Wayne County, Mississippi GenealogyEdit This Page

From FamilySearch Wiki

(Redirected from Wayne County, Mississippi)

United States Gotoarrow.png Mississippi Gotoarrow.png Wayne County

Guide to Wayne County, Mississippi ancestry, family history and genealogy birth records, marriage records, death records, census records, family history, and military records.

Hand and keyboard.jpg Mississippi
Online Records

Wayne County, Mississippi
Map of Mississippi highlighting Wayne County
Location in the state of Mississippi
Map of the U.S. highlighting Mississippi
Location of Mississippi in the U.S.
Founded 21 December, 1809
County Seat Waynesboro
Wayne County Mississippi Courthouse.jpg
Address Wayne County Courthouse
609 Azalea Dr;
Waynesboro, MS 39367-0000
Phone: 601.735.2873
Wayne County Courthouse


County Courthouse

Wayne County Mississippi Courthouse.jpg
 Wayne County Courthouse
609 Azalea Dr;
Waynesboro, MS 39367-0000
Phone: 601.735.2873

Clerk Chancery Court has marriage, burial, divorce, probate, court and land records. [1]
Beginning Dates for Wayne County, Mississippi Genealogy Government Records
Birth Marriage Death Census Land Probate


Anthony Wayne.JPG

The county is named after Revolutionary War General "Mad" Anthony Wayne (1745-1796).

Parent County

1809--Wayne County was created 21 December 1809 from Washington County.
County seat: Waynesboro [2]

Boundary Changes

For animated maps illustrating Mississippi county boundary changes, "Rotating Formation Mississippi County Boundary Maps" (1785-1918) may be viewed for free at the MapofUS.org website.

Variant Spellings

Record Loss

For a list of record loss in Mississippi counties see: Mississippi Counties with Burned Courthouses


Populated Places

Neighboring Counties

Genealogy Resources

Research Guides

African Americans

Bible Records



For tips on accessing Wayne County, Mississippi Genealogy census records online, see: Mississippi Census.

Church Records

Church records and the information they provide vary significantly depending on the denomination and the record keeper. They may contain information about members of the congregation, such as age, date of baptism, christening, or birth; marriage information and maiden names; and death date. For general information about Mississippi denominations, view the Mississippi Church Records wiki page.



Land and Property

Land and property records can place an ancestor in a particular location, provide economic information, and reveal family relationships. Land records include: deeds, abstracts and indexes, mortgages, leases, grants and land patents.

See Mississippi Land and Property for additional information about early Mississippi land ownership. After land was transferred to private ownership, subsequent transactions were usually recorded at the county courthouse and where records are currently housed.

Local Histories

Local histories are available for Wayne County, Mississippi Genealogy. County histories may include biographies, church, school and government history, and military information. For more information about local histories see the wiki page section Mississippi Local Histories.



Civil War

  • Men from Wayne County served in various regiments. Men often joined a company (within a regiment) that originated in their county. Listed below are companies that were specifically formed in Wayne County.
- 1st Regiment, Mississippi Cavalry Reserves
Company H - McGriff’s Company



Additional newspapers abstracts can sometimes be found using search phrases such as Wayne County, Mississippi Genealogy newspapers in online catalogs like:


Probate Records

Online Records


Mississippi tax records replace missing censuses and provide lists of residents during years between censuses. There may be gaps of several years. For more information, see Mississippi Taxation.

Vital Records

Vital Records consist of births, adoptions, marriages, divorces, and deaths recorded on registers, certificates, and documents. Mississippi law did not require keeping birth or death records until 1912. Births and deaths are kept by the Mississippi Bureau of Vital Statistics. Marriage records are kept by the county. See also How to order Mississippi Vital Records or order electronically online.

See Mississippi Vital Records for more information on getting Mississippi records.

Vital Record Substitutes

Genealogy Societies and Libraries

Wayne County Genealogy Organization
Patsy Brewer
712 Wayne St.
Waynesboro, MS 39367

Waynesboro-Wayne County Library
Wayne County Genealogy Organization
1103 A Mississippi Drive
Waynesboro, MS 39367
(601) 735-2268
1-866-735-2268 FREE Toll free
website: Waynesboro-Wayne County Genealogy Organization
email: wlib@wwcls.lib.ms.us

Mississippi Dept of Archives & History
PO Box 571 (200 North Street)
Jackson, MS 39205
Phone: (601) 576-6876

Wayne County, MS County Courthouse
609 Azalea Drive
Waynesboro, MS 39367-1249
(601) 735-2873
Genealogical and Historical Research

See also a List of Mississippi Archives, Libraries, Publications, Historical & Genealogical Societies

Family History Centers

Family History Centers provide one-on-one assistance and free access to premium genealogical websites. In addition, many centers have free how-to genealogy classes. See Family History Center for more information. Search the online FHC directory for a nearby family history center.



  1. Handybook for Genealogists: United States of America, 10th ed. (Draper, Utah: Everton Pub., 2002), Wayne County, Mississippi page 383, At various libraries (WorldCat); FHL Book 973 D27e 2002.
  2. The Handybook for Genealogists: United States of America,10th ed. (Draper, UT:Everton Publishers, 2002).
  3. Genealogical Society of Utah, Parish and Vital Records List (July 1998). Microfiche. Digital version at https://www.familysearch.org/learn/wiki/en/images/f/f2/Igimississippip.pdf.


Need wiki, indexing, or website help? Contact our product teams.

Did you find this article helpful?

You're invited to explain your rating on the discussion page (you must be signed in).

  • This page was last modified on 5 November 2015, at 15:47.
  • This page has been accessed 8,286 times.