizations; Coroner's inquests; and Orphan's Court dockets. A list of the Archive's county holdings are on Microfilm or Manuscript form.
Courthouse
Washington County Courthouse
1 South Main St.
Washington, PA 15301
Phone: 724-228-6787
Hours: 9:00–4:30
Directions to County complex
From the county courthouse's website you will find a great amount of information. The tab called "Recording Offices" will have the links to the following:
- Clerk of the Courts
Suite 1005
Phone: 724-228-6787
- Prothonotary
Suite 1001
Phone: 724-228-6770
- Register of Wills and Clerk of Orphans' Court
Suite 1002
Phone: 724-228-6775
Fax: 724-250-4821
Genealogy Resource describes their limitations on requests. Some of them are:
- Simple requests
- Requests in writing
- $10.00 search fee
- Stamped, self-addressed return envelope
For more extensive requests, they will provide a list of genealogists available to hire.
Family History Centers
Family History Centers (FHCs) are branches of the Family History Library in Salt Lake City, Utah, and are located all over the world. Their goal is to provide resources for family history research.
The main FHC for Washington County, Pennsylvania is the Washington Pennsylvania Family History Center. For additional nearby Family History Centers, search online in the FHC directory.
The Monongahela Center is also nearby.
Libraries
Washington County Library System consists of 14 public libraries in Washington County. Each library has access to genealogical databases - especially newspaper sites. Many are accessible with your library card from home. There website has links web sites and public records for genealogist. A list of the libraries in this system and their website and contact information is found here.
- Citizens Library
55 South College St.
Washington, PA 15301
Phone: 724-222-2400
Fax: 724-222-2606
Email: citlib@citlib.org
Hours: Monday to Thursday: 10:00 AM–8:00 PM
- Friday and Saturday: 10:00 AM–5:30 PM
- Their Genealogy Page lists a brief listing of their holdings which include newspapers, manuscripts, family histories, local histories, etc. The staff provide basic searches for pre-paid fees of $10.00 per name, $15.00 per name if only month and year are provided. Fees include postage and five copies, reqardless of the succes of the search.
- Donora Public Library
510 Meldon Ave.
Donora, PA 15033
Phone: 724-379-7940
Fax: 724-379-8809
Hours: Monday to Thursday: 12:00 PM–7:00 PM
- Friday and Saturday: 12:00 PM–5:00 PM
- Their Microfilm Collection will be helpful for genealogist. They have census and newspapers.
- Monongahela Area Library
813 West Main Street
Monongahela, PA 15063
Phone: 724-258-5409
Fax: 724-258-5440
E-mail: monongahelalib@gmail.com
- Hours: Monday to Thursday: 11:00 AM–7:00 PM
- Friday: 11:00 AM-5:00 PM
- Saturday: 10:00 AM-5:00 PM /10:00 AM-2:00 PM (July and August)
- Their Genealogical Page gives their holdings and some suggestions. They require you sign a consent form agreeing to these rules and provide ID. There is a $1.00 charge to use the microfilm collection and a $0.25 cent per page printing charge.[7]
- Peters Township Public Library
616 E. McMurray Road
McMurray, PA 15317
Phone: 724-941-9430
- Hours: Monday to Thursday: 9:00 AM–9:00 PM
- Friday: 9:00 AM–5:00 PM
- Saturday: 9:00 AM–4:00 PM
- Sunday: 12:00 PM-4:00 PM(September to May)
- Closed (June to August)
- The library has online help and a brochure to help with access to online databases such as, America's News, Biography Resource Center, HeritageQuest. These would be accessed through the library card.
Museums
- David Bradford House
175 S. Main St.
P.O. Box 537
Washington PA 15301
E-mail: bradfordhouse@verizon.net (for general inquiries) or
bradforddirector@verizon.net (Historical Director)
- They publish a newsletter to learn more of the history of the area.
- Washington County Historical Society Museums
49 East Maiden St.
Washington, PA 15301
E-mail: wchspa@verizon.net
Phone: 724-225-6740
The Society offers tours of the museums throughout downtown Washington. One house is 199-year old LeMoyne House was an Underground Railroad.[8]
Societies
Rich in history, Washington County, Pennsylvania contains a number of societies dealing with the history of the area.
- Washington County Historical Society
49 East Maiden St.
Washington, PA 15301
E-mail: wchspa@verizon.net
Phone: 724-225-6740
Hours: Tuesday to Friday: 11:00 AM–4:00 PM
- The Research Library has some tools to help the researcher in the area of Washington County. You may research at the library or use theirResearch Contract.
- Genealogical Society of Southwestern Pennsylvania
c/o Citizens Library
55 South College St.
Washington, PA 15301
E-mail: gsswpa55@yahoo.com
- The Southwestern Pennsylvania Genealogical Society covers counties.
- Their publication, The Keyhole is a quarterly publication, the index is archived on the internet. At various libraries(WorldCat)
- Western Pennsylvania Genealogical Society (WPGS)
c/o PA Department, Carnegie Library of Pittsburgh
4400 Forbes Avenue
Pittsburgh, PA 15213-4080
- The focus of the WPGS 26 counties west of Centre County including Washington County. The are based out of Pittsburgh, PA in the Pennnsylvania Department of the Carnegie Library. [9]
- The Research Request lists fees for research and look ups in indexes, naturalizations, WPA Home Survey, and more. [10]
School Records
-
- 1877 Common School Report
- Donora High School, 1919
- East Bethlehem Senior Annual, 1919
- West Bethlehm "Last Will and Testament for 1929"
- Pennsylvania Reform School, 1893.
Taxation
- 1781 - Washington County Tax Lists courtesy USGenWeb Archives
- 1783 - The 1783 Tax Lists and the 1790 Federal Census for Washington County, Pennsylvania at FamilySearch Books Online - free.
- 1786 - Returns of Taxables for the Counties of Bedford (1773 to 1784), Huntingdon (1788), Westmoreland (1783, 1786), Fayette (1785, 1786), Allegheny (1791), Washington (1786) and Census of Bedford (1784) and Westmoreland (1783). (Pennsylvania Archives, Series 3, Vol. 22). Digital versions at Ancestry ($); Google Books - free.
- 1786 - A Duplicate of the State Taxes for the Year 1786 at PAGenWeb - free.
- 1798 - Pennsylvania, U.S. Direct Tax Lists, 1798 at Ancestry ($).
- 1809-1810 - Anwell Township Tax List at PAGenWeb - free.
- 1822-1824 - West Bethlehem Township Tax Lists at PAGenWeb - free.
Vital Records
Vital records are handled by the County Orphans' Court. Between the years 1852-1855 Pennsylvania made a failed attempt to record birth, marriage and death events at the county level. While the records for that time period are available, there were few events recorded. County marriage records were kept in earnest in 1885. Births and deaths, at the county level, were begun in 1893 and kept through 1905. Abstracts and copies of vital records are available for some counties, but most are incomplete. For the most complete set of records, always contact the County Orphans' Court.
| Use substitute records for birth, marriage and death information. These substitute records include Bible Records, Cemeteries, Church Records, Newspapers, and Probate Records. |
Birth
- 1852-1930 - Pennsylvania, Births and Christenings, 1709-1950 - free index. Not complete for all years.
- 1852-1854 – Pennsylvania Births Ancestry.com – $ Index with images.
Early births 1893–1905 are located at the County Orphans' Court. See the heading Court Records on this page for contact information.
Indexes for Pennsylvania birth records are available through the Department of of Health for 1906 and 1907. Once an individual is located in the index a non certified Birth certificate can be obtained by writing and sending $3.00 to:
Division of Vital Records
ATTN: Public Records
P.O. Box 1528
New Castle, PA 16103
Marriage
Pennsylvania marriages are located at the county level. Contact the Washington County, Pennsylvania clerk's office for these records.
- 1700-1821 - Pennsylvania Marriage Records Ancestry.com – ($) This database is incomplete for all counties.
- 1752-1976 - Pennsylvania, Marriages, 1709-1940 - free index. Not complete for all years.
- Pre-1810 – Pennsylvania Marriages Ancestry.com – ($) This database is incomplete for all counties. Includes 35,000 marriage records from vol. VIII of of the second series of the Pennsylvania Archives.
- 1852-1854 - Pennsylvania Marriages Ancestry.com – ($) Index with images.
- 1885-1950 - Pennsylvania County Marriage, 1885-1950 Extracted marriage records – free. Most of the records consist of marriage licenses, certificates, applications, docket books, and affidavits. This database is incomplete for all counties. May also contain marriage records earlier than 1885.
Marriage records recorded in the Register of Wills Office are from 1885 through the present. Write for the records at:[11]
Register of Wills Office
1 South Main Street
Suite 1002,
Washington, PA 15301
Hours: 9:00 am to 4:30 pm
Divorce
Divorce records are handled by the office of the Prothonotary. While no on-line indexes or records are available, records may be obtained by visiting or writing to the Prothonotary at:
Death
- 1852-1854 – Pennsylvania Deaths Ancestry.com – $ Index with images.
- 1893-1906 - Washington County Death Index 1893-1906 in International Genealogical Index at FamilySearch - free.[12]
Early deaths 1893–1905 are located at the County Orphans' Court. See the heading Court Records on this page for contact information.
Indexes for Pennsylvania death records are available through the Department of Health for 1906 through 1962. Once an individual is located in the index a non certified death certificate can be obtained obtained by writing and sending $3.00 to:
Division of Vital Records
ATTN: Public Records
P.O. Box 1528
New Castle, PA 16103
Washington County Pennsylvania Genealogy Websites
- Linkpendium - Washington County
- USGenWeb project - Washington County
- Family History Library Catalog
Washington County Pennsylvania Places
Populated Places
Washington County Pennsylvania Genealogy References
- ↑ 1.0 1.1 1.2 1.3 Handybook for Genealogists: United States of America, 10th ed. (Draper, Utah: Everton Pub., 2002), [FHL book 973 D27e 2002].
- ↑ Wikipedia contributors, "Adams County, Pennsylvania" in Wikipedia: the Free Encyclopedia at http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Adams_County,_Pennsylvania (accessed 17 July 2012).
- ↑ The Unified Judicial System of Pennsylvania http://www.pacourts.us/T/CommonPleas/ accessed 10 July 2012.
- ↑ Unified Judicial System of Pennsylvania, Clerk of Courts in http://www.pacourts.us/T/CommonPleas/ClerksOfCourts.htm (accessed 25 Aug 2012)
- ↑ The Philadelphia Courts at http://www.courts.phila.gov/common-pleas/orphans/ accessed 10 July 2012
- ↑ Harold Frederic, William C. Frederick III with William J. McMaster Sr., Path of Blood: The Untold Story of the Kittanning PA. Regiment in the American Revolution (Kittanning, Pa.: W.C. Frederick, 1998). FHL Book 974.8 M2ff
- ↑ Information from http://www.monarealibrary.org/html/mal_genealogy.html
- ↑ Information from http://www.wchspa.org/tours.html.
- ↑ http://www.wpgs.org/default.aspx
- ↑ http://www.wpgs.org/default.aspx
- ↑ Information from: http://www.washingtoncourts.us/pages/roGenealogyResources.aspx
- ↑ Genealogical Society of Utah, Parish and Vital Records List (July 1998). Microfiche. Digital version at https://www.familysearch.org/learn/wiki/en/images/2/20/Igipennsylvaniat.pdf.
Need additional research help? Contact our research help specialists.
Need wiki, indexing, or website help? Contact our product teams.
Did you find this article helpful?
You're invited to explain your rating on the discussion page (you must be signed in).
- This page was last modified on 16 May 2013, at 15:53.
- This page has been accessed 6,316 times.
New to the Research Wiki?
In the FamilySearch Research Wiki, you can learn how to do genealogical research or share your knowledge with others.
Learn More




