Waterfall, StaffordshireEdit This Page

From FamilySearch Wiki

England Gotoarrow.png Staffordshire Gotoarrow.png Staffordshire Parishes

Guide to Waterfall, Staffordshire family history and genealogy: parish register transcripts, census records, birth records, marriage records, and death records.

Waterfall, Staffordshire
Waterfall St James&Bartholomew Staffordshire.jpg
Type Ancient Parish
Civil Jurisdictions
Hundred South Totmonslow
County Staffordshire
Poor Law Union Ashbourne PLU
Registration District Ashbourne
Records begin
Parish registers: 1602
Bishop's Transcripts: 1661
Ecclesiastical Jurisdictions
Rural Deanery Alstonfield
Diocese Lichfield
Province Canterbury
Legal Jurisdictions
Probate Court Court of the Bishop of Lichfield (Episcopal Consistory)
Location of Archive
Staffordshire Record Office

Contents

Parish History

Waterfall St James is an Ancient Parish in the county of Staffordshire.  Calton, Staffordshire is a chapelry of Waterfall. Other places in the parish include: Calton, Winkhill, and Calton in Waterfall.

WATERFALL (St. James), a parish, in the N. division of the hundred of Totmonslow and of the county of Stafford, 7 miles (E. S. E.) from Leek, on the road to Ashbourn.   At Winkhill is a place of worship for Wesleyans, and at Waterhouses one for Primitive Methodists. [1]

Resources

Civil Registration

Birth, marriages and deaths were kept by the government, from July 1837 to the present day. The civil registration article tells more about these records. There are several Internet sites with name lists or indexes. A popular site is FreeBMD.

Church records

Waterfall parish registers of christenings, marriages and burials are available online for the following years:

FREG = FreeREG - free[2]
FS = FamilySearch - free[3]
NBI = National Burial Index (FindMyPast) - (£)[4]
WATERFALL PARISH (1602) Online Records

Baptisms
Marriages
Burials

Indexes Images Indexes Images Indexes Images
FREG 1602-1783
1603-1772
1602-1783
FS 1661-1856
1661-1837

NBI

1602-1837


Census records


Census records from 1841 to 1911 are available online. For access, see England Census Records and Indexes Online. Census records from 1841 to 1891 are also available on film through a Family History Center or at the Family History Library. The first film number is 474631.

Poor Law Unions

Ashbourne Poor Law Union, Derbyshire

Probate records

Records of wills, administrations, inventories, indexes, etc. were filed by the court with jurisdiction over this parish. Go to Staffordshire Probate Records to find the name of the court having primary jurisdiction. Scroll down in the article to the section Court Jurisdictions by Parish.

Maps and Gazetteers

Maps are a visual look at the locations in England. Gazetteers contain brief summaries about a place.

Websites

Reference

  1. Samuel A. Lewis, A Topographical Dictionary of England (1848), pp. 484-486. Date accessed: 05 November 2012.
  2. 'Staffordshire Coverage', FreeREG, accessed 16 September 2013.
  3. 'IGI Batch Numbers for Stafford (N-Z), England', IGI Batch Numbers - British Isles and North America, accessed 23 September 2013.
  4. 'Parish Records - National Burial Index Records 1538 - 2005 Coverage', Find My Past, accessed 8 September 2013.
  5. Ann J. Kettle, A List of Families in the Archdeaconry of Stafford, 1532-3 (Stafford: Staffordshire Record Society, 1976). FHL British Book 942.46 B4sc ser. 4 v. 8

 

Need additional research help? Contact our research help specialists.

Need wiki, indexing, or website help? Contact our product teams.


Did you find this article helpful?

You're invited to explain your rating on the discussion page (you must be signed in).

  • This page was last modified on 29 April 2014, at 05:01.
  • This page has been accessed 1,165 times.