Wayne County, TennesseeEdit This Page

From FamilySearch Wiki

United States Gotoarrow.png Tennessee Gotoarrow.png Wayne County

Wayne County, Tennessee ancestry, family history, and genealogy research page. Guide to Wayne County (established 1817) genealogy, history, and courthouse sources including birth records, marriage records, death records, census records, wills, deeds and land records, Civil War records, Revolutionary War records, family histories, cemeteries, churches, tax records, newspapers, and obituaries.

Hand and keyboard.jpg Tennessee
Online Records
Wayne County, Tennessee
Map
Boundary map of Wayne County, Tennessee
Map of Tennessee highlighting Wayne County
Location in the state of Tennessee
Map of the U.S. highlighting Tennessee
Location of Tennessee in the U.S.
Facts
Founded: November 24, 1817
County Seat Waynesboro
Courthouse
Adopt-a-wiki page
TGW 45x45.jpg This page adopted by:
TNGenWeb Project
who welcome you to contribute.
Adopt a page today

Contents

Quick Dates

Wayne County's civil records start the following years:[1]

Birth Marriage Death Census Land Probate
1908 1857 1881 1820 1821 1848

County Courthouse

Wayne County Courthouse, Waynesboro, Tenn. Courtesy: Collection: County Court Houses, Flickr by Jimmy Emerson. Used by permission.

Wayne County Courthouse
200 Court Square
Waynesboro, TN 38485
Phone: 1-931-722-5517

County Clerk has marriage records from 1857 and probate records from 1848.
Register of Deeds has land records.[2]

Wayne County Clerk
Marriage and probate records
100 Court Circle
P.O. Box 367
Waynesboro, TN 38485
Phone: 1-931-722-5544

Wayne County Register of Deeds
Land records
100 Court Circle
Waynesboro, TN 38485
Phone: 1-931-722-5518

Hours:
Mon.-Thurs. 8 a.m.-4:30 p.m.

History

General "Mad" Anthony Wayne (1745-1796)

Middle Tennessee county.

The county is named after Revolutionary War General "Mad" Anthony Wayne (1745-1796).

Parent County

1817--Wayne County was established 24 November 1817 from Hickman and Humphreys Counties. Early records may be found under Hickman and Humphreys Counties.
County seat: Waynesboro [3]

County Pronunciation

  1. Hear it spoken[4] (female)
  2. Hear it spoken[5] (male)

Boundary Changes

For animated maps illustrating Tennessee county boundary changes, "Rotating Formation Tennessee County Boundary Maps" (1777-1985) may be viewed for free at the MapofUS.org website.

Record Loss

For a list of record loss in Tennessee counties see: Tennessee Counties with Burned Courthouses

Fire.png
1973--Fire damaged courthouse records.[6]

  • Lost census: 1890
  • Lost marriage records: 1817 to 1856
  • Lost probate records: 1817 to 1847

For suggestions about research in places that suffered historic record losses, see:

Places/Localities

Populated Places

Ashland Fairview Lutts Star (hist.)
Bird (hist.) Geneva Martins Mills Starkey (hist.)
Browntown (hist.) Gower (hist.) McGlamery Stand Topsy
Carrollville (hist.) Green River (hist.) Moccasin Upper Holly Creek
Clifton Hardwick (hist.) Moon (hist.) Victory (hist.)
Clifton Junction Highland Mooney Waynesboro
Collinwood Holly Creek Mount Hope Weatherford (hist.)
Corning (hist.) Houston Pleasant Valley (hist.) Whittens Stand (hist.)
Cromwell Crossroads Leatherwood Ransom Stand Woodlawn
Crossroads Light (hist.) Sage (hist.) Yates (hist.)
Cyclone (hist.) Lovie (hist.) Shawnette
Cypress Inn Lower Holly Creek Sorby (hist.)

Neighboring Counties

Resources

Tnwayne.png

Research Guides

African Americans

United States African Americans Gotoarrow.png Tennessee African Americans

Census takers found no free African Americans living in Wayne County, Tennessee in 1820.[7]

Bible Records

  • Family Bible Records - Wayne County, Tennessee. Paducah, Ky.:  Turner's Publishing Co. Purchase at publisher's website.

Biographies

  • Douthat, James L. Wayne County, Tennessee Biographies. 1887; reprint, Signal Mountain, Tenn.: Mountain Press. Free Surname Index and purchase details at Mountain Press website.

Cemeteries

  • Find A Grave can be searched by the name of a person or family to find where a person is buried.  Usually gives birth and death dates often with a picture of the tombstone.  May give obituaries, names of family members and links to their information in Find A Grave.
  • Wayne Co. TN Cemetery Records, part of the TNGenWeb Cemetery Database, lists many cemeteries in the county, often with indexes and transcripts of the burials.

Census

Historical populations
Census Pop.  %±
1820 2,459
1830 6,013 144.5%
1840 7,705 28.1%
1850 8,170 6.0%
1860 9,115 11.6%
1870 10,209 12.0%
1880 11,301 10.7%
1890 11,471 1.5%
1900 12,936 12.8%
1910 12,062 −6.8%
1920 12,877 6.8%
1930 12,134 −5.8%
1940 13,638 12.4%
1950 13,864 1.7%
1960 11,908 −14.1%
1970 12,365 3.8%
1980 13,946 12.8%
1990 13,935 −0.1%
2000 16,842 20.9%
Source: "American FactFinder". United States Census Bureau.
1820, 1830, 1840, 1850, 1860, 1870, 1880, 1900, 1910, 1920, 1930, and 1940 federal population censuses of Wayne County are available online. For tips on accessing census records online, see Tennessee Census. For tips on accessing census records online, see Tennessee Census. If you're having trouble finding your ancestors in online indexes, try checking printed indexes. Created by local experts familiar with the area's families, these indexes are often transcribed more accurately than nationwide online indexes.

See Tennessee Population Schedule Indexes: Fiche, Film, or Book for more information about statewide printed indexes.

See Wayne County, Tennessee census assignments, including links to transcribed files. [The USGenWeb Census Project®].

1820

  • Bentley, Elizabeth P. Index to the 1820 Census of Tennessee. Baltimore: Genealogical Publishing Co., 1981. FHL 976.8 X22b 1820
  • Byler, Edgar D. Wayne County, Tennessee, Census Records. Collinwood, Tennessee: Byler Press, 1975 FHL 976.839 X2p Vol. 1.
  • Lauderdale County Library. Vertical files, Census records. Salt Lake City, Utah : Filmed by the Genealogical Society of Utah, 1978. FHL 1034009 Item 2.

1830

  • Byler, Edgar D. Wayne County, Tennessee, Census Records. Collinwood, Tennessee: Byler Press, 1975. FHL 976.839 X2p Vol. 1.

1840

  • Byler, Edgar D. Wayne County, Tennessee, Census Records. Collinwood, Tennessee: Byler Press, 1975. FHL 976.839 X2p Vol. 1.

1840 Revolutionary War Pensioners

1850

  • Byler, Edgar D. Wayne County, Tennessee, Census Records. Collinwood, Tennessee: Byler Press, 1975. FHL 976.839 X2p Vol. 2.
  • Porch, Deane. Wayne County, Tennessee 1850 Census. Franklin, Tennessee: Louise G. Lynch, 19--?. FHL 976.839 X2p 1850

1860

1870

  • Byler, Edgar D. Wayne County, Tennessee, Census Records. Collinwood, Tennessee: Byler Press, 1975. FHL 976.839 X2p Vol. 3.

1880

  • Brown, Delores R. Wayne County, Tennessee, Census Records. Collinwood, Tennessee: Byler Press, 1975. FHL 976.839 X2p Vol. 4.
  • Sistler, Barbara and Byron Sistler. 1880 Census Wayne County, Tennessee. Nashville, Tennessee : B. Sistler & Associates, 1999. FHL 976.839 X2s 1880

1890 - Lost, but substitutes are available:

The 1891 registration has been published and indexed twice:

  • Bridges, Alec F. Special, 1891, Tennessee Census, Wayne County: Enumeration of Male Inhabitants of Twenty-one Years of Age and Upward. [Columbia, Tenn.: A.F. Bridges], 1994. FHL US/CAN Book 976.839 X2b.
  • Reed, Sue S. Enumeration of Male Inhabitants of Twenty-one Years of Age and Upward, Citizens of Tennessee, January 1, 1891, as Provided for by an Act of General Assembly of Tennessee, Passed January 15, 1891, and Approved January 22, 1891. 8 vols. Houston, Texas: S.S. Reed, 1989. FHL US/CAN Book 976.8 X2r v. 8 1891. [Wayne County is included in Vol. 8.]


There is also the 1890 Census of Civil War Veterans:

  • Sistler, Byron H. and Barbara Sistler. 1890 Civil War Veterans Census, Tennessee. Evanston, Ill.: Byron Sister and Associates, 1978. FHL US/CAN Book 976.8 X2s 1890.

1910

  • Brown, Doris R. Wayne County, Tennessee, Census 1910. Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania: X-Press Graphics, 1992. FHL 976.839 X2b 1910

1920

  • Brown, Doris R. Wayne County, Tennessee, Census 1920. Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania: X-Press Graphics, 1992. FHL 976.839 X2b 1920

1930

Church

Court

DNA

DNA Double Helix.png
DNA has been collected from men claiming descent from the following Wayne County residents. Attempts have not been made to verify the lineages of those tested.
  • [Brown] Descendant of John Franklin Brown, b. abt 1830, d. aft 1920 of Wayne County, Tennessee. Y-DNA 37 Marker Test, FTDNA (Kits 79837). Genetic signature available online (labeled Group No. 3), genealogical description available online, courtesy: Brown/Browne/Braun DNA Study. Matches have been found.

Family Histories

It is anticipated that this bibliography will eventually identify all known family histories published about residents of this county. Use this list to:

  • Locate publications about direct ancestors
  • Find the most updated accounts of an ancestor's family
  • Identify publications, to quote Elizabeth Shown Mills, about an ancestor's "FAN Club" [Friends, Associates, and Neighbors]

General

As of August 2010, a query for persons born in Wayne, Tennessee at World Connect, results in more than 55,000 entries.

  • Wayne County Historical Society. Wayne County, Tennessee History and Families. 2 vols. Paducah, Ky.: Turner Pub. Co., 1995. FHL Book 976.839 H2t v. 1 ff.

Bibliography

  • [Horton] Lancaster, Beverly. Some Shipman and Horton Families of Wayne County, Tennessee and Searcy County, Arkansas. Orchard Lake, Mich.: Beverly M. Lancaster, 1986. FHL Book 929.273 H789L.
  • [Johnson] See also Grimes
  • [Johnson] Massat, Theresa Fickling. History and Genealogy of John Johnson of Wayne County, Tennessee, and His Descendants, 1777-1990. n.p.: T.F. Massat, 1990?. FHL Book 929.273 J633m.
  • [Kyle] Raymond, Edith Madeline Replogle and German Burnett Kyle. German Burnett (G.B.) Kyle of Logan County, Arkansas and His Wayne County, Tennessee Ancestors: Duckworth, Kyle, Nesbitt, Staggs, Wilson and Their Descendants and Allied Families. Pullman, Washington: E.M.R. Raymond, 1990. FHL Book 929.273 K984r.
  • [Lackey] Nelson, Mary Lee Lackey. The Lackey Lines of Northern Arkansas: Their Descendants and Related Families. Independence, Missouri: M.L.L. Nelson, 1984. FHL FAM HIST Book 929.273 L118n.
  • [Moore] Culver, Lillye Moore and C.W. Moore. The Moore's of Wayne County, Tennessee. n.p.: L.M. Culver, 1969?. FHL Book 929.273 M781cL.
  • [Morris] See Grimes
  • [Montague] See Grimes
  • [Rose] Rose, Christine. Ancestors and Descendants of Frederick Rose: of Sussex County, Virginia, Orange County, North Carolina, and Wayne and Hardin Counties, Tennessee. San Jose, Calif.: C.C. Rose, 1980. FHL Book 929.273 R72rch.
  • [Shipman] Lancaster, Beverly. Some Shipman and Horton Families of Wayne County, Tennessee and Searcy County, Arkansas. Orchard Lake, Mich.: Beverly M. Lancaster, 1986. FHL Book 929.273 H789L.
  • [Simmons] Jenkins, Jack S. William Simmons of Wayne County, Tennessee and Descendants. San Antonio, Texas: J.S. Jenkins, 1987. FHL Book 929.273 Si47j.
  • [Sinclair] Sinclair, Thomas Graham. The Samuel Sinclair and Hettie Jane Roach Family of Wayne County, Tennessee. Palm Desert, Calif.: T.G. Sinclair, 1996. FHL Book 929.273 Si62st.
  • [Whitten] Byler, Edgar D. and Rolla Whitten. The Whitten Family of Wayne County, Tennessee. Microfilmed in 1980. FHL US/CAN Film 1293983 Item 16.

Land

Law and Legislation

  • Tennessee State Library and Archives, Acts of Tennessee 1796-1850: Index to Names. January 25, 2005. [In addition to creating new laws, legislative acts were often required to obtain a divorce, grant legitimacy to a child, or for appointments to or grant payments for public service.] TSLA has created an index to names that appear in these acts covering the years 1796 to 1850. To read more about this valuable resource Click here. The searchable index is available at TSLA; another version is available at World Vital Records.

Local Histories

Maps

Military

Revolutionary War

The following Wayne County Revolutionary War records are available online through TNGenWeb:

Additional resources include:

War of 1812

Civil War

Civil War service men from Wayne County served in various regiments. Men often joined a regiment or a company (within a regiment) that originated in their county. Listed below are the military units that were formed in or had many men from Wayne County.

Confederate Soldiers 

Union Soldiers

Additional sources for Civil War soldiers from Wayne County:

Korean War

  • Wayne County Historical Society (Waynesboro, Tenn.). Korean War Veterans: Wayne County, Tennessee. Paducah, Ky.: Turner Pub. Co., 2004. FHL Book 976.839 M2k.

Newspapers

Many Tennessee newspapers are filmed and available at TSLA. Most of these newspapers may be accessed by interlibrary loan to libraries within Tennessee, although there are some newspapers which are not available in or outside of Tennessee. For further information regarding interlibrary loan policies and newspapers not available for interlibrary loan click here. For a list of newspapers available at the archives for Wayne County click on the following cities:

Occupations

  • Miller, Alan N. Middle Tennessee's Forgotten Children: Apprentices from 1784 to 1902. Baltimore, Md.: Printed for Clearfield Company, Inc., by Genealogical Publishing Co., Inc., 2004. FHL US/CAN 976.8 U2ma. Purchase at Genealogical.com. [Includes Wayne County.]
  • Moore, Gerald K. Business Licenses, 1879-1890, Wayne County, Tennessee [S.I.]:G.K. Moore,[200-?] FHL book 976.839 U3. Digital version available at FamilySearch Books Online

Periodicals

Tap into the minds of local experts. Editors of genealogical periodicals publish unique sources that researchers who are new to their area would not likely discover. This type of material may be found in local, regional, or statewide genealogical society journals. The following periodicals cover this county:

Ansearchin' News
Genealogical articles with abstracts of Wayne County, Tennessee records have been published in Ansearchin' News, the quarterly magazine of the Tennessee Genealogical Society. To view a list of these articles, visit their county index. To read digitized versions of the first 36 years of articles (Vols. 1-36), browse their archive or conduct a surname search. The Family History Library has a complete collection of the Ansearchin' News quarterly FHL Book 976.8 B2a.
Family Findings
Genealogical articles with abstracts of Wayne County, Tennessee records have been published in Family Findings, the quarterly of the Mid-West Tennessee Genealogical Society (42+ vols.). The Family History Library has most issues of this quarterly FHL US/CAN 976.8 B2f.
Tables of contents for some volumes are available online, courtesy: TNGenWeb Project:
Many articles from this publication have been reproduced on the TNGenWeb Project website, try this specialized Google search.
The River Counties
Genealogical articles with abstracts of Wayne County, Tennessee records were published in The River Counties Quarterly, (14 vols.) edited by Jill K. Garrett. The Family History Library has a complete collection FHL Book 976.8 B2rc.
The Wayne County Historian
The Family History Library has all volumes to the present. FHL US/CAN 976.839 B2w
Indexed in PERiodical Source Index (PERSI)
For further information see website: http://www.tngenweb.org/wayne/wchs.htm
Digital version of The Wayne County Historian, Volumes 19 and 20 available at Family History Archives.

Prisons

Learn if your Wayne County, Tennessee ancestors went to prison!

Probate

The Wayne County Court has responsibility for the probate records.

FamilySearch has placed scans of the following records online in the Tennessee, Probate Court Books, 1795-1927 collection. These are browse-only collections. Handwritten indexes may be found at the front or back of some volumes:

  • Wills, 1893-1968 (Vols. 1-3)
  • Inventories, Settlements, Wills, 1848-1868 (3 vols.)
  • Bonds, Letters, 1856-1968 (9 vols.)
  • Guardian records, 1868-1893
  • Insolvent estate records, 1872-1952 (2 vols.)
  • Inventories, 1894-1914
  • Inventories, Settlements, 1868-1893, 1915-1934 (3 vols.)
  • Settlements, 1870-1925 (4 vols.)

For free lookups of Wayne County, Tennesse wills and administrations 1848-1920 click here.

The following Wayne County probate records have been abstracted, indexed, or both:

  • [1848-1920] Berry, Nell J. and June L. Scott. Wayne County, Tennessee Wills & Letters of Administration 1848-1920. Waynesboro, Tennessee: Wayne County Historical Society, 1990.
  • [1848-1861] Sistler, Byron and Barbara Sistler. Index to Tennessee Wills & Administrations 1779-1861. Nashville, Tenn. Byron Sistler & Associates, Inc., 1990. FHL US/CAN 976.8 P22s. [Includes an index to this county's probate records.]

Taxation

The following Wayne County tax records have been abstracted:[8]

  • [1836] Tax List, 1836, Wayne County Historian, Vol. 5, No. 2 (Jun. 1992); Vol. 5, No. 3 (Sep. 1992); Vol. 5, No. 4 (Dec. 1992); Vol. 6, No. 1 (Mar. 1993).
  • [1836] Murphy, Jerry W. "1836 Wayne County Tennessee Tax List," available online, courtesy: TNGenWeb. [Includes 1836 Civil District Map, and 1836 Commissioner's Report.]
  • [1838] Tax List, 1838, Wayne County Historian, Vol. 6, No. 3 (Sep. 1993).
  • [1838] Murphy, Jerry W. "1838 Wayne County Tennessee Tax List," available online, courtesy: TNGenWeb.
  • [1866] Byler, Edgar D. "Registered Voters in the 10th & 11th Civil Districts - 1866, Wayne County, Tennessee," available online, courtesy: TNGenWeb.
  • [1866] Byler, Edgar D. "1866 Commissioners' Report to Redistrict Wayne County, Tennessee," available online, courtesy: TNGenWeb.
  • [1877] Moore, Gerald K. "1877 Land Owners Wayne County, Tennessee," available online, courtesy: TNGenWeb.
  • [1886] Moore, Gerald K. "1886 Land Owners Wayne County, Tennessee," available online, courtesy: TNGenWeb.
  • [1890] Moore, Gerald K. "1890 Tax List Wayne County, Tennessee," available online, courtesy: TNGenWeb.
  • [1890] Moore, Gerald K. 1890 Taxpayers in Wayne County, Tennessee. S.l. : G.K. Moore, 200-?. FHL 976.839 R4m Free online digital copy.
  • [1891] Higdon, Barbara. "1891 Voter's List Wayne County, Tennessee," available online, courtesy: TNGenWeb.
  • [1895] Moore, Gerald K. "1895 Land Owners Wayne County, Tennessee," available online, courtesy: TNGenWeb.
  • [1905] Moore, Gerald K. "1905 Land Owners Wayne County, Tennessee," available online, courtesy: TNGenWeb.
  • [1915] Moore, Gerald K. "1915 Land Owners Wayne County, Tennessee," available online, courtesy: TNGenWeb.
  • [1925] Moore, Gerald K. "1925 Land Owners Wayne County, Tennessee," available online, courtesy: TNGenWeb.
  • [1935] Moore, Gerald K. "1935 Land Owners Wayne County, Tennessee," available online, courtesy: TNGenWeb.
  • [1945] Moore, Gerald K. "1945 Land Owners Wayne County, Tennessee," available online, courtesy: TNGenWeb.

The following article, based on Wayne County's tax records, was published in 2007:

  • Tax and Assessment Statistics, 1877-1955, Wayne County Historian, Vol. 20, No. 3 (Sep. 2007).

Vital Records

See also How to order Tennessee Vital Records or order electronically online.

Birth
Marriage

The following Wayne County marriage records have been indexed:

Death

For deaths of Methodists in Wayne County between the 1830s and the 1920s, try:

Libraries

Wayne County Public Library
Highway 64 East, PO Box 630
Waynesboro, TN 38485 931-722-5537
Phone: 1-931-722-5537
Wayne County Public Libraries
The Wayne County Public Library is affiliated with the library system that serves Wayne County, TN.

West Tennessee Heritage Study Center
Paul Meek Library
University of Tennessee at Martin
Phone: 1-731-881-7060
Hours vary by semester
The Heritage Study Center holds a variety of genealogical resources including materials relating to the following counties in Tennessee: Benton, Carroll, Chester, Crockett, Decatur, Dyer, Fayette, Gibson, Hardin, Haywood, Henderson, Henry, Houston, Humphreys, Lake, Lauderdale, Madison, McNairy, Obion, Perry, Shelby, Stewart, Tipton, Wayne, Weakley and Carlisle, Fulton, and Hickman counties in Kentucky.

Societies

See also a List of Tennessee Archives, Libraries, Publications, Historical & Genealogical Societies

Wayne County Historical Society
P.O. Box 866
Waynesboro, TN 38485-0866
Website: http://www.tngenweb.org/wayne/wchs.htm
Quarterly periodical: The Wayne County Historian
The society was founded in 1970. It has programs designed around topics that relate to the history, genealogy, folklore and archaeology of the county

Middle Tennessee Genealogical Society
PO Box 330948
Nashville, TN, USA 37203-7507
The society serves the 40 counties of middle Tennessee of which Wayne County is one. It publishes The Middle Tennessee Journal of Genealogy and History, a quarterly containing articles of genealogical and historical interest. Little-known Tennessee records are published and indexed, along with family genealogies, Bible records and material submitted by members. There is an alphabetical Index to articles in the Journal 1988-summer 2005

LDS Family History Centers

There are no LDS family history centers in Wayne County, Tennessee. To find the nearest family history center, click here .

Wayne County Tennessee Genealogy Websites

Wikipedia
Wikipedia has more about this subject: Wayne County, Tennessee

Wayne County Tennessee Genealogy References

  1. "Earliest County Records," Tennessee State Library and Archives.
  2. Handybook for Genealogists: United States of America, 10th ed. (Draper, Utah: Everton Pub., 2002), Wayne, Tennessee page 644, At various libr40ries (WorldCat); FHL Book 973 D27e 2002.
  3. The Handybook for Genealogists: United States of America, 10th ed. (Draper, UT: Everton Publishers, 2002), 644. (FHL Collection Ref Book 973 D27e 2002). WorldCat entry.
  4. Voice of Lynnae Weller, Kingsport, Tenn. (2010).
  5. Voice of Gene Black, FamilySearch employee, former resident of Bristol, Tenn. (2010).
  6. Lost Records: Courthouse Fires and Disasters in Tennessee in Tennessee State Library and Archives in Tennessee Secretary of State (accessed 31 March 2014).
  7. *Waldrep, G.C. "'Free Colored' Heads of Household in the 1820 Tennessee Census," available online, courtesy: Free African Americans website.
  8. The Heritage Quest Online version of PERSI aided in the compilation of this list.
  9. 9.0 9.1 Genealogical Society of Utah, Parish and Vital Records List (July 1998). Microfiche. Digital version at https://www.familysearch.org/learn/wiki/en/images/6/64/Igitennessees.pdf.



 

Need additional research help? Contact our research help specialists.

Need wiki, indexing, or website help? Contact our product teams.


Did you find this article helpful?

You're invited to explain your rating on the discussion page (you must be signed in).

  • This page was last modified on 10 November 2014, at 22:48.
  • This page has been accessed 32,384 times.