Wayne County, IndianaEdit This Page
From FamilySearch Wiki
United States
Indiana
Wayne County
Guide to Wayne County Indiana genealogy. Birth records, marriage records, death records, census records, family history, and military records.
| Wayne County, Indiana | |||||||
| Map | |||||||
![]() Location of Indiana in the U.S. | |||||||
| Facts | |||||||
| Founded | November 27, 1810 | ||||||
|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| County Seat | Richmond | ||||||
| Courthouse | |||||||
| Address | Wayne County Courthouse 301 E Main Richmond, IN 47374 Phone: 765.973.9220 County Website | ||||||
| |||||||
Historical Facts
The county is named after Revolutionary War General "Mad" Anthony Wayne (1745-1796).
Parent County
1810--Wayne County was created 27 November 1810from ClarkandDearborn Counties.
County seat:Richmond [1]
Boundary Changes
Populated Places
Neighboring Counties
Record Loss
Wayne County, Indiana Resources
Bible Records
Business Records
Cemeteries
- Cemeteries of Wayne CountyLinkpendium
Census Records
For tips on accessing Wayne County, Indiana census records online, see: Indiana Census.
- Early Settlers of Wayne County ($, Indiana Genealogical Society)
- Index to Defective, Dependent & Delinquent Census for Wayne County (1880) ($, Indiana Genealogical Society)
Church Records
Court Records
Directories
- Directory of Selected Residents of Wayne County (1876) ($, Indiana Genealogical Society)
Emigration and Immigration
Ethnic and Religious Groups
Gazetteers
Genealogies
Land and Property
History
Local Histories
- Young, Andrew W. (Andrew White), 1802-1877. History of Wayne County, Indiana, from Its First Settlement to the Present Time: with Numerous Biographical and Family Sketches. 2007 977.263 H2y FHL US/CAN Book FHL Collection other libraries FamilySearch Books Online
- History of Wayne County, Indiana: Together with Sketches of Its Cities, Villages and Towns, Educational, Religious, Civil, Military, and Political History, Portraits of Prominent Persons, and Biographies of Representative Citizens. History of Indiana and the Northwest Territory: Embracing Accounts of the Pre-Historic Races, Aborigines, Winnebago and Black Hawk Wars, and a Brief Review of Its Civil, Political and Military History. (La Crosse WI: Brookhaven Press, 2004.) vol. 1 Google booksvol.2Google booksFamilySearch Books Online
557612}}
- Fox, Henry Clay. Memoirs of Wayne County and the City of Richmond, Indiana: From the Earliest Historical Times Down to the Present, Including a Genealogical and Biographical Record of Representative Families in Wayne County. (La Crosse WI: Brookhaven Press, 2004.) FHL Collection vol.1 FamilySearch Books OnlineGoogle books Hathi Trustvol.2FamilySearch Books Online
- Biographies, Oral Histories, Diaries, Memoirs, Genealogies, CorrespondenceLinkpendium
- Biographical and Genealogical History of Wayne, Fayette, Union and Franklin Counties, Indiana. (Indianapolis, Ind: Frederic Luther Co, 1980).977.26 H2b V. 1 and 977.26 H2b v. 2 FHL US/CAN Book FHL Collectionother libraries vol. 1 INTERNET ARCHIVE
Maps
- Maps and GazetteersLinkpendium
Migration
Military Records
War of 1812
- Directory and soldiers' register of Wayne County, Indiana FamilySearch Books Online
- List of Pensioners on the Roll January 1, 1883 INTERNET ARCHIVE
- Civil War Directory and soldiers' register of Wayne County, Indiana INTERNET ARCHIVE
- World War I Draft Registration Cards, 1917-1918 ancestry. com $
- World War II Casualties, Army and Army Air CorpsAccess Genealogy
- African American Veterans in Wayne County, Indiana (1890) (members only database, Indiana Genealogical Society)
Civil War
Civil War service men from Wayne County served in various regiments. Men often joined a company (within a regiment) that originated in their county. Listed below are companies that were specifically formed in Wayne County.
- 2nd Regiment, Indiana Cavalry, Companies C, and F
- 3rd Battery, Indiana Light Artillery
- 5th Regiment, Indiana Cavalry (90th Regiment, Indiana Volunteers), Company B
- 7th Regiment, Indiana Cavalry, Companies E, and H
- 8th Regiment, Indiana Infantry, Companies A, C, H, I, and Reorganized Companies C, and D
- 9th Regiment, Indiana Cavalry, Company C
- 11th Regiment, Indiana Infantry, Reorganized Company I
- 13th Battery, Indiana Light Artillery
- 13th Regiment, Indiana Infantry, Reorganized Company K
- 16th Regiment, Indiana Infantry, Company B
- 19th Regiment, Indiana Infantry, Company B
- 20th Battery, Indiana Light Artillery
- 36th Regiment, Indiana Infantry, Companies F, and I
- 57th Regiment, Indiana Infantry, Companies B, C, D, and I
- 69th Regiment, Indiana Infantry, Companies D, and D
- 78th Regiment, Indiana Infantry (60 days, 1862), Company F
- 84th Regiment, Indiana Infantry, Companies C, and I
- 105th Regiment, Indiana Infantry, Company F
- 106th Regiment, Indiana Infantry, Companies C, D, F, G, and I
- 108th Regiment, Indiana Infantry, Company K
- 124th Regiment, Indiana Infantry, Companies B, H, and K
- 133rd Regiment, Indiana Infantry (100 days, 1864), Company A
- 140th Regiment, Indiana Infantry, Company H
- 147th Regiment, Indiana Infantry, Companies C, and I
- 152nd Regiment, Indiana Infantry, Company G
- 156th Regiment, Indiana Infantry, Company B
- 28th US Colored Troops, Company E, and Addition Recruits for Colored Troops
Civil War Books
- "War History" in Young, Andrew W. (Andrew White), 1802-1877. History of Wayne County, Indiana, from Its First Settlement to the Present Time: with Numerous Biographical and Family Sketches. 2007, (126-137 no Regiment or Companies)977.263 H2y FHL US/CAN Book FHL Collectionother librariesFamilySearch Books Online
- "Military Matters" Chapter 14 in Fox, Henry Clay. Memoirs of Wayne County and the City of Richmond, Indiana: From the Earliest Historical Times Down to the Present, Including a Genealogical and Biographical Record of Representative Families in Wayne County. (La Crosse WI: Brookhaven Press, 2004.), (page 215-230, no Regiment or Companies) FHL Collection vol.1 FamilySearch Books Online Hathi Trustvol.2 FamilySearch Books Online
World War I
World War II
Naturalization and Citizenship
Newspapers
Obituaries
- Wayne County, Indiana Obituary Collection Free from GenealogyBuff.com. From Various Funeral Homes in the Wayne County area.
Occupations
Periodicals
Probate Records
Public Records
Repositories
Archives
County Courthouse
Wayne County Courthouse
301 E Main
Richmond, IN 47374
Phone: 765.973.9220
County Clerk has marriage records from 1810,
divorce and court records from 1873
and probate records from 1818.
City-County Health Officer has birth, death and burial records. [2]
Family History Centers
Libraries
Museums
Societies
School Records
- Teachers of Wayne County, Indiana (1940) (members only database, Indiana Genealogical Society)
Taxation
Vital Records
- Indiana State Digital Archives for Death, E-Publication, Institution, Military, Misc Historical, Naturalization Records can be searched by person name (accessed 26 May 2011)
Birth Records
Marriage Records
- Indiana Marriages, 1802-1892 - Ancestry.con $
- Indiana Marriages, 1780-1992-FamilySearch
- Indiana Marriage, 1811-1959-FamilySearch
Death Records
- Indiana, Death Index, 1882-1920-FamilySearch
Voter Registration
Wayne County, Indiana Web Sites
- USGenWeb project. May have maps, name indexes, history or other information for this county. Select the state, then the county.
- Family History Library Catalog
- Wayne County, Indiana Genealogy and Family History (Linkpendium)
References
- ↑ The Handybook for Genealogists: United States of America,10th ed. (Draper, UT:Everton Publishers, 2002).
- ↑ Handybook for Genealogists: United States of America, 10th ed. (Draper, Utah: Everton Pub., 2002), Wayne County, Indiana 217 At various libraries (WorldCat); FHL Book 973 D27e 2002.
Need additional research help? Contact our research help specialists.
Need wiki, indexing, or website help? Contact our product teams.
Did you find this article helpful?
You're invited to explain your rating on the discussion page (you must be signed in).
- This page was last modified on 16 May 2013, at 00:15.
- This page has been accessed 2,318 times.
New to the Research Wiki?
In the FamilySearch Research Wiki, you can learn how to do genealogical research or share your knowledge with others.
Learn More
