Waterlooville, Hampshire GenealogyEdit This Page

From FamilySearch Wiki

(Redirected from Waterlooville, Hampshire)

England Gotoarrow.png Hampshire Gotoarrow.png Hampshire Parishes Gotoarrow.png Waterlooville

Guide to Waterlooville, Hampshire ancestry, family history, and genealogy: parish register transcripts, census records, birth records, marriage records, and death records.

Waterlooville, Hampshire
Type Extra-parochial
Civil Jurisdictions
Hundred Portsdown
County Hampshire
Poor Law Union Catherington
Registration District Catherington
Records begin
Parish registers: 1831
Bishop's Transcripts: 1831
Ecclesiastical Jurisdictions
Rural Deanery Not Applicable
Diocese Not Applicable
Legal Jurisdictions
Probate Court Search the courts of the surrounding parishes
Location of Archive
Hampshire Record Office


Parish History

WATERLOO-VILLE, an extra-parochial district, in the union of Catherington, hundred of FinchDean, Petersfield and N. divisions of the county of Southampton.[1].


Civil Registration

Birth, marriages and deaths were kept by the government, from July 1837 to the present day. The civil registration article tells more about these records. There are several Internet sites with name lists or indexes. A popular site is FreeBMD.

Church records

Waterlooville, Hampshire Genealogy parish registers of christenings, marriages and burials are available online for the following years:

FMP = FindMyPast - (£)[2]


Indexes Images Indexes Images Indexes Images
FMP 1700s-1800s


Census records

Census records from 1841 to 1911 are available online. For access, see England Census Records and Indexes Online. Census records from 1841 to 1891 are also available on film through a Family History Center or at the Family History Library. The first film number is 288795.

Probate records

Records of wills, administrations, inventories, indexes, etc. were filed by the court with jurisdiction over this parish. Go to Hampshire Probate Records to find the name of the court having primary jurisdiction. Scroll down in the article to the section Court Jurisdictions by Parish.

Maps and Gazetteers

Maps are a visual look at the locations in England. Gazetteers contain brief summaries about a place.



  1. Samuel A. Lewis, A Topographical Dictionary of England, (1848), pp. 484-48. Date accessed: 02 June 2013.
  2. 'Over 1.4 million new Hampshire parish records published', Find My Past, accessed 3 October 2013. Date ranges are not clearly identified.


Need wiki, indexing, or website help? Contact our product teams.

Did you find this article helpful?

You're invited to explain your rating on the discussion page (you must be signed in).

  • This page was last modified on 18 June 2015, at 13:11.
  • This page has been accessed 1,371 times.