Wayne County, NebraskaEdit This Page
From FamilySearch Wiki
Wayne County, Nebraska genealogy and family history research page. Guide to genealogy, history, and courthouse sources including birth records, marriage records, death records, census records, wills, deeds and land records, Civil War records, family histories, cemeteries, churches, tax records, newspapers, and obituaries.
|Wayne County, Nebraska|
Location in the state of Nebraska
| Map of the U.S. highlighting Nebraska|
Location of Nebraska in the U.S.
|Founded||March 4, 1871|
|Address|| Wayne County Courthouse|
510 N. Pearl Street
P.O. Box 248
Wayne, Nebraska 68787-1939
Wayne County Courthouse
510 N Pearl Street
PO Box 248
Wayne, Ne 68787-1939
County judge has marriage, probate and court records from 1871.
Clerk District Court has divorce records.
County Clerk has land records from 1870. 
HistoryThe county is named after Revolutionary War General "Mad" Anthony Wayne (1745-1796).
1871--Wayne County was created 4 March 1871 from unorganized territory. County seat: Wayne 
For tips on accessing Wayne County, Nebraska census records online, see: Nebraska Census.
Societies and Libraries
Family History Centers
- USGenWeb project. May have maps, name indexes, history or other information for this county. Select the state, then the county.
- Family History Library Catalog
- ↑ Handybook for Genealogists: United States of America, 10th ed. (Draper, Utah: Everton Pub., 2002), Wayne County, Nebraska page 435, At various libraries (WorldCat); FHL Book 973 D27e 2002.
- ↑ "Anthony Wayne," Wikipedia.
- ↑ The Handybook for Genealogists: United States of America,10th ed. (Draper, UT:Everton Publishers, 2002).
|This Nebraska-related article is a stub. You can help by expanding it.
While this page is under construction, may we suggest Cyndi's List.
- This page was last modified on 7 February 2013, at 18:35.
- This page has been accessed 1,003 times.
New to the Research Wiki?
In the FamilySearch Research Wiki, you can learn how to do genealogical research or share your knowledge with others.Learn More