Waushara County, WisconsinEdit This Page

From FamilySearch Wiki

United States Gotoarrow.png Wisconsin Gotoarrow.png Waushara County

Guide to Waushara County Wisconsin ancestry, family history, and genealogy research page. Birth records, marriage records, death records, census records, family history, and military records.

Hand and keyboard.jpg Wisconsin
Online Records
WI Waushara.png

Contents

County Courthouse

Waushara County Courthouse
209 S Saint Marie Street
PO Box 488
Wautoma, WI 54982
Phone: 920.787.0442

Register of Deeds has birth and death
records from 1876, marriage and land records from 1852; Clerk Court has divorce
and court records; Register in Pro has
probate records[1]

Historical Facts

Parent County

1851--Waushara County was created 15 February 1851 from Marquette County.  County seat: Wautoma [2]

Boundary Changes

For animated maps illustrating Wisconsin County boundary changes, "Rotating Formation Wisconsin County Boundary Maps" (1790-1961) may be viewed for free at the MapofUS.org website.

Record Loss

For a list of record loss in Wisconsin Counties see: Wisconsin Counties with Burned Courthouses


  • Unknown - Wautoma, Wisconsin
    Waushara County Court House Fire
    April 30, 1928

Flames Destroy Waushara Court House
Loss of building at Wautoma put at near $75,000

Wild Rose and Red Granite fire trucks prevent damage from flying firebrands; chimney dynamited.

(special to the Tribune)

Wautoma, April 30 Flames, supposed to have originated in the basement when the furnace door blew open, between 5 and 6 o’clock this morning completely destroyed the Waushara County Courthouse in this city with a loss estimated at from $60,000 to $75,000. Though fire departments from Wild Rose and Red Granite responded to calls for help, they were unable to do anything further than to stand by and help extinguish roof fires starting on buildings nearby, ignited by sparks from the burning structure. An extremely high wind scattered firebrands over a large area and only sufficient fire fighting equipment kept the loss confined to the court house.

Dynamite Chimney
As the roof of the building collapsed, grave concern was felt over the tall brick chimney which swayed dangerously in the high wind. Citizens at once decided on the use of dynamite and the chimney was brought down with a crash. The brick walls of the court house collapsed shortly after.

Started Fire at Five O’Clock
John Hahn, janitor at the court house, started the fire in the furnace shortly after 5 o’clock as is his usual custom. He then went home to breakfast. Smoke bursting from the building was noticed at 5:45 by Wilbur Johnson, foreman at the county machine shop. He spread the alarm but the flames had gained such great headway that no time was left to carry much from the various county offices. District Attorney G. Jones rushed into his office and carried out a letter file and a typewriter. Nothing else was saved.

The Wautoma fire department, a Ford truck with pumper attachment, forced water from White River, two blocks distant, through two hose lines. The rest of the equipment was needed to combat small roof fires.

All records of the county were in the various vaults and late this afternoon they were found still too hot to open. It is believed however that the records are safe, as the vaults were fire proof.

The regular meeting of the Waushara county board was scheduled for tomorrow morning in the court house chambers. The meeting will be held in other quarters and it is expected that steps will be taken at once toward providing a new county building to replace the one destroyed.

Insurance totaling about $30,000 was carried, it is said.

The Waushara county court house was built in 1888 at an approximate cost of $10,000. Later additions and improvements to the extent of $45,000 were added.

Wisconsin Rapids Daily Tribune, Wisconsin Rapids, WI 30 Apr 1928
(source:GenDisasters)

Places / Localities

Populated Places

Neighboring Counties

Resources

Bible Records

Biography

Cemeteries

Census

Church History and Records

Lutheran
  • Records of the Lutheran Church, Waushara County, in Evangelical Lutheran Church in America database at Archives.com ($).

Court Records

Crime and Criminals

Directories

Ethnic, Political, or Religious Groups

Germans

Gazetteers

Genealogy

History

Land and Property

Maps

Migration

Military History and Records

Civil War

Civil War service men from Waushara County served in various regiments. Men often joined a company (within a regiment) that originated in their county. Listed below are many companies or regiments that were formed from men of Waushara County.

- 7th Regiment, Wisconsin Infantry, Companies E and I.

Naturalization and Citizenship

Newspapers

Obituaries

Periodicals

Probate Records

Repositories

See also a List of Wisconsin Archives, Libraries, Publications, Historical & Genealogical Societies

Archives, Libraries and Museums
County Courthouse
Family History Centers

Societies

Taxation

Vital Records

Birth
Marriage
Divorce
Death

Voting Registers

Web Sites

References

  1. The Handybook for Genealogists : United States of America, 10th ed., (Draper, UT: Everton Publishers, 2002), p. 760 Wushara, Wisconsin
  2. The Handybook for Genealogists: United States of America,10th ed. (Draper, UT:Everton Publishers, 2002).

 

Need additional research help? Contact our research help specialists.

Need wiki, indexing, or website help? Contact our product teams.


Did you find this article helpful?

You're invited to explain your rating on the discussion page (you must be signed in).

  • This page was last modified on 10 November 2014, at 21:34.
  • This page has been accessed 4,740 times.