Waterhead, LancashireEdit This Page

From FamilySearch Wiki

England Gotoarrow.png Lancashire Gotoarrow.png Lancashire Parishes

Guide to Waterhead, Lancashire family history and genealogy: parish register transcripts, census records, birth records, marriage records, and death records.

Waterhead, Lancashire
Type Ecclesiastical Parish
Civil Jurisdictions
Hundred Salford
County Lancashire
Poor Law Union Oldham PLU
Registration District Oldham
Records begin
Parish registers: 1845
Bishop's Transcripts: 1847
Ecclesiastical Jurisdictions
Rural Deanery Rochdale
Diocese Manchester
Province York
Legal Jurisdictions
Probate Court Court of the Bishop of Chester (Episcopal Consistory)
Location of Archive
Lancashire Record Office

Contents

Chapelry History

WATERHEAD, an ecclesiastical parish, in the parish of Prestwich St Mary, Lancashire, hundred of Salford, S. division of Lancashire, 2 miles east by north of Oldham. Holy Trinity was created a district chapelry in 1844. The edifice is dedicated to the Holy and Undivided Trinity. There is a place of worship for Independents. [1]

Resources

Civil Registration

Birth, marriages and deaths were kept by the government, from July 1837 to the present day. The civil registration article tells more about these records. There are several Internet sites with name lists or indexes. A popular site is FreeBMD.

Online index of Lancashire Births, Marriages and Deaths Lancashire BMD

Church records

Online Records

Church of England

Waterhead chapelry's registers of christenings, marriages and burials, along with those of the ancient parish of Prestwich to which it is attached, have been mostly transcribed and are displayed online at the following web sites and ranges of years:

AC = Ancestry.co.uk (£)
FMP = FindMyPast.co.uk (£)
FREG = FreeReg
FS = FamilySearch.org
LBMD = LancashireBMD.org.uk
LOPC = Lancashire Online Parish Clerk


WATERHEAD HOLY TRINITY Chapelry (1843) Indexes

Baptisms Marriages Burials
FS 1847-1861 None 1847-1850
LOPC None None
LBMD None 1847-1974 None
FMP None 1847-1928 1847-1928
PRESTWICH ST MARY PARISH (1600) Indexes (ancient parish containing WATERHEAD HOLY TRINITY Chapelry)

Baptisms Marriages Burials
FS 1603-1910 1600-1935 1712-1921
LOPC 1603-1936 1603-1895 1603-1921
LBMD 1837-1902 1837-1925 1837-1877
FMP None 1603-1712 None
AC 1603-1711 1603-1711 1603-1711


For a full list of all those chapels surrounding Waterhead and comprising the whole ancient parish of Prestwich to which it was attached, be certain to see "Church Records" on the PRESTWICH ST MARY PARISH page.


Parish registers, 1845-1980 Microreproduction of original records hosued at the Central Library, Oldham.
Waterhead is a chapelry in the parish of Prestwich, but was formerley in the parish of Oldham.

Content
Film
Baptisms, 1845-1912 Burials, 1847-1928 Alphabetical graveyard register, 1847-1980 South side monumental inscriptions, 1848 Marriages, 1847-1884
FHL BRITISH Film
1656270
Marriages, 1884-1911
FHL BRITISH Film
1656354 Items 1-2


Census records

}

Census records from 1841 to 1911 are available online. For access, see England Census Records and Indexes Online. Census records from 1841 to 1891 are also available on film through a Family History Center or at the Family History Library. The first film number is 306932.


Poor Law Unions

Oldham Poor Law Union

Probate records

Records of wills, administrations, inventories, indexes, etc. were filed by the court with jurisdiction over this parish. Go to Lancashire Probate Records to find the name of the court having primary jurisdiction. Scroll down in the article to the section Court Jurisdictions by Parish.

Maps and Gazetteers

Maps are a visual look at the locations in England. Gazetteers contain brief summaries about a place.

Websites

References

  1. Samuel A. Lewis, A Topographical Dictionary of England (1848), pp. 484-486. Adapted. Date accessed: 08 October 2013.

 

Need additional research help? Contact our research help specialists.

Need wiki, indexing, or website help? Contact our product teams.


Did you find this article helpful?

You're invited to explain your rating on the discussion page (you must be signed in).

  • This page was last modified on 27 June 2014, at 15:10.
  • This page has been accessed 1,500 times.