Watford, HertfordshireEdit This Page

From FamilySearch Wiki

England Gotoarrow.png Hertfordshire Gotoarrow.pngHertfordshire Parishes

Guide to Watford, Hertfordshire family history and genealogy: parish registers, transcripts, census records, birth records, marriage records, and death records.

Contents

Parish History

Watford, is a town, a parish, and a district, in Hertfordshire. The town stands on Watling-street, the river Colne, the Northwestern railway and at the juntion of the branches to Rickmansworth and St. Albans. There are four dissenting churches, a cemetery and 2 chapels. The parish includes Oxhey, Cashio, and Leavesden hamlets. In 1851 there were places of worship for the Church of England, Independents, Baptists, Wesleyans, the Catholic and Apostolic church, and Latter Day Saints.[1]

Resources

Civil Registration

Birth, marriages and deaths were kept by the government, from July 1837 to the present day. The civil registration article tells more about these records. There are several Internet sites with name lists or indexes. A popular site is FreeBMD.

Church records

Watford, Hertfordshire parish registers of christenings, marriages and burials are available online for the following years:

BIVRI = British Isles Vital Records Index (Ancestry) - (£)[2]
FMP = FindMyPast - (£)[3]
HERTS = Hertfordshire Names Online - free[4]
IGI = International Genealogical Index (FamilySearch) - free[5]
JOIN = The Joiner Marriage Index - (£)[6]
NBI = National Burial Index (FindMyPast) - (£)[7]
Watford, Hertfordshire Parish Online Records

Baptisms
Marriages
Burials

Indexes Images Indexes Images Indexes Images
BIVRI 1809-1904
1879-1901

FMP 1539-1904 1539-1904 1539-1908 1539-1908 1539-1894 1539-1894
HERTS To 1837
IGI 1539-1809 1539-1812, 1881-1904
JOIN
1538-1816

NBI

1800-1851

Oxhey chapelry registers of christenings, marriages and burials are available online for the following years:

Oxhey Chapelry Online Records

Baptisms
Marriages
Burials

Indexes Images Indexes Images Indexes Images
BIVRI 1880-1913
1881-1904

FMP 1880-1910 1880-1910 1558-1924 1558-1924 1558-1868 1558-1868

Leavesden Green, Watford registers of christenings, marriages and burials are available online for the following years:

Leavesden Green, Watford Online Records

Baptisms
Marriages
Burials

Indexes Images Indexes Images Indexes Images
FMP 1853-1903 1853-1903 1854-1928 1854-1928 1853-1921 1853-1921
HERTS To 1837 and later

Watford St Andrew parish registers of christenings, marriages and burials are available online for the following years:

Watford St Andrew Parish Online Records

Baptisms
Marriages
Burials

Indexes Images Indexes Images Indexes Images
BIVRI 1857-1875


FMP 1896-1907 1896-1907


Census records

Census records from 1841 to 1911 are available online. For access, see England Census Records and Indexes Online. Census records from 1841 to 1891 are also available on film through a Family History Center or at the Family History Library. The first film number is 288827.

Pedigrees

The Clement and Clement John Heaton family of Watford is listed in Family History The Journal of The Institute of Heraldic and Genealogical Studies July 1979 Vol 10 No. 69/70 New Series No. 45/46 pgs 236-242, 247.

Probate records

Records of wills, administrations, inventories, indexes, etc. were filed by the court with jurisdiction over this parish. Go to Hertfordshire Probate Records to find the name of the court having primary jurisdiction. Scroll down in the article to the section Court Jurisdictions by Parish.

Maps and Gazetteers

Maps are a visual look at the locations in England. Gazetteers contain brief summaries about a place.

Websites

Watford on GENUKI

References

  1. Samuel A. Lewis, A Topographical Dictionary of England, 1848. Adapted. Date accessed: 12 January 2014.
  2. 'British Isles Vital Records Index - 2nd Ed. Breakdown of Records', Genoot, accessed 13 December 2013.
  3. 'The Hertfordshire Collection,' FindMyPast, accessed 4 March 2014.
  4. 'Marriages and Marriage Licences (1538-1922),' Hertfordshire County Council, accessed 6 March 2014.
  5. Hugh Wallis, 'IGI Batch Numbers for Hertford, England,' IGI Batch Numbers, accessed 11 December 2013.
  6. Hertfordshire Coverage, The Joiner Marriage Index, accessed 12 December 2013.
  7. 'Parish Records - National Burial Index Records 1538 - 2005 Coverage', Find My Past, accessed 12 December 2013.

 

Need additional research help? Contact our research help specialists.

Need wiki, indexing, or website help? Contact our product teams.


Did you find this article helpful?

You're invited to explain your rating on the discussion page (you must be signed in).

  • This page was last modified on 17 April 2014, at 04:18.
  • This page has been accessed 1,409 times.