Waverton, CheshireEdit This Page

From FamilySearch Wiki

England Gotoarrow.png Cheshire Gotoarrow.png Cheshire Parishes Gotoarrow.png Waverton

Guide to Waverton, Cheshire family history and genealogy: parish registers, transcripts, census records, birth records, marriage records, and death records.

St Peter's Church, Waverton.jpg

Contents

Parish History

WAVERTON (St. Peter), is a parish, in the union of Great Boughton, Lower division of the hundred of Broxton, South division of the county of Chester; containing, with the townships of Hatton and Huxley, 4 miles (E. S. E.) from Chester. The road from Chester to Whitchurch and Shrewsbury, the Chester and Crewe railway, and the Chester and Nantwich canal, all pass through.[1]

Waverton, St Peter is an Ancient Parish in Cheshire and includes Hatton, Huxley, and Hatton near Tarporley.
The earliest documentary evidence of a place of worship on the site is in a charter of confirmation dated 1093. Later references are in a will dated 1599 and in documents relating to the building of a north chapel in 1640 by John Tilston of Lower Huxley Hall. In the 19th century restorations of the body of the church took place, one in 1845 and another in 1888 by John Douglas when the clerestory was rebuilt.

The settlement was named Wavretone in the Domesday Book, where it was said to be in the Dudestan Hundred. The name was first given as Waverton in 1260, having been called Waueretone in 1150, and Wauertone in 1100. The origin of the name is not certain.

Waverton is a village and civil parish in the unitary authority of Cheshire West and Chester and the ceremonial county of Cheshire, England. It lies about 5 km south east of Chester. It is almost continuous with the village of Rowton to the north west and that in turn is almost, but not quite, continuous with Christleton.

Resources

Census records

Census records from 1841 to 1911 are available online. For access, see England Census Records and Indexes Online. Census records from 1841 to 1891 are also available on film through a Family History Center or at the Family History Library. The first film number is 241232.

Church records

Waverton St Peter parish registers of christenings, marriages and burials have been indexed by the following groups:

BIVRI = British Isles Vital Records Index (Ancestry) - (£)[2]
FS PR's =FamilySearch Parish Registers
FS BT's = FamilySearch Bishops Transcripts
Waverton St Peter Parish (1582) Online Records

Baptisms
Marriages
Burials

Indexes Images Indexes Images Indexes Images
BIVRI 1811-1889 (gaps)
1811-1830

FS PR's 1582-1863
  NONE
1662-1934
  NONE
1672-1966
  NONE
FS BT'S 1599-1889
  NONE
1599-1889
  NONE
1599-1889
  NONE

To find the names of the neighbouring parishes, use England Jurisdictions 1851. In this site, search for the name of the parish, click on the location "pin", click Options and click List contiguous parishes.

Parish registers of Waverton, 1562-1966 Cheshire Record Office call number: P282/4554/1-9, 23, 25.

An index for Cheshire parish registers is available online in FamilySearch Historical Records

Parish Register Content FHL Film
Baptisms 1562-1863.  Marriages 1562-1836. Burials 1562-1966. BRITISH
1368167
Baptisms, marriages, burials, 1582-1837. Baptisms and burials, 1838-1863. Marriage banns, 1845-1960. Burials, 1864-1876. BRITISH
2106221 Items 2 - 10
Baptisms, marriages, burials, 1798-1799. Marriage licences, 1883, 1886, 1933. Monumental inscriptions, 1629-1901 (transcript). BRITISH
2106221 Items 12 - 14
Marriages, 1754-1812. BRITISH
2197774 Item 9

Bishop's transcripts for Waverton, 1599-1889 Records are not in strict chronological order. Some intermittent years are missing. Cheshire Record Office number: ECC/211

An index for Cheshire, Church of England, Bishop’s transcripts is available online in FamilySearch Historical Records

Bishop's transcripts Content FHL Film
Baptisms, marriages, burials, 1599-1602, 1605-1606, 1608-1618, 1622-1624, 1627-1633, 1639-1641, 1666, 1669-1686, 1690-1751, 1754-1764, 1766-1804, 1806-1811. BRITISH 
1551110 Item 2
Baptisms, marriages, burials, 1812-1830, 1889. Marriages, 1811. Baptisms, burials, 1831-1839, 1845-1860, 1863-1888. BRITISH
1736164 Item 1

Non-Conformist Churches

  • Waverton, Methodist Chapel (Wesleyan).
  • Waverton, Presbyterian Chapel.

Civil Registration

Birth, marriages and deaths were kept by the government, from 1 July 1837 to the present day. The civil registration article tells more about these records. Here are two excellent Internet sites with birth, marriage and death indexes available:

Registration Districts

  • Great Boughton (1837–69)
  • Chester (1870–1937)
  • West Cheshire (1937–74)
  • Chester and Ellesmere Port (1974–98)
  • Cheshire West (post 1998)

Poor Law Unions

Probate records

Records of wills, administrations, inventories, indexes, etc. were filed by the court with jurisdiction over this parish. Go to Cheshire Probate Records to find the name of the court having primary jurisdiction. Scroll down in the article to the section Court Jurisdictions by Parish.

see also England Cheshire Probate Records (FamilySearch Historical Records)

Maps and Gazetteers

Maps are a visual look at the locations in England. Gazetteers contain brief summaries about a place.

Websites

References

  1. Samuel A. Lewis, A Topographical Dictionary of England (1848). Date Accessed: 16 April 2013
  2. 'British Isles Vital Records Index - 2nd Ed. Breakdown of Records', Genoot, accessed 14 October 2013.

Bibliography

 Richards, Raymond (1947), Old Cheshire Churches, London: B. T Batsford, pp. 342–344
Salter, Mark (1995), The Old Parish Churches of Cheshire, Malvern: Folly Publications, pp. 78–79, ISBN 1871731232

 

Need additional research help? Contact our research help specialists.

Need wiki, indexing, or website help? Contact our product teams.


Did you find this article helpful?

You're invited to explain your rating on the discussion page (you must be signed in).

  • This page was last modified on 12 April 2014, at 19:48.
  • This page has been accessed 1,690 times.