Weakley County, TennesseeEdit This Page
From FamilySearch Wiki
United States
Tennessee
Weakley County
Weakley County, Tennessee genealogy and family history research page. Guide to Weakley County (established 1870) genealogy, history, and courthouse sources including birth records, marriage records, death records, census records, wills, deeds and land records, Civil War records, Revolutionary War records, family histories, cemeteries, churches, tax records, newspapers, and obituaries.
| Weakley County, Tennessee | |
| Map | |
![]() Location of Tennessee in the U.S. | |
| Facts | |
| Founded | October 21, 1823 |
|---|---|
| County Seat | Dresden |
| Courthouse | |
| Address | Weakley County Courthouse] 1 Courthouse Square #107 PO Box 587 Dresden, TN 38225 Phone: 1-731-364-2285 Weakley County Website |
Quick Dates
Weakley County's civil records start the following years:[1]
| Birth | Marriage | Death | Census | Land | Probate |
| 1925 | 1843 | 1908 | 1830 | 1822 | 1828 |
County Courthouse
Weakley County Courthouse
1 Courthouse Square #107 PO Box 587
Dresden, TN 38225
Phone: 1-731-364-2285
County Clerk has marriage records from 1840 and probate records from 1828.
Clerk Circuit Court has divorce records.
Register of Deeds has land records. [2]
Weakley County Clerk
Marriage and probate records
116 W. Main St., Room 104
P.O. Box 587
Dresden, TN 38225
Phone: 1-731-364-2285
Weakley County Register of Deeds
Land records
116 W. Main St., Room 102
P.O. Box 45
Dresden, TN 38225
Phone: 1-731-364-3646
Weakley County Circuit Court Clerk
Court records
116 West Main St.
Dresden, TN 38225
Phone: 1-731-364-3455
Hours:
Mon.-Fri. 8 a.m.-4:30 p.m.
History
West Tennessee county.
The county is named after Robert Weakley (1764-1845), Tennessee representative in the House of Representatives and later Tennessee Senator.[3]
Parent County
1823--Weakley County was established 21 October 1823 from Chickasaw Indian Lands, temporarily subdivided as Tennessee surveyor districts 12 and 13. Organized in 1825.
County seat: Dresden [4]
County Pronunciation
- Hear it spoken[5] (female)
- Hear it spoken[6] (male)
Boundary Changes
"Rotating Formation Tennessee County Boundary Maps" (1777-1985) may be viewed for free at the My Tennessee Genealogy website. They rely on AniMap 3.0 software.
Record Loss
1948--Fire damaged recordsAt the 1948 fire, a large number of chancery and circuit court files were discarded. They passed into the keeping of a private citizen, and in 1995 the files were given to the University of Tennessee at Martin, where they constitute MS 4 and MS 2, respectively. cf. http://www.utm.edu/departments/library/specollections/ (2010 Jul 31). Both collections have since been filmed by the FHL.
- Lost census: 1890
- Lack of marriage records: 1825 to 1842
- Lost probate records: 1825 to 1827
For further information on researching in burned counties, see the following:
- Arlene Eakle, When the Records are Gone in Tennessee Genealogy Blog
- Burned Counties Research in FamilySearch Wiki
- Michael John Neill, Burned Counties in Family History Circle
Places/Localities
Populated Places
Cities: Greenfield
Towns: Dresden, Gleason, Martin, Sharon
Other places:
| Austin Springs | Gardner | Mount Herman | Ruthville |
| Beech Grove | Glasgow (hist.) | Mount Pelia | Sandhill |
| Brundige | Hyndsver | Ore Springs | Sidonia |
| Crowley Store | Jewell | Palmersville | Staffords Store |
| Dukedom | Kimery | Pillowville | Terrell |
| Dunlap (hist.) | Latham | Pisgah | Tumbling |
| Fancy | Liberty | Ralston | West Union |
Neighboring Counties
Resources
Getting Started
Use the free Search for Surnames at Mountain Press's website to quickly search a variety of published Weakley County biography, cemetery, history, military, and probate records. To determine which books are being searched, or to search each publication's index individually, click here. You are now equipped with a checklist of books to pull off the shelves at a genealogy library, or a wish list for your personal book collection.
Research Guides
- Genealogical "Fact Sheets" About Tennessee Counties: Weakley County, courtesy: TSLA. (Identifies published county histories, published local records, census records, newspapers and local records on microfilm, and select manuscripts.)
African American
United States African Americans
Tennessee African Americans
Cemeteries
Tennessee cemetery records often identify birth, death, relationship, and military information, as well as religious affiliation.
The Tennessee Cemeteries page provides explanations of the following online resources:
| Bibliographies | Online Gravestone Transcriptions | Cemetery Gazetteers |
| FHLC | Find A Grave | national search | county list | ePodunk |
| WorldCat | TNGenWeb Cemetery Database | |
| USGenWeb Tombstone Transcription Project |
- Daughters of the American Revolution, James Buckley Chapter (Sharon, Tennessee) Weakley County, Tennessee cemetery listings Sharon, Tennessee : Daughters of the American Revoluation, James Buckley Chapter, 1980. FHL US/CN book 976.824 V3w volume 1 and 2 Free lookups available!
Census
| Historical populations | ||
|---|---|---|
| Census | Pop. | %± |
| 1830 | 4,797 | — |
| 1840 | 9,870 | 105.8% |
| 1850 | 14,608 | 48.0% |
| 1860 | 18,216 | 24.7% |
| 1870 | 20,755 | 13.9% |
| 1880 | 24,538 | 18.2% |
| 1890 | 28,955 | 18.0% |
| 1900 | 32,546 | 12.4% |
| 1910 | 31,929 | −1.9% |
| 1920 | 31,053 | −2.7% |
| 1930 | 29,262 | −5.8% |
| 1940 | 29,498 | 0.8% |
| 1950 | 27,962 | −5.2% |
| 1960 | 24,227 | −13.4% |
| 1970 | 28,827 | 19.0% |
| 1980 | 32,896 | 14.1% |
| 1990 | 31,972 | −2.8% |
| 2000 | 34,895 | 9.1% |
| Source: "American FactFinder". United States Census Bureau. | ||
See Tennessee Population Schedule Indexes: Fiche, Film, or Book for more information about statewide printed indexes.
See Weakley County, Tennessee census assignments, including links to transcribed files. [The USGenWeb Census Project®].
1840 Pensioners
- A Census of Pensioners for Revolutionary or Military Services: With their Names, Ages, and Places of Residence, as Returned by the Marshalls of the Several Judicial Districts, Under the Act for Taking the Sixth Census. 1841; reprint, Baltimore, Md.: Genealogical Publishing, 1967. FHL US/CAN Book 973 X2pc 1840; FHL US/CAN Film 2321. 1841 edition digitized by the U.S. Census Bureau and Google books et. al. [See Tennessee, Western District, Weakley County on page 159.]
1850
- Porch, Deane Weakley County, Tennessee 1850 census Fort Worth, Texas : Miran Publishers, [197-?] FHL Book 976.824 X2
1870
- Schrupp, MaryCarol Drewry Catron 1870 U.S. census and more, Weakley County, Tennessee : transcribed from Microcopy 593, Vol. 31, Roll 1570, National Archives and Records Service Memphis, Tennessee : Kinfolks Press, c2001 FHL US/CAN book 976.824 X2
1890 - Lost, but substitutes are available:
- Reed, Sue S. Enumeration of Male Inhabitants of Twenty-one Years of Age and Upward, Citizens of Tennessee, January 1, 1891, as Provided for by an Act of General Assembly of Tennessee, Passed January 15, 1891, and Approved January 22, 1891. 8 vols. Houston, Texas: S.S. Reed, 1989. FHL US/CAN Book 976.8 X2r v. 2 1891. [Weakley County is included in Vol. 3.]
- Sistler, Byron H. and Barbara Sistler. 1890 Civil War Veterans Census, Tennessee. Evanston, Ill.: Byron Sister and Associates, 1978. FHL US/CAN Book 976.8 X2s 1890.
Church
Church records include baptisms, marriages and burials, as well as information about family members and clues about family migration. For additional information about church records, religions, and religious archives in Tennessee, see Tennessee Church Records.
- Weakley County Church Records
- - Family History Library Catalog - Weakley County Church Records
- Church histories tell when a church started in the area, who the early members were, give data about church leaders, etc.
- - Family History Library Catalog - Weakley County Church History
- If the records you need are not through the Family History Library, contact the church(es) in the area where your ancestor lived. Two sites that give information about churches in Weakley County are:
- - List of Weakley County churches with addresses and phone numbers (Yellowbook)
- - List of Weakley County churches (TN HomeTownLocator)
Baptist
- [1824-1969] Macedonia Primitive Baptist Church Records. Weakley County, 1824-1969. Manuscript. TSLA Reel #288.
- [1824-1900] Sistler, Byron and Barbara Sistler. Vital Statistics from 19th Century Tennessee Church Records. Nashville: Sitler and Associates, 1979. vol. 2 FHL 976.8 K29s Index to original Macedonia Primitive Baptist Church Records. Weakley County, 1824-1969.
The Church of Jesus Christ of Latter-day Saints
LDS Pioneers from Weakley County include:
- Randolph Alexander (1802-1879) who married Myrza Nix Alexander there in 1830 and later settled in Utah.
- Catherine Ellen (Camp) Greer (1837-1929), who was born there and married in Salt Lake City in 1855.
Court
DNA
DNA has been collected from men claiming descent from the following Weakley County residents. Attempts have not been made to verify the lineages of those tested.- [Brown] Descendant of Charles Brown, b. 1826 Dickson County, Tennessee, d. 1909 Weakley County, Tennessee. Y-DNA 67 Marker Test, FTDNA (Kit 68374). Genetic signature available online (labeled Group No. 20), genealogical description available online, courtesy: Brown/Browne/Braun DNA Study. Matches have been found.
Family Histories
It is anticipated that this bibliography will eventually identify all known family histories published about residents of this county. Use this list to:
- Locate publications about direct ancestors
- Find the most updated accounts of an ancestor's family
- Identify publications, to quote Elizabeth Shown Mills, about an ancestor's "FAN Club" [Friends, Associates, and Neighbors]
General
As of August 2010, a query for persons born in Weakley, Tennessee at World Connect, results in more than 40,000 entries.
- Vaughan, Virginia C. History and Families, Weakley County, Tennessee, 1823-1998. Paducah, Ky.: Turner Pub. Co., 1999. FHL US/CAN Book 976.824 H2vv.
Bibliography
- [Alexander] Bartholomew, Jewel A. Randolph and Myrza Nix Alexander: Early Pioneers of Utah. Orem, Utah: J.A. Bartholomew, 1997, 1999. Digital version at FamilySearch Books Online.
- [Alexander] Martin, James D. The Story of Milo Andrus: With a Brief History of His Wives and Pioneer Children. Ogden, Utah: J.D. Martin, 2000. FHL Collection 921.73 An29m
- [Barger] Smith, Gordon Edward. Barger: Family Records of the Barger's of Weakley County, Tennessee. Florence, Ala.: G.E. Smith, 1984. FHL Collection 1307616 Item 41
- [Bradberry] Litchman, William M. "Using Cluster Methodology to Backtrack an Ancestor: The Case of John Bradberry," National Genealogical Society Quarterly, Vol. 95, No. 2 (June 2007):103-116. FHL Collection 973 B2ng v. 95 (2007)
- [Brown] Brown, Garry S. The Descendants of Charles Brown of Weakley County, Tennessee. Albuquerque, New Mexico: Garry S. Brown, 2007. FHL Collection 929.273 B812bga
- [Buckley] Murphy, Patricia Lee. "Buckley Family Abstracts," Virginia Genealogical Society Quarterly, Vol. 20, No. 4 (Oct.-Dec. 1982):156-160. Digital version at Ancestry ($).
- [Buckley] Buckley, Shirley Gray. The Buckley Family Genealogy: A Genealogical History of the Descendants of James Buckley. Martin, Tenn.: S.G. Buckley, 1987. FHL Collection 929.273 B856bs
- [Caldwell] Origin and History of the Name of Caldwell: with Biographies of All the Most Noted Persons of that Name: and an Account of the Origin of Surnames and Forenames Together with Men and Women and Their Significance: The Crescent Family Record. Chicago, Ill.: American Publishers' Association, 1906, page 45. Digital version at Heritage Quest Online ($).
- [Caldwell] Green, Charles R. The Isaac Haskins Family History and Genealogy. Olathe, Kansas: Printed by the Register Pub. Co., 1911, page 45. Digital version at Heritage Quest Online ($).
- [Camp] Rhoton, Jo. The Greer Trail. West Point, Utah: J. Rhoton, 2001. FHL Collection 1573646 Item 5
- [Cantrell] Whitley, Edythe Johns Rucker. Cantrell-Potter-Magness: Ancestry of Alvin Edward Potter, Sr. Nashville, Tenn.: n.p., 1938, page 17. Digital version at Heritage Quest Online ($).
- [Clark] Gilbert, Thomas Graves. Francis Clark of Louisa County, Virginia: and His Descendants in Carroll County, Tennessee: Family Members of Michael Clark of England and Barbados and His Son Francis Clark of Louisa County, Virginia, the Migration of His Sons to Anson County, North Carolina and Descendants to Henry Weakley and Carroll Counties of Tennessee. Baltimore, Md.: Gateway Press, 2004. FHL Collection 929.273 C547gt
- [Clayton] Clayton, Claud Franklin. Family Notes and Recollections. Knoxville, Tenn.: n.p., 1959. FHL Collection 929.273 C579cfc
- [Collier] Boaz, T.D. The Family of R.H. Boaz: A Record of the Descendants of Richard Harris Boaz (1845-1918). McLean, Va.: n.p., 1973, page 24. Digital version at Heritage Quest Online ($).
- [Craig] Craig, Marion Stark. John Craig and Some Descendants, 1773-1976. Little Rock, Ark.: n.p., 1967. Digital version at Heritage Quest Online ($).
- [Dickson] Dickson, Joseph Lawrence. The Journal of Joseph Lawrence Dickson. Fayetteville, Ark.: Washington County Historical Society, 1956. Digital version at Heritage Quest Online ($).
- [Dudley] Stephens, Robert W. Life and Family of Charles Holland. Dallas, Texas: n.p., 1961, page 7. Digital version at Heritage Quest Online ($).
- [Edmonston] Johnston, Henry Poellnitz. Pioneers in Their Own Right. Birmingham, Ala.: Featon Press, 1964, pages 23-24. Digital version at Heritage Quest Online ($).
- [Francis] Boaz, Thurmond DeWitte and Roberta McDaniel Ellis. Mary Ann (Boaz) Francis (1798-1860) and Her Descendants. McLean, Va.: T.D. Boaz, Jr., 1993. FHL Collection 929.273 F847b
- [Gatewood] Mosley, Lillian Gatewood. Sweet Memories. Dresden?, Tenn.: L.G. Mosley, 1989. FHL Collection 929.273 G223m
- [Glasgow] Faulkner, Mava Yoachum. The Yoachums "And So the Story Goes." Oklahoma City, Oklahoma: M.Y. Faulkner, 1984?. FHL Collection 929.273 Y71fm
- [Julien] Craig, Marion Stark. John Craig and Some Descendants, 1773-1976. Little Rock, Ark.: n.p., 1967. Digital version at Heritage Quest Online ($).
- [Pointer] Robinson, R.D. [Genealogies and Bible Records Gathered by the Illinois Society, D.A.R., 1976-1977]. Ill.: The Society, 1977, pages 204, 221. Digital version at Heritage Quest Online ($).
- [Roberts] Roberts, Raiford Ashley. Genealogy Notes and Research, ca. 1600-1980. MSS., Midland Genealogical Society. FHL Collection 1697529 Item 3-1697530 Item 1
- [Roberts] Roberts: Transcript of Bible Records, 1876-1949. Typescript, microfilmed in 1977. FHL Collection 982434 Item 26
- [Slemons] Riedel, Julia Slemons. Brigadier General William F. Slemons, C.S.A.: His Ancestors and Descendants. Kansas City, Missouri: J. Riedel, 1992. FHL Collection 929.273 SL26r
- [Tipton] Tipton, Dean. Tipton, Luke. Seal Beach, Calif.: n.p., 1964, page 15. Digital version at Heritage Quest Online ($).
- [White] Johnston, Henry Poellnitz. Pioneers in Their Own Right. Birmingham, Ala.: Featon Press, 1964. Digital version at Heritage Quest Online ($).
Land
- Weakley County Register of Deeds has Land Records from 1823 and is located at the Courthouse, P.O. Box 587, Dresden, Tennessee 38225; Telephone: (731) 364-2285. Land and property records include transfer of real estate or personal property, mortgages, leases, surveys, and entries.
- Willis, Laura. Weakley County, Tennessee, Register Survey Books, Volume 2 [1784-1857]. Melber, KY: Simmons Historical, 1996. Available at FHL US/CAN Book 976.824 R29w. Digital version available at World Vital Records ($). Available for purchase at Simmons Historical Publications.
- The Family History Library has microfilm copies of deeds 1822-1900 with indexes 1822-1908; grant books 1794-1844; land entry taker books 1820-1847; and surveyors' books 1789-1857.
Law and Legislation
- Tennessee State Library and Archives, Acts of Tennessee 1796-1850: Index to Names. January 25, 2005. [In addition to creating new laws, legislative acts were often required to obtain a divorce, grant legitimacy to a child, or for appointments to or grant payments for public service.] TSLA has created an index to names that appear in these acts covering the years 1796 to 1850. To read more about this valuable resource Click here. The searchable index is available at TSLA; another version is available at World Vital Records.
Local Histories
Maps
- Vowell, Mary K. and Daughters of the American Colonists. Isaac Dawson Chapter. Neighbors in Weakley County, Tennessee, a Land Ownership Map, 1827-1833: Compiled from Weakley County, Tennessee's Occupant Entry Book. Oak Ridge, Tenn.: High Tech Print, 1985. FHL US/CAN Book 976.824 R2v.
Military
Revolutionary War
The following Weakley County Revolutionary War records are available online through TNGenWeb:
- 1835 Pension Roll
- 1852 Rejected or Suspended Pensions
- Revolutionary War Soldiers who lived in Weakley County, Tennessee Includes some pension applications.
Additional resources include:
- A Census of Pensioners for Revolutionary or Military Services: With their Names, Ages, and Places of Residence, as Returned by the Marshalls of the Several Judicial Districts, Under the Act for Taking the Sixth Census. 1841; reprint, Baltimore, Md.: Genealogical Publishing, 1967. FHL US/CAN Book 973 X2pc 1840; FHL US/CAN Film 2321. 1841 edition digitized by the U.S. Census Bureau and Google books et. al. [See Tennessee, Western District, Weakley County on page 159.]
- Rejected or Suspended Applications for Revolutionary War Pensions. Washington, D.C., 1852. Reprinted by Genealogical Publishing Co., Inc., 1969, and 1991. Reprints include "an Added Index to States." Digital version at Ancestry ($). Tennessee entries abstracted online at Tennesseans in the Revolutionary War, courtesy: TNGenWeb. [Includes veterans from this county; Tennessee section begins on page 381.]
War of 1812
- Embry, Hermione D. "War of 1812 - Tennessee Pensioners on List - January 2, 1883," Ansearchin' News, Vol. 8, No. 3 (Jul. 1961):95-98; Vol. 8, No. 4 (Oct. 1961):122-124. FHL US/CAN Book 976.8 B2a v. 8 (1961); digital version at journal website. [Includes Weakley County pensioners (pp. 122-123).]
- Weakley County Settlers who served in the War of 1812 Courtesy:TNGenWeb
Civil War
Civil War service men from Weakley County served in various regiments. Men often joined a regiment or a company (within a regiment) that originated in their county. Listed below are the military units that were formed in or had many men from Weakley County.
Confederate Soldiers
- 4th Regiment, Tennessee Infantry (Neely's) - CSA - Company B.
- 7th Regiment, Tennessee Cavalry (Duckworth's) - CSA - Company H.
- 9th Regiment, Tennessee Infantry - CSA - Company G.
- 15th Regiment, Tennessee Infantry - CSA - Company A.
- 20th Regiment, Tennessee Cavalry (Russell's) - CSA - Company I.
- 22nd Regiment, Tennessee Cavalry (Barteau's) - CSA - 2nd Company H.
- 27th Regiment, Tennessee Infantry - CSA - Company H.
- 31st Regiment, Tennessee Infantry (A. H. Bradford's) - CSA - Company A, I and K.
- 33rd Regiment, Tennessee Infantry - CSA - Company H.
- 52nd Regiment, Tennessee Infantry - CSA - Companies E and G.
Union Soldiers
- 1st Regiment, West Tennessee Cavalry
- 6th Regiment, Tennessee Cavalry - Companies I, K, L and M.
- 7th Regiment, Tennessee Infantry - Companies A, B, C and D.
Additional sources for Civil War soldiers from Weakley County:
- Lynn, H.M. H.M. Lynn Papers, 1858-1882. Southern Historical Collection, Manuscripts Dept., Wilson Library, The University of North Carolina at Chapel Hill. Free digital copy. 9th Tennessee Regiment, Company C.
- USGenWeb Archives, Weakley County Tennessee Archives, (accessed 1 Feb 2012). Military records.
- Tennessee State Library and Archives, Tennessee Confederate Pension Applications : Weakley County, (accessed 1 Feb 2012). Includes soldier's name, county, pension #, unit or widow.
- United States Pension Bureau, List of Pensioners on the Roll January 1, 1883: Giving the Name of Each Pensioner, the Cause for ... (Washington Printing Office; 1883), (accessed 1 Feb 2012). Online at Internet Archive. Weakley County, page 385.
- The War of Aggression - The War of Rebellion, Weakley County, Tennessee, (accessed 1 Feb 2012). Confederate and Union records.
- Findagrave, Weakley County Civil War CSA Veterans, (accessed 1 Feb 2012).
- Confederate Monument in Dresden Tennessee, "In honor of Confederate Soldiers of Weakley County"
- THE WAR IN WEAKLEY COUNTY by Joe W. Stout, (accessed 1 Feb 2012).
Newspapers
- Campus Chatter: An Alumni Newsletter of The University of Tennessee Junior College, 1943-1946
- The Dresden Enterprise, Weakley County, Tennessee, Volume 13. Covers from 1 Sep 1904 to 16 Dec 1904. Digital version available at World Vital Records ($). Free lookups available for obituaries in the Dresden Enterprise.
- Willis, Laura Willis and Betty Sellers. Weakley County, Tennessee, Newspaper Abstracts. Melber, KY: Simmons Historical Pub., 1998. 12 volumes. Available at FHL US/CAN Book 976.824 B3w. Digital versions of selected volumes 1-10 are available at World Vital Records ($): Volume 1; Volume 2; Volume 3; Volume 5; Volume 6; Volume 7; Volume 8; Volume 9; and Volume 10. Available for purchase at Simmons Historical Publications.
- Many Tennessee newspapers are filmed and available at TSLA. Most of these newspapers may be accessed by interlibrary loan to libraries within Tennessee, although there are some newspapers which are not available in or outside of Tennessee. For further information regarding interlibrary loan policies and newspapers not available for interlibrary loan click here. For a list of newspapers available at the archives for Weakley County click on the following cities or towns:
Occupations
- Miller, Alan N. West Tennessee's Forgotten Children: Apprentices from 1821 to 1889. Baltimore, Md.: Printed for Clearfield Company, Inc., by Genealogical Publishing Co., Inc., 2006. FHL US/CAN 976.8 U2man. Purchase at Genealogical.com. [Includes Weakley County.]
Periodicals
Tap into the minds of local experts. Editors of genealogical periodicals publish unique sources that researchers who are new to their area would not likely discover. This type of material may be found in local, regional, or statewide genealogical society journals. The following periodicals cover this county:
- Ansearchin' News
- Genealogical articles with abstracts of Weakley County, Tennessee records have been published in Ansearchin' News, the quarterly magazine of the Tennessee Genealogical Society. To view a list of these articles, visit their county index. To read digitized versions of the first 36 years of articles (Vols. 1-36), browse their archive or conduct a surname search. The Family History Library has a complete collection of the Ansearchin' News quarterly FHL Book 976.8 B2a.
- Family Findings
- Genealogical articles with abstracts of Weakley County, Tennessee records have been published in Family Findings, the quarterly of the Mid-West Tennessee Genealogical Society (42+ vols.). The Family History Library has most issues of this quarterly FHL US/CAN 976.8 B2f.
- Tables of contents for some volumes are available online, courtesy: TNGenWeb Project:
- Many articles from this publication have been reproduced on the TNGenWeb Project website, try this specialized Google search to retrieve them.
- Forget Me Not
- Publication of the Weakley County Genealogical Society. The Family History Library has a complete collection (1982-present): FHL US/CAN Books 976.824 B2f.
Indexed in PERiodical Source Index (PERSI)
For further information see website: http://www.rootsweb.ancestry.com/~tnweakle/genealogical_society.htm - West Tennessee Historical Society Papers
- Family History Library has Volumes 1 - 16 and 30 FHL US/CAN Book 976.81 B5w.
The West Tennessee Historical Society Papers are indexed in PERiodical Source Index (PERSI)
To view Table of Contents and complete articles from 1947 - 2005 see Shelby County Register of Deeds
Prisons
Learn if your Weakley County, Tennessee ancestors went to prison!
- Inmates of the Tennessee State Penitentiary 1831-1850, free index available online through TSLA.
- Inmates of the Tennessee State Penitentiary 1851-1870, free index available online through TSLA.
Probate
The County Court, Circuit Court, and Chancery Court have responsibility for the probate records of Weakley County.
FamilySearch has placed scans of the following records online in the Tennessee, Probate Court Books, 1795-1927 collection. These are browse-only collections. Handwritten indexes may be found at the front or back of some volumes:
- Court records, 1828-1902 (16 vols.)
- Dockets, 1868-1884
- Minutes, 1827-1902 (20 vols.)
The organization Strictly By Name provides free online indexes to early Weakley County probate records. They offer a record retrieval service to photocopy and transcribe microfilm copies of the original documents for a small fee. Available indexes:
The following Weakley County probate records have been abstracted, indexed, or both:
- [1828-1861] Sistler, Byron and Barbara Sistler. Index to Tennessee Wills & Administrations 1779-1861. Nashville, Tenn. Byron Sistler & Associates, Inc., 1990. FHL US/CAN 976.8 P22s. [Includes an index to this county's probate records.]
- [1828-1900] Willis, Laura. Weakley County, Tennessee Wills & Administrations. Melber, Kentucky: Simmons Historical Pub., 1998, 2004. 4 volumes. Available at FHL US/CAN Book 976.824 P2w. Digital versions of selected volumes available at World Vital Records ($): Volume 1 1828-1853 and Volume 2 1851-1875.
- USGenWeb's Weakley County page has links to some estate settlements and transcribed wills.
Taxation
The original Weakley County Tax Books 1842-1874 are kept at the County Courthouse. In 1976, TSLA microfilmed these records. FHL copies: FHL US/CAN Films 1003115-1003116.
The organization Strictly By Name provides free online indexes to early Weakley County tax records. They offer a record retrieval service to photocopy and transcribe microfilm copies of the original documents for a small fee. Available index:
The following Weakley County tax records have been abstracted:[7]
- [1828] Tax List, 1828, Tennessee Researcher, Vol. 2, No. 3 (Sep. 1963); Vol. 2, No. 4 (Dec. 1963).
- [1828-1832] Simmons, Don and Laura Willis. Weakley County Tax List 1828-1832. Melber, Ky.: Simmons Historical Pub., 1996. FHL US/CAN Book 976.824 R4w. Purchase at Simmons Historical Bookstore.
- [1828] Weakley County 1828 Tax List, available online, courtesy: Strictly By Name.
- [1842] Brooks, Walter. "1842 Tax List of Weakley County," available online, courtesy: RootsWeb.
- [1843] Brooks, Walter. "1843 Tax List of Weakley County," available online, courtesy: RootsWeb.
- [1844] Brooks, Walter. "1844 Tax List of Weakley County," available online, courtesy: RootsWeb.
- [1845] Brooks, Walter. "1845 Tax List of Weakley County," available online, courtesy: RootsWeb.
- [1846] Brooks, Walter. "1846 Tax List of Weakley County," available online, courtesy: RootsWeb.
- [1847] Brooks, Walter. "1847 Tax List of Weakley County," available online, courtesy: RootsWeb.
- [1848] Brooks, Walter. "1848 Tax List of Weakley County," available online, courtesy: RootsWeb.
- [1849] Brooks, Walter. "1849 Tax List of Weakley County," available online, courtesy: RootsWeb.
- [1850] Brooks, Walter. "1850 Tax List of Weakley County," available online, courtesy: RootsWeb.
- [1869] Carol, Mary. "1869 Tax List of Weakley County," available online, courtesy: RootsWeb.
- [1889] Weakley County Tax List 1889. Purchase at Simmons Historical Bookstore.
- [1890] Weakley County Tax List 1890. Purchase at Simmons Historical Bookstore.
- [1890] Weakley County 1890 Tax List. Purchase at Simmons Historical Bookstore.
Vital Records
Birth
- Willis, Laura. Weakley County, Tennessee, Vital Statistics, 1908 - 1912. Melber, KY: Simmons Historical Pub., 1997. Available at FHL US/CAN Book 976.824 V2wL. Digital version available at World Vital Records. [Contains births and deaths. Includes surname index.]
Marriage
Marriages were not officially recorded in Weakley County until after 1838, when a law was passed mandating the practice.[8] The following publication, based on early newspapers, helps to alleviate this genealogical obstacle:
- Lucas, Silas Emmett. Marriages from Early Tennessee Newspapers 1794-1851. Easley, S.C.: Southern Historical Press, 1978. FHL US/CAN Book 976.8 V2L.
- For free lookups of Weakley County, Tennessee marriages 1863-1886 click here.
The following Weakley County Courthouse marriage records have been indexed:
- [1838-1867] Sistler, Byron and Barbara Sistler. Early West Tennessee Marriages. 2 vols. Nashville, Tenn.: B. Sistler & Associates, 1989. FHL US/CAN Book 976.8 V2sb v. 1 ff. [Indexes names of brides and grooms, and marriage or marriage bond dates for weddings in this county for the specified years.]
- 1843-1895 - Weakley County Marriage Index 1843-1895 in International Genealogical Index at FamilySearch - free.[9]
- [1843-1974] Weakley County, Tennessee County Court Clerk Marriage records (Weakley County, Tennessee), 1843-1974 Nashville, Tennessee : Filmed by the Tennessee State Library and Archives, 1976-1988. FHL US/CAN Film 988668-70, 988737-39, 1928865-72, 988740-46,
- [1843-1886] Willis, Laura. Weakley County, Tennessee, Marriage Records [1843-1886]. Melber, Kentucky: Simmons-Historical, 1996, 2001. 5 volumes. Available at FHL US/CAN Book 976.824 V2wc. Simmons Historical Publications.
- [1843-1863, 1878-1886] Weakley County Genealogical Society (Martin, Tennessee) and Lucille Adams Smith Weakley County, Tennessee, marriage records Martin, Tennessee : Weakley County Genealogical Society, 1980-1998. FHL US/CAN Book 976.824 V2w volumes 1-3
- [[1846-1854] Historical Records Project (Tennessee) Marriage records, 1846-1854, Weakley County, Tennessee Salt Lake City, Utah : Filmed by the Genealogical Society of Utah, 1940. FHL US/CAN Film 24860 item 1
- [1854-1865] Willis, Laura. Weakley County Marriage Books Vol. 2 1854-1865. Kentucky: Simmons Historical Publications. Digital version available at World Vital Records. Available for purchase at Simmons Historical Publications.
- [1886-1893] Weakley County Marriage Books Vol. 6 1886-1893. Kentucky: Simmons Historical Publications. Digital version available at World Vital Records. Available for purchase at Simmons Historical Publications.
- [1893-1898] Weakley County Marriage Books Vol. 7 1893-1898. Kentucky: Simmons Historical Publications. Digital version available at World Vital Records. Available for purchase at Simmons Historical Publications.
- Tennessee County Marriages, 1790-1950 - covers all counties in Tennessee.
- Many county marriage records are indexed with images at Ancestry's Tennessee State Marriages, 1780-2002 ($). Be aware that this index is not complete for all counties.
Divorce
In 1940 and 1941, W.P.A. workers pinpointed the location of Weakley County divorce papers in diverse County Courthouse records, see:
- W.P.A. Guide to Public Vital Statistics in Tennessee. Nashville, Tenn.: The Tennessee Historical Records Survey, 1941. FHL US/CAN Book 976.8 A3gp.
Death
- Hays, Tony. West Tennessee Death Records [ca. 1823-1852]. 2 vols. n.p.: Kitchen Table Press, 1987. FHL FAM HIST Book 976.8 V2ht v. 1-2. [Weakley County is included in Vol. 1]
- Willis, Laura. Weakley County, Tennessee, Vital Statistics, 1908 - 1912. Melber, KY: Simmons Historical Pub., 1997. Available at FHL US/CAN Book 976.824 V2wL. Digital version available at World Vital Records. [Contains births and deaths. Includes surname index.]
- For free lookups of some death certificates up to 1948 click here.
For deaths of Methodists in Weakley County between the 1830s and the 1920s, try:
- Smith, Jonathan K.T. Genealogical Abstracts from Reported Deaths, the Nashville Christian Advocate. [1847-1914] 10 vols. [Jackson, Tenn.]: J.K.T. Smith, 1997-2003. FHL US/CAN Books 976.855/N1 V48s 1847-1851 ff; digital versions at David Donahue Memorial: Tennessee Records Repository. [Website expands upon the publications and includes deaths from the 1830s, 1840s, 1910s and 1920s.]
Societies and Libraries
| C.E. Weldon Public Library 100 Main St Martin, TN 38237 Phone: 1-731-587-3148 E-mail: weldonlib@charter.net Hours: Mon., Wed., Fri. 9:30 a.m.-5:30 p.m. Thurs. 9:30 a.m.-8 p.m. Sat. 9:30 a.m.-12 p.m. |
Genealogical Resources: The Weakley County Genealogical Society helps to maintain a collection of books, magazines, files, and microfilms located in the library's Tennessee Room. |
| Dr. Nathan Porter Public Library 228 N Front St. Greenfield, TN 38230 E-mail: readmore@charter.net Hours: Tues.-Fri 9 a.m.-5 p.m. Sat. 9 a.m.-12 p.m. |
|
| Gleason Memorial Library 105 College St Gleason, TN 38229 Phone: 1-731-648-9020 E-mail: gleasonml@bellsouth.net Hours: Mon.-Fri. 1-5 p.m. |
|
| Ned R. McWherter Weakley County Library 341 Linden St. Dresden, TN 38225 Phone: 1-731-364-2678 Hours: Mon.-Fri. 9 a.m.-5 p.m. |
|
| West Tennessee Historical Society P.O. Box 111046 Memphis, TN 38111 Phone 1-901-475-6608 E-mail: efrank@memphis.edu |
|
| Reelfoot Regional Library Center 542 N Lindell Martin, TN 38237 Phone: 1-731-587-2347 Hours: Mon.-Fri. 8 a.m.-4:30 p.m. |
|
| Sharon Public Library 123 E Main St Sharon, TN 38255 Phone: 1-731-456-2707 E-mail: sharonlibrary@frontiernet.net Hours: Tues.-Fri. 9 a.m.-4:45 p.m. Sat. 9 a.m.-12 p.m. Closed daily between 12-1 p.m. |
|
| West Tennessee Heritage Study Center Paul Meek Library University of Tennessee at Martin Phone: 1-731-881-7060 Hours vary by semester |
The Heritage Study Center holds a variety of genealogical resources including materials relating to the following counties in Tennessee: Benton, Carroll, Chester, Crockett, Decatur, Dyer, Fayette, Gibson, Hardin, Haywood, Henderson, Henry, Houston, Humphreys, Lake, Lauderdale, Madison, McNairy, Obion, Perry, Shelby, Stewart, Tipton, Wayne, Weakley and Carlisle, Fulton, and Hickman counties in Kentucky. |
Family History Centers
Weakley County Tennessee Genealogy Websites
- Family History Library Catalog (FamilySearch)
- Mailing List: TNWEAKLE-L (Weakley County, Tennessee List) (RootsWeb)
- Mailing List: WEST-TNCHAT-L (West Tennessee Chat List) (RootsWeb)
- Mailing List: WESTTN-L (West Tennessee List) (RootsWeb)
- Weakley County, TN History, Records, Facts and Genealogy (MyTennesseeGenealogy)
- Weakley County, TN Genealogy and Family History (Linkpendium)
- Weakley County, TN Family History and Genealogy Message Board (Ancestry)
- Weakley County, TN Genealogy Forum (GenForum)
- Weakley County, TNGenWeb (USGenWeb)
Weakley County Tennessee Genealogy References
- ↑ Guide to Public Vital Statistics in Tennessee. Nashville, Tenn.: The Tennessee Historical Records Survey (W.P.A.), 1941; "Earliest County Records," Tennessee State Library and Archives.
- ↑ Handybook for Genealogists: United States of America, 10th ed. (Draper, Utah: Everton Pub., 2002), Weakley, Tennessee page 644, At various libr40ries (WorldCat); FHL Book 973 D27e 2002.
- ↑ "List of counties in Tennessee," Wikipedia.
- ↑ The Handybook for Genealogists: United States of America, 10th ed. (Draper, UT: Everton Publishers, 2002), 644. (FHL Collection Ref Book 973 D27e 2002). WorldCat entry.
- ↑ Voice of Lynnae Weller, Kingsport, Tenn. (2010).
- ↑ Voice of Gene Black, FamilySearch employee, former resident of Bristol, Tenn. (2010).
- ↑ The Heritage Quest Online version of PERSI aided in the compilation of this list.
- ↑ Gale Williams Bamman, C.G., "Research in Tennessee," National Genealogical Society Quarterly, Vol. 81, No. 2 (June 1993):105. FHL US/CAN Book 973 B2ng v. 81 (1993)
- ↑ Genealogical Society of Utah, Parish and Vital Records List (July 1998). Microfiche. Digital version at https://www.familysearch.org/learn/wiki/en/images/6/64/Igitennessees.pdf.
Need additional research help? Contact our research help specialists.
Need wiki, indexing, or website help? Contact our product teams.
Did you find this article helpful?
You're invited to explain your rating on the discussion page (you must be signed in).
- This page was last modified on 22 May 2013, at 01:28.
- This page has been accessed 9,177 times.
New to the Research Wiki?
In the FamilySearch Research Wiki, you can learn how to do genealogical research or share your knowledge with others.
Learn More



