Watermillock, CumberlandEdit This Page

From FamilySearch Wiki

England Gotoarrow.png Cumberland Gotoarrow.png Cumberland Parishes

Guide to Watermillock, Cumberland ancestry, family history, and genealogy: parish registers, transcripts, census records, birth records, marriage records, and death records.

Watermillock, Cumberland
Type Chaperly
Civil Jurisdictions
Hundred Leath
County Cumberland
Poor Law Union Penrith PLU
Registration District Penrith
Records begin
Parish registers: 1580
Bishop's Transcripts: 1664
Ecclesiastical Jurisdictions
Rural Deanery Allerdale
Diocese Carlisle
Province York
Legal Jurisdictions
Probate Court Court of the Bishop of Carlisle (Episcopal Consistory)
Location of Archive
Cumberland Record Office

Contents

Chapelry History

WATER-MILLOCK, a chapelry, in the parish of Greystock, union of Penrith, Leath ward, E. division of Cumberland, 7 miles (S. W.) from Penrith.[1]

Resources

Civil Registration

Birth, marriages and deaths were kept by the government, from July 1837 to the present day. The civil registration article tells more about these records. There are several Internet sites with name lists or indexes. A popular site is FreeBMD.

Church records

The registers of the parish of Watermillock in the county of Cumberland : baptisms, burials and marriages, 1579-1812

Bishop's transcriptsWatermillock, 1664-1855

Watermillock, Cumberland parish registers of christenings, marriages and burials are available online for the following years:

PALL = Pallot's Marriage Index (Ancestry) - (£)[2]
WATERMILLOCK PARISH Online Records

Baptisms
Marriages
Burials

Indexes Images Indexes Images Indexes Images
PALL

1790-1812


Non-Conformist Churches

Wesleyan Methodist

Census records

Census records from 1841 to 1911 are available online. For access, see England Census Records and Indexes Online. Census records from 1841 to 1891 are also available on film through a Family History Center or at the Family History Library. The first film number is 241283.

Probate records

Records of wills, administrations, inventories, indexes, etc. were filed by the court with jurisdiction over this parish. Go to Cumberland Probate Records to find the name of the court having primary jurisdiction. Scroll down in the article to the section Court Jurisdictions by Parish.

Maps and Gazetteers

Maps are a visual look at the locations in England. Gazetteers contain brief summaries about a place.

Websites

Watermillock on GENUKI

References

  1. Samuel A. Lewis, A Topographical Dictionary of England(1848) Date accessed and adapted 8 August 2013.
  2. Pallot's Marriage and Birth Indexes, Guide to Parishes. Digital version at FamilySearch Books Online.

 

Need additional research help? Contact our research help specialists.

Need wiki, indexing, or website help? Contact our product teams.


Did you find this article helpful?

You're invited to explain your rating on the discussion page (you must be signed in).

  • This page was last modified on 12 December 2014, at 18:52.
  • This page has been accessed 863 times.