Watauga County, North Carolina GenealogyEdit This Page
From FamilySearch Wiki
Guide to Watauga County, North Carolina ancestry, family history, and genealogy birth records, marriage records, death records, census records, family history, and military records.
|Watauga County, North Carolina|
Location in the state of North Carolina
Location of North Carolina in the U.S.
Watauga County Courthouse
842 W King Street
Boone, NC 28607-3531
Register of Deeds has birth and death records from 1914
marriage records from 1872 and land records
Clerk Superior Court has divoce, probate and court records from 1872
The area that became Watauga and Ashe counties was part of Anson County during the early period; part of Rowan County in 1753, Surry County in 1771, Wilkes County in 1777 and was briefly part of the State of Franklin from 1784-89. After Franklin it was claimed as part of Washington County (part of the Southwest Territory, and later Tennessee) until it was annexed back by North Carolina into Wilkes County again in 1792. Ashe was incorporated as a separate entity by the North Carolina General Assembly in 1799. North Carolina erected Watauga County primarily from Ashe County in 1849.
County histories are available such as:
- A History of Watauga County, North Carolina : with sketches of prominent families by John Preston Arthur (1915)
For animated maps illustrating North Carolina county boundary changes, "Rotating Formation North Carolina County Boundary Maps" (1664-1965) may be viewed for free at the MapofUS.org website.
1873--Courthouse fire destroyed all of the land records and most of the court records.
For a list of record loss in North Carolina counties see: North Carolina Counties with Burned Courthouses
- Beech Mountain
- Blowing Rock
- Seven Devils
- Watauga County, North Carolina GenWeb Archives: Bibles (U.S. GenWeb Archives)
- Watauga County Cemetery Records North Carolina, listings (Interment.net)
- Watauga County Cultural Features: Cemeteries, locations and maps (NC HomeTownLocator)
- Watauga County, North Carolina Cemeteries, listings (Cemetery Census)
- Watauga County, North Carolina GenWeb Archives: Cemeteries (U.S. GenWeb Archives)
For tips on accessing Watauga County, North Carolina Genealogy census records online, see: North Carolina Census.
LDS Ward and Branch Records
- Howard's Chapel
- Arthur, John Preston, A History of Watauga County, North Carolina with Sketches of Prominent Families, 1915, reprinted 2002. (information in Genealogy.com)
- Watauga County Genealogy Study from the William Allan Papers (manuscript collection), Appalachian State University, Boone, North Carolina
Early migration routes to and from Watauga County for European settlers included:
- 1861 - 1865 North Carolina, Civil War Service Records of Confederate Soldiers, 1861-1865 at FamilySearch.org — index and images
- 1861 - 1865 North Carolina, Civil War Service Records of Union Soldiers, 1861-1865 at FamilySearch.org — index and images
Civil War Confederate units - Brief history, counties where recruited, etc.
- - 1st Regiment, North Carolina Cavalry, Company D
:- 5th Regiment, North Carolina Senior Reserves, Company G
- 1873-1968 - Will Books A to E (1873-1968) have been digitized by FamilySearch - free.
- Watauga County, North Carolina GenWeb Archives: Wills & Estates (U.S. GenWeb Archives)
- 1800 - 2000 North Carolina Birth Index 1800-2000 at FamilySearch.org — index
- 1866 - 1964 North Carolina Births and Christenings 1866-1964 at FamilySearch.org — index
- 1898 - 1994North Carolina Deaths 1906-1930 at FamilySearch.org — index and images
- 1908 - 2004 North Carolina Death Indexes 1908-2004 at Ancestry.com — index $
- 1909-1975 North Carolina Death Certificates 1909-1975 at Ancestry.com — index and images $
- 1931 - 1994North Carolina Deaths 1931-1994 at FamilySearch.org — index
- 1741 - 2004 North Carolina Marriage Index 1741-2004 at Ancestry.com — index $
- 1759 - 1979North Carolina Marriages 1759-1979 at FamilySearch.org — index
- 1762 - 1969North Carolina County Marriages 1762-1969 at FamilySearch.org — index and images
- 1873-1954 - Watauga County Marriage Index 1873-1954. Batch M869955 at FamilySearch - free.
- Appalachian State University: 1923-2006
- Watauga County students at NC colleges - via the NCGenWeb Yearbook Index
Societies and Libraries
Genealogical Society of Watauga County
P.O. Box 126
Boone, NC 28607
Watauga County Historical Society
E. Mast, 253 Wm. Hardy Mast Road
Sugar Grove, NC 28679-9707
- Watauga County Historical Society, Boone, North Carolina
Family History Centers
Family History Centers provide one-on-one assistance and free access to premium genealogical websites. In addition, many centers have free how-to genealogy classes. See Family History Centers for more information. Search the online FHC directory for a nearby family history center.
- Watauga County, NC History, Records, Facts and Genealogy (Genealogy Inc)
- NCGenWeb: Watauga County - free genealogy resources; part of the national USGenWeb Project
- FamilySearch Catalog
- Watauga County Genealogy (North Carolina Genealogy)
- Watauga County, North Carolina (New River Notes)
- Watauga County, North Carolina (RootsWeb)
- Watauga County, North Carolina (Wikipedia)
- Watauga County, North Carolina Cemetery Inscriptions (Access Genealogy)
- Watauga County, North Carolina Genealogy and Family History (Linkpendium)
- Watauga County, North Carolina Genealogy Forum (GenForum)
- Watauga County, North Carolina Genealogy Links (Genealogy Links)
- Watauga County, North Carolina GenWeb Archives (U.S. GenWeb Archives)
- ↑ Handybook for Genealogists: United States of America, 10th ed. (Draper, Utah: Everton Pub., 2002), Watauga County, North Carolina. Page 513 At various libraries (WorldCat); FHL Book 973 D27e 2002.
- ↑ Arthur L. Fletcher, Ashe County: A History (Jefferson, N.C.: Ashe County Research Assoc., 1963), 33-34.
- ↑ The Handybook for Genealogists: United States of America,10th ed. (Draper, UT:Everton Publishers, 2002).
- ↑ Handybook for Genealogists: United States of America, 10th ed. (Draper, Utah: Everton Pub., 2002), 847-61. (FHL Book 973 D27e 2002) WorldCat entry., and William E. Myer, Indian Trails of the Southeast. (Nashville, Tenn.: Blue and Gray Press, 1971), 12-14, and the book's pocket map "The Trail System of the Southeastern United States in the early Colonial Period" (1923). (FHL Book 970.1 M992i) WorldCat entry.
- ↑ Genealogical Society of Utah, Parish and Vital Records List (July 1998). Microfiche. Digital version at https://www.familysearch.org/learn/wiki/en/images/f/f5/Iginorthcarolinap.pdf.
|This North Carolina-related article is a stub. You can help by expanding it.
While this page is under construction, may we suggest Cyndi's List.
- This page was last modified on 22 July 2015, at 14:45.
- This page has been accessed 11,092 times.
Future Changes to the Wiki
Changes are coming to the FamilySearch Research Wiki in the near future. Find out more on the Wiki Community News page.Community News