Washoe County, NevadaEdit This Page

From FamilySearch Wiki

United States go to Nevada go to Washoe County

Guide to Washoe County Nevada genealogy. Birth records, marriage records, death records, census records, family history, and military records.

Hand and keyboard.jpg Nevada
Online Records


Washoe County, Nevada
Map
Map of Nevada highlighting Washoe County
Location in the state of Nevada
Map of the U.S. highlighting Nevada
Location of Nevada in the U.S.
Facts
Founded November 25, 1861
County Seat Reno
Courthouse
Address Washoe County Courthouse
75 Court Street
PO Box 11130
Reno, NV 89520
Phone: 775.328.3260
Washoe County Website



Contents

Historical Facts

Beginning dates for major county records
Birth
Marriage
Death
Land
Probate
Court
1887*
1862*
1887*
1870
1870
1870
* For earlier dates, try... Church | Obituaries | Cemeteries
  • Parent County: created 25 November 1861 as an original county [1]
  • County Seat: Reno
  • Neighboring Counties:

Boundary Changes

Record Loss

Resources

Biography

Cemeteries

In the FamilySearch Catalog Place Search on FamilySearch, for Washoe, Nevada, look at the list of records for Cemeteries. Films can be sent to family history centers. Public libraries may have copies of the books or can obtain them through Interlibrary Loan.

LDS Cemetery Records, US Vol. 23, page 4 - Washoe Cemetery, Washoe

Church Records

Most church records are held by individual churches. For contact information, check a phone directory, such as SearchBug or Dex Knows. Some denominations are gathering their records into a central repository. For more information about these major repositories, see Nevada Church Records.

Church records are usually found in town records rather than on the county level. Search the FamilySearch Catalog - Place Search for the appropriate town in Washoe County.

LDS Ward and Branch Records

  • Reno
  • Sparks

Court Records

The 2nd Judicial District Court, State of Nevada, Washoe County, handles divorce and probate as well as other court matters.

Directories

Emigration and Immigration

Ethnic, Political or Religious Groups

Gazetteers

Genealogy

History

Local histories are available for Washoe County, Nevada. County histories may include biographies, church, school and government history, and military information. For more information about local histories, see the wiki page section Nevada Local Histories.

Washoe County, Nevada

Google Books has some books about the history and people in Washoe County, Nevada. Try various search terms, including the names of people. Books designated with "Full view" can be read online.

Search FamilySearch Catalog Place Search for Washoe County, Nevada History. Order films from a local Family History Center. Public libraries may have copies of books or order through Interlibrary Loan.

Land and Property

The county recorder's office keeps land records once the land was transferred to private ownership. Abstracts and indexes for these records are generally available at the county courthouse.

In the FamilySearch Catalog, land records for Nevada are listed in the Place Search under: NEVADA, Washoe – LAND AND PROPERTY

The Washoe County Recorder handles land records.

The grantor/grantee index on this web site allows searches of public records from 19 November 1991 to the present. Available images are "unofficial" copies only at $1.00 per page.

For official copies or questions about documents prior to 19 November 1991, call the Washoe County Recorder's office at 775-328-3660 or e-mail record@mail.co.washoe.nv.us

Maps

Nvwashoe.jpg





Migration

Early migration routes to and from Washoe County, Nevada for emigrant settlers included:[2][3]

Military History and Records

Naturalization and Citizenship

Newspapers

  • NewspaperArchive.com ($) has a collection of digitized Reno newspapers going back to 1870 online. This database is sometimes free at libraries.

Additional newspapers abstracts can sometimes be found using search phrases such as Washoe County, Nevada newspapers in online catalogs like:

Obituaries

Probate Records

Probate records may include, wills, bonds, petitions, accounts, inventories, administrations, orders, decrees, and distributions. They may include the decedent’s date of death, names of his or her spouse, children, parents, siblings, in-laws, etc. See Nevada Probate Records for additional information.

Public Records

Repositories

Courthouse

Washoe County Courthouse
75 Court Street
PO Box 11130
Reno, NV 89520
775–328–3260

County Health Department has birth, death and burial records from 1900.
County Clerk has divorce, probate, court and naturalization records from 1862.
County Recorder has land records from 1862 and marriage records from 1871. [6]

Family History Centers


Libraries
Museums
Societies

Taxation

Nevada tax records complement land records and can be used to supplement the years between censuses. There may be gaps of several years in the tax records. Most tax records can be obtained from the county treasurer or assessor. For more information, see the wiki page Nevada Taxation. The Family History Library does not have copies of Nevada tax records (as of June 2013).

Vital Records

Vital Records consist of births, adoptions, marriages, divorces, and deaths recorded on registers, certificates, and documents.

A copy or an extract of most Nevada original records can be purchased from the Nevada State Health Division or the County Clerk's office of the county where the event occurred. See also Nevada Vital Records. For information about restrictions and costs for certificates, see the CDC Where to Write for Vital Records site.

Birth
Marriage
  • The Nevada State Library and Archives has marriage licenses for Washoe County from 1862 to 1872. The original marriage certificate registers are in the county recorder's office and have not been microfilmed by the Family History Library.
  • Western States Marriage Index over 3,775 marriages from 13 Apr 1862 to 11 Jan 1919
  • Nevada, Marriage Index, 1956-2005
Death

Websites

Places

References

  1. The Handybook for Genealogists: United States of America,10th ed. (Draper, UT:Everton Publishers, 2002).
  2. National Park Service, "California Trail" (map) in California National Historic Trail at http://www.nps.gov/cali/planyourvisit/upload/CALImap1-web.pdf (accessed 5 August 2011).
  3. Wikipedia contributors, "California Trail" in Wikipedia: the Free Encyclopedia at http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/California_Trail (accessed 5 August 2012).
  4. Wikipedia contributors, "Central Overland Route" in Wikipedia: the Free Encyclopedia at http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Central_Overland_Route (accessed 4 August 2011).
  5. Wikipedia contributors, "First Transcontinental Railroad" in Wikipedia: the Free Encyclopedia at http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/First_Transcontinental_Railroad (accessed 2 August 2011).
  6. Handybook for Genealogists: United States of America, 10th ed. (Draper, Utah: Everton Pub., 2002), Washoe County, Oregon page 443, At various libraries (WorldCat); FHL Book 973 D27e 2002.

 

Need additional research help? Contact our research help specialists.

Need wiki, indexing, or website help? Contact our product teams.


Did you find this article helpful?

You're invited to explain your rating on the discussion page (you must be signed in).

  • This page was last modified on 3 September 2014, at 16:57.
  • This page has been accessed 10,982 times.