Wayne County, North Carolina GenealogyEdit This Page
From FamilySearch Wiki
Guide to Wayne County, North Carolina ancestry, family history, and genealogy birth records, marriage records, death records, census records, family history, and military records.
|Wayne County, North Carolina|
Location in the state of North Carolina
Location of North Carolina in the U.S.
Wayne County Courthouse
215 S William Street
P O Box 267
Goldsboro, NC 27530-4824
Register of Deeds has birth, marriage, death burial and land records
Clerk Superior Courth has divoce, probate and court records
1779--Wayne County was created from Dobbs County. Dobbs County was abolished in 1791.
County seat: Goldsboro 
For animated maps illustrating North Carolina county boundary changes, "Rotating Formation North Carolina County Boundary Maps" (1664-1965) may be viewed for free at the MapofUS.org website.
Some of the early records are missing. For a list of record loss in North Carolina counties see: North Carolina Counties with Burned Courthouses
For tips on accessing Wayne County, North Carolina Genealogy census records online, see: North Carolina Census.
- Black Creek. Established by 1783.
- Falling Creek. Constituted 1778.
- Naughunty. Constituted 1791.
- Norhunty Swamp. Constituted 1789.
- Pleasant Plains. Established by 1808.
The Church of Jesus Christ of Latter-day Saints
LDS Ward and Branch Records
- Mount Olive
- 1861 - 1865 North Carolina, Civil War Service Records of Confederate Soldiers, 1861-1865 at FamilySearch.org — index and images
- 1861 - 1865 North Carolina, Civil War Service Records of Union Soldiers, 1861-1865 at FamilySearch.org — index and images
Civil War Battle
The following Civil War battles were fought in Wayne County.
- March 23-April 26, 1862 = Goldsborough Bridge
- December 16, 1862 = White Hall, also known as Whitehall or White Hall Ferry
- Map showing Civil War battles in North Carolina.
Civil War Confederate units
Brief history, counties where recruited, etc.
- -2nd Regiment, North Carolina Infantry
- -4th Regiment, North Carolina Infantry
- - 13th Battalion, North Carolina Infantry, Company C
:- 1st Regiment, North Carolina Artillery 10th Regiment Volunteers-1st Artillery, Company F
:- 1st Regiment, North Carolina Cavalry, Company H
:- 2nd Regiment, North Carolina Infantry, 2nd Company C
:- 2nd Regiment, North Carolina Infantry, Company D
:- 2nd Regiment, North Carolina Infantry, Company H
:- 2nd Regiment, North Carolina Junior Reserves, Company A
:- 4th Regiment, North Carolina Infantry, Company D
:- 8th Regiment, North Carolina Senior Reserves, Captain James M Garner's Company
:- 8th Battalion, North Carolina Cavalry (Partisan Rangers), 4th Company
- Pre-1790 - Pre-1790 Wayne County, North Carolina Genealogy Wills stored at the North Carolina State Archives are online - free. Website tips.
- 1773-1957 - Will Books A to Z and 1 to 14 (1773-1957) have been digitized by FamilySearch - free.
- Wayne County Vital Records includes a number of birth, marriage, and death records collections. It is free.
- 1800 - 2000 North Carolina Birth Index 1800-2000 at FamilySearch.org — index
- 1866 - 1964 North Carolina Births and Christenings 1866-1964 at FamilySearch.org — index
- 1891-1914 - Wayne County Birth Index 1891-1914. Batch C869953 at FamilySearch - free.
- 1898 - 1994North Carolina Deaths 1906-1930 at FamilySearch.org — index and images
- 1908 - 2004 North Carolina Death Indexes 1908-2004 at Ancestry.com — index $
- 1909-1975 North Carolina Death Certificates 1909-1975 at Ancestry.com — index and images $
- 1931 - 1994North Carolina Deaths 1931-1994 at FamilySearch.org — index
- 1741 - 2004 North Carolina Marriage Index 1741-2004 at Ancestry.com — index $
- 1759 - 1979North Carolina Marriages 1759-1979 at FamilySearch.org — index
- 1762 - 1969North Carolina County Marriages 1762-1969 at FamilySearch.org — index and images
- 1867-1936 - Wayne County Marriage Index 1867-1936 in International Genealogical Index at FamilySearch - free.
Societies and Libraries
Wayne County Historical Association
116 N William St.
Goldsboro, NC 27530
Old Dobbs County Genealogical Society
P.O. Box 617
Goldsboro, NC 27533
Old Dobbs County Genealogical Society
Family History Centers
Family History Centers provide one-on-one assistance and free access to premium genealogical websites. In addition, many centers have free how-to genealogy classes. See Family History Centers for more information. Search the online FHC directory for a nearby family history center.
- Wayne County, NC History, Records, Facts and Genealogy (Genealogy Inc)
- USGenWeb project. May have maps, name indexes, history or other information for this county. Select the state, then the county.
- FamilySearch Catalog
- ↑ Handybook for Genealogists: United States of America, 10th ed. (Draper, Utah: Everton Pub., 2002), Wayne County, North Carolina. Page 514 At various libraries (WorldCat); FHL Book 973 D27e 2002.
- ↑ "Anthony Wayne," Wikipedia.
- ↑ The Handybook for Genealogists: United States of America,10th ed. (Draper, UT:Everton Publishers, 2002).
- ↑ 4.0 4.1 4.2 4.3 George Washington Paschal, History of North Carolina Baptists, 2 vols. (1930; reprint, Gallatin, Tenn.: Church History Research and Archives, 1990), 1:490-491; 2:569. FHL Book 975.6 K2p 1990.
- ↑ 5.0 5.1 Lemuel Burkitt and Jesse Read, A Concise History of the Kehukee Baptist Association: From Its Original Rise Down to 1808 (1808), Chapter 16. Digital version at St Paul's Seminary website.
- ↑ Heritage Preservation Services, Civil War Battle Summaries by State, (accessed 8 August, 2012)
- ↑ Heritage Preservation Services, Civil War Battle Summaries by State, (accessed 9 August, 2012)
- ↑ 8.0 8.1 Genealogical Society of Utah, Parish and Vital Records List (July 1998). Microfiche. Digital version at https://www.familysearch.org/learn/wiki/en/images/f/f5/Iginorthcarolinap.pdf.
|This North Carolina-related article is a stub. You can help by expanding it.
While this page is under construction, may we suggest Cyndi's List.
- This page was last modified on 9 June 2015, at 16:23.
- This page has been accessed 11,231 times.
Future Changes to the Wiki
Changes are coming to the FamilySearch Research Wiki in the near future. Find out more on the Wiki Community News page.Community News