Waupaca County, WisconsinEdit This Page

From FamilySearch Wiki

United States Gotoarrow.png Wisconsin Gotoarrow.png Waupaca County

Guide to Waupaca County Wisconsin genealogy. Birth records, marriage records, death records, census records, family history, and military records.

Hand and keyboard.jpg Wisconsin
Online Records
WI Waupaca.png

Contents

County Courthouse

Waupaca County Courthouse
811 Hardin Street
Waupaca, WI 54981
Phone: 715.258.6200

Register of Deeds has birth, marriage, death and land records from 1852;
Clerk Circuit has divorce records form 1907 and court records from 1880;
Clerk Circuit Court has probate records from 1857 [1]

Historical Facts

Parent County

1851--Waupaca County was created 17 February 1851 fromBrown andWinnebago Counties.
County seat: Waupaca [2]

Boundary Changes

For animated maps illustrating Wisconsin County boundary changes, "Rotating Formation Wisconsin County Boundary Maps" (1790-1961) may be viewed for free at the MapofUS.org website.

Record Loss

For a list of record loss in Wisconsin Counties see: Wisconsin Counties with Burned Courthouses

Places / Localities

Populated Places

Neighboring Counties

Resources

Bible Records

Biography

Cemeteries

Census

Church History and Records

Lutheran

Iola

  • Records of the American Lutheran Church, Iola, in Evangelical Lutheran Church in America database at Archives.com ($).

Trinity Lutheran Church, Dupont

  • Records of Trinity Lutheran Church, Dupont, in Evangelical Lutheran Church in America database at Archives.com ($).

Court Records

Crime and Criminals

Directories

Ethnic, Political, or Religious Groups

Germans

Gazetteers

Genealogy

History

Land and Property

Maps

Migration

Military History and Records

Civil War service men from Waupaca County served in various regiments. Men often joined a company (within a regiment) that originated in their county. Listed below are many companies or regiments that were formed from men of Waupaca County.

- 1st Regiment, Wisconsin Cavalry, Company M

Naturalization and Citizenship

Newspapers

Obituaries

Periodicals

Probate Records

Repositories

See also a List of Wisconsin Archives, Libraries, Publications, Historical & Genealogical Societies

Archives, Libraries and Museums
County Courthouse
Family History Centers

Societies

Taxation

Vital Records

Birth
Marriage
Divorce
Death

Voting Registers

Web Sites

References

  1. The Handybook for Genealogists : United States of America, 10th ed., (Draper, UT: Everton Publishers, 2002), p. 760 Waupaca County, Wisconsin
  2. The Handybook for Genealogists: United States of America,10th ed. (Draper, UT:Everton Publishers, 2002).

 

Need additional research help? Contact our research help specialists.

Need wiki, indexing, or website help? Contact our product teams.


Did you find this article helpful?

You're invited to explain your rating on the discussion page (you must be signed in).

  • This page was last modified on 19 July 2014, at 04:42.
  • This page has been accessed 3,638 times.