Wayne County, GeorgiaEdit This Page
From FamilySearch Wiki
United States
Georgia
Wayne County
Guide to Wayne County Georgia genealogy. Birth records, marriage records, death records, census records, family history, and military records.
| Wayne County, Georgia_(state) | |
| Map | |
![]() Location in the state of Georgia_(state) | |
![]() Location of Georgia_(state) in the U.S. | |
| Facts | |
| Founded | May 11, 1803 |
|---|---|
| County Seat | Jesup |
| Courthouse | |
| Address | Wayne County Courthouse] 242 E Walnut Street; PO Box 918; Jesup, GA 31598 Phone: 912.427.5930 Wayne County Website |
Contents |
County Courthouse
Wayne County Courthouse
242 E Walnut Street; PO Box 918;
Jesup, GA 31598
Phone: 912.427.5930
Probate Court has birth, marriage, death and probate records;
Clerk Superior Court has divorce, court and land records[1]
History
The county is named after Revolutionary War General "Mad" Anthony Wayne (1745-1796).[2]
Parent County
1803--Wayne County was created 11 May 1803 from Creek Indian Lands. County seat: Jesup [3]
Boundary Changes
Record Loss
Places/Localities
Populated Places
Neighboring Counties
Resources
Cemeteries
US Vol. 5
page 155 - Rogers Cemetery
page 155 - Little Cemetery
Church
The Church of Jesus Christ of Latter-day Saints
LDS Ward and Branch Records
- Satilla
Episcopal
St. Paul's Episcopal Church, Jesup
- 1851, 1870-1955 - St. Paul's Episcopal Church, Jesup, Baptism Index 1851, 1870-1955. Batch C713941 at FamilySearch - free.[4]
- 1893-1895 - St. Paul's Episcopal Church, Jesup, Marriage Index 1893-1895. Batch M713941 at FamilySearch - free.[4]
Court
Land
Land and property records can place an ancestor in a particular location, provide economic information, and reveal family relationships. Land records include: deeds, abstracts and indexes, mortgages, leases, grants and land patents.
See Georgia Land and Property for additional information about early Georgia land grants from the government. After land was transferred to private ownership, subsequent transactions (generally buying and selling deeds) were usually recorded at the county courthouse and where records are currently housed.
Local Histories
Maps
Military
Newspapers
Probate
Colonial courts kept some early probate records. From 1777 to 1798 and since 1852, the court of ordinary or register of probates has kept probate and guardianship records. The inferior court handled probate and guardianship matters from 1798 to 1852.
Many probate records to the 1930s and 1940s are at the Georgia Department of Archives and History and the Family History Library on microfilm.
Content: Probate Records may give the decedent's date of death, names of his or her spouse, children, parents, siblings, in-laws, neighbors, associates, relatives, and their place of residence.
Record types: Wills, estates, guardianships, naturalizations, marriage, adoption, and birth and death records (not all years).
Wills
- 1884-1927 - Index to Wayne County, Georgia Wills 1884-1927 at Georgia Pioneers ($).
- 1882-1892 - Digital Images of Wayne County Wills {http://www.georgiapioneers.com/counties/countywayne.html Georgia Pioneers]
- 1884-1927 - Index to Wayne County, Georgia Wills 1884-1927 at Georgia Pioneers ($).
Additional Probate Records
- 1875-1878 - Index of Wayne County, Georgia Annual Returns Book M (1875-1878) at Georgia Pioneers ($).
- 1875-1878 - Index of Wayne County, Georgia Annual Returns Book M (1875-1878) at Georgia Pioneers ($).
Taxation
Taxes were levied on free white males over 21 and slaves aged 21 to 60. These persons are referred to as "polls." Tax listings, or digests, of a county generally list the taxable landowners and other polls and the amount of tax. The records for each county are divided by militia district.
Vital Records
Vital Records consist of births, adoptions, marriages, divorces, and deaths recorded on registers, certificates, and documents. A copy or an extract of most original records can be purchased from the Georgia State Department of Health or the County Clerk's office of the county where the event occurred.
For some online statewide indexes, see the FamilySearch Historical Record Collections for Georgia.
Marriage
- 1809-1814 - Wayne County Marriage Index 1809-1814. Batch M713931 at FamilySearch - free.[4]
- 1815-1875 - Wayne County Marriage Index 1815-1875. Batch M713932 at FamilySearch - free.[4]
- 1876-1895 - Wayne County Marriage Index 1876-1895. Batch M713933 at FamilySearch - free.[4]
Societies and Libraries
Jesup | Screven Odum
Family History Centers
Web Sites
- USGenWeb project. May have maps, name indexes, history or other information for this county. Select the state, then the county.
- Family History Library Catalog
- Wayne County, Georgia Genealogy and Family History (Linkpendium)
- Georgia Pioneers Georgia Pioneers
References
- ↑ Handybook for Genealogists: United States of America, 10th ed. (Draper, Utah: Everton Pub., 2002), Wayne County, Georgia. Page 162 At various libraries (WorldCat); FHL Book 973 D27e 2002.
- ↑ "Anthony Wayne," Wikipedia.
- ↑ The Handybook for Genealogists: United States of America,10th ed. (Draper, UT:Everton Publishers, 2002).
- ↑ 4.0 4.1 4.2 4.3 4.4 Genealogical Society of Utah, Parish and Vital Records List (July 1998). Microfiche. Digital version at https://www.familysearch.org/learn/wiki/en/images/5/53/Igigeorgiamz.pdf.
Need additional research help? Contact our research help specialists.
Need wiki, indexing, or website help? Contact our product teams.
Did you find this article helpful?
You're invited to explain your rating on the discussion page (you must be signed in).
- This page was last modified on 16 May 2013, at 20:59.
- This page has been accessed 1,497 times.
New to the Research Wiki?
In the FamilySearch Research Wiki, you can learn how to do genealogical research or share your knowledge with others.
Learn More

