Washington County, VermontEdit This Page

From FamilySearch Wiki

Guide to Washington County Vermont genealogy. Birth records, marriage records, death records, census records, family history, and military records.

United States Gotoarrow.png Vermont Gotoarrow.png Washington County

Hand and keyboard.jpg Vermont
Online Records
Washington County, Vermont
Map
Map of Vermont highlighting Washington County
Location in the state of Vermont
Facts
Founded November 8, 1814
County Seat Montpelier
Courthouse
Address Washington County Courthouse
65 State Street,
Montpelier, VT 05601-0426
Mailing Address: P.O. Box 426,
Montpelier, VT 05601-0426
Phone: 802-223-2091
Washington County Website

Contents

County Courthouse

Secretary of State, Montpelier has birth, marriage and death records; County Clerk has divorce and court records; Probate Court has probate records; Town and City Clerks have land records

Towns Organized Before 1800:
Barre 1781,
Berlin 1763,
Calais 1781,
Duxbury 1763,
Marshfield 1782,
Middlesex 1763,
Montpelier 1781,
Moretown 1763,
Northfield 1781,
Plainfield 1797,
Roxbury 1781,
Waitsfield 1782,
Warren 1780,
Waterbury 1763,
Worcester 1763[1]

Brief History

Parent County

  • Renamed 8 November 1814 from Jefferson County, Vermont. [1]

Boundary Changes

For animated maps illustrating Vermont County boundary changes, "Rotating Formation Vermont County Boundary Maps" (1764-1895) may be viewed for free at the MapofUS.org website.

Record Loss

Places / Localities

VermontWashington CountyAddison CountyOrange CountyCaledonia CountyLamoille CountyChittenden CountyWoodburyCabotWorcesterCalaisMarshfieldWaterburyMiddlesexEast MontpelierMontpelierPlainfieldBarreBerlinMoretownDuxburyFaystonWaitsfieldNorthfieldWarrenRoxburyStarksboroLincolnRiptonGranvilleHancockRochesterBraintreeRandolphTunbridgeBrookfieldChelseaVershireWilliamstownWashingtonCorinthBradfordNewburyTopshamOrangeGrotonRyegateBarnetPeachamDanvilleWaldenStannardWheelockGreensboroHardwickWolcottElmoreMorristownStoweCambridgeWestfordUnderhillEssexJerichoBoltonRichmondHuntingtonBuel's Gore
Modern town borders in Washington County, Vermont.

Cities:

Barre City

Montpelier

Towns:

Villages:

  • Cabot
  • Marshfield
  • Northfield
  • Waterbury

Communities:

  • Adamant
  • Graniteville-East Barre
  • South Barre
  • Tangletown

Neighboring Counties

Addison | Caledonia | Chittenden | Lamoille | Orange

Resources

Cemeteries

Church Records

Court Records

Gazetteers

Land and Property

Local Histories

Maps

Vtwashington.jpg

Military Records

Civil War

Regiments and Companies:

- 2nd Regiment, Vermont Infantry
- 4th Regiment, Vermont Infantry, Companies G, H and K
- 13th Regiment, Vermont Infantry

Newspapers

Probate Records

A wiki article describing an online collection is found at:

Vermont, Washington County, Probate Estate Files (FamilySearch Historical Records)

Taxation

Vital Records

See also How to order Vermont Vital Records, order electronically online or download an application for Vermont <a title="Vermont Birth Certificate Application" href="http://www.healthvermont.gov/research/records/birth_form.aspx" target="_blank">Birth Certificate</a>, <a title="Vermont Marriage Certificate Application" href="http://www.healthvermont.gov/research/records/marriage_form.aspx" target="_blank">Marriage Certificate</a>, <a title="Vermont Divorce Certificate Application" href="http://www.healthvermont.gov/research/records/divorce_form.aspx" target="_blank">Divorce Certificate</a>, <a title="Vermont Death Certificate Application" href="http://www.healthvermont.gov/research/records/deathcert_form.aspx" target="_blank">Death Certificate</a> Applications to mail.

Societies and Libraries

See also a List of Vermont Archives, Libraries, Publications, Historical & Genealogical Societies

Family History Centers

Web Sites

References

  1. 1.0 1.1 Handybook for Genealogists: United States of America, 10th ed. (Draper, Utah: Everton Pub., 2002), 699 Washington County, Vermont. At various libraries (WorldCat); FHL Book 973 D27e 2002.

 

Need additional research help? Contact our research help specialists.

Need wiki, indexing, or website help? Contact our product teams.


Did you find this article helpful?

You're invited to explain your rating on the discussion page (you must be signed in).

  • This page was last modified on 18 July 2014, at 23:45.
  • This page has been accessed 5,674 times.