Wavertree Holy Trinity, LancashireEdit This Page

From FamilySearch Wiki

England go to Lancashire go to Lancashire Parishes

Guide to Wavertree Holy Trinity, Lancashire family history and genealogy: chapelry register transcripts, census records, birth records, marriage records, and death records.

Wavertree Holy Trinity, Lancashire
Holy Trinity, Wavertree .jpg
Type Ecclesiastical Parish
Civil Jurisdictions
Hundred West Derby
County Lancashire
Poor Law Union West Derby PLU
Registration District West Derby
Records begin
Parish registers: 1794
Bishop's Transcripts: 1806
Ecclesiastical Jurisdictions
Rural Deanery Prescot
Diocese Chester
Province York
Legal Jurisdictions
Probate Court Court of the Bishop of Chester (Episcopal Consistory)
Location of Archive
Lancashire Record Office

Contents

Chapelry History

WAVERTREE, a township with a chapel, in the parish of Childwall, Lancashire, union and hundred of West Derby, S. division of Lancashire, 2½ miles east by south of Liverpool. The church, dedicated to the Holy Trinity, was built in 1793 and is situated on Church Road close to the famous Blue Coat School and the church was described by the late Sir John Betjeman as "Liverpool's best Georgian church". Another church, dedicated to St. Mary, was erected in Sandown-park in 1848-9.[1]

Resources

Civil Registration

Birth, marriages and deaths were kept by the government, from July 1837 to the present day. The civil registration article tells more about these records. There are several Internet sites with name lists or indexes. A popular site is FreeBMD.

Online index of Lancashire Births, Marriages and Deaths Lancashire BMD

Lancashire Online Parish Clerks

An extremely useful resource for research in Lancashire Parishes http://www.lan-opc.org.uk/

Church records

Online Records

Church of England

Wavertree Holy Trinity chapelry's registers of christenings, marriages and burials, along with those of the ancient parish of Childwall to which it is attached, have been mostly transcribed and are displayed online at the following web sites and ranges of years:

AC = Ancestry.co.uk (£)
FMP = FindMyPast.co.uk (£)
FREG = FreeReg
FS = FamilySearch.org
LBMD = LancashireBMD.org.uk
LOPC = Lancashire Online Parish Clerk


WAVERTREE HOLY TRINITY Chapelry  (1794) Indexes
Baptisms Marriages Burials
FS 1794-1897 None 1799-1812
LOPC 1794-1911 1837-1887 1880-1901
LBMD 1883-1952 1837-1947 None
CHILDWALL ALL SAINTS PARISH (1557) Indexes (ancient parish containing WAVERTREE HOLY TRINITY Chapelry)
Baptisms Marriages Burials
FS 1557-1853 1557-1638, 1653-1838 None
LOPC 1557-1753 1557-1638, 1653-1753 1653-1728
LBMD None 1837-1963 None
AC 1557-1753 1557-1753 1557-1753


For a full list of all those chapels surrounding Wavertree Holy Trinity and comprising the whole ancient parish of Childwall to which it was attached, be certain to see "Church Records" on the CHILDWALL ALL SAINTS PARISH page.


Census records

Census records from 1841 to 1911 are available online. For access, see England Census Records and Indexes Online. Census records from 1841 to 1891 are also available on film through a Family History Center or at the Family History Library. The first film number is 306899.


Poor Law Unions

West Derby, Lancashire Poor Law Union


Probate records

Records of wills, administrations, inventories, indexes, etc. were filed by the court with jurisdiction over this parish. Go to Lancashire Probate Records to find the name of the court having primary jurisdiction. Scroll down in the article to the section Court Jurisdictions by Parish.

Maps and Gazetteers

Maps are a visual look at the locations in England. Gazetteers contain brief summaries about a place.

Websites

References

  1. Samuel A. Lewis A Topographical Dictionary of England (1848), pp. 486-490. Adapted. Date accessed: 08 October 2013.

 

Need additional research help? Contact our research help specialists.

Need wiki, indexing, or website help? Contact our product teams.


Did you find this article helpful?

You're invited to explain your rating on the discussion page (you must be signed in).

  • This page was last modified on 27 June 2014, at 15:11.
  • This page has been accessed 1,898 times.