Weaverham, CheshireEdit This Page

From FamilySearch Wiki

 England Gotoarrow.png Cheshire Gotoarrow.png Cheshire Parishes Gotoarrow.png Weaverham

Guide to Weaverham, Cheshire family history and genealogy: parish registers, transcripts, census records, birth records, marriage records, and death records.

Contents

Parish History

WEAVERHAM (St. Mary), is a parish, in the union of Northwich, Second division of the hundred of Eddisbury, South division of the county of Chester, 3¼ miles (W. by N.) from Northwich. This parish includes the townships of Acton, Crowton, Cuddington, Onston, and Wallerscoat. The Liverpool and Birmingham railway passes through the parish for about three miles. There are places of worship for Wesleyans and Primitive Methodists.[1]

Weaverham St Mary is an Ancient Parish and included Milton, Onston, Sandiway, Wallerscoat, Wallerscote, Weaverham Lordship, Acton, Crowton, Cuddington, and Gorstage.

A church was present on the site at the time of the Norman conquest. Edward I gave the advowson of the vicarage to Vale Royal Abbey. After the Dissolution of the Monasteries, this was given by Henry VIII to the Bishop of Chester. The west tower dates from the middle of the 15th century and the rest of the church from the 16th century.

Resources

Census records

Census records from 1841 to 1911 are available online. For access, see England Census Records and Indexes Online. Census records from 1841 to 1891 are also available on film through a Family History Center or at the Family History Library. The first film number is 241237.

Church records

Weaverham St Mary parish registers of christenings, marriages and burials have been indexed by the following groups:

BIVRI = British Isles Vital Records Index (Ancestry) - (£)[2]
CPR = Cheshire Parish Register Project - free[3]
FS PR's =FamilySearch Parish Registers
FS BT's = FamilySearch Bishops Transcripts
JOIN = The Joiner Marriage Index - (£)[4]
Weaverham St Mary Parish (1576) Online Records

Baptisms
Marriages
Burials

Indexes Images Indexes Images Indexes Images
BIVRI 1610-1906 (gaps)
1579-1837

CPR 1576-1871
1577-1871
1578-1871
FS PR's 1576-1905
  NONE
1577-1916
  NONE
1578-1925
  NONE
FS BT'S 1610-1909
  NONE
1610-1837
  NONE
1610-1925
  NONE
JOIN
1577-1837

Crowton Christ Church registers of christenings, marriages and burials are available online for the following years:

CROWTON Online Records

Baptisms
Marriages
Burials

Indexes Images Indexes Images Indexes Images
BIVRI 1871-1906


To find the names of the neighbouring parishes, use England Jurisdictions 1851. In this site, search for the name of the parish, click on the location "pin", click Options and click List contiguous parishes.

Parish registers for Weaverham, 1576-1925 Cheshire Record Office call number: P35/5228/1-17

Parish Registers Content FHL Film
Baptisms, marriages, burials, 1576-1618. Baptisms, marriages, 1697-1799. Births and burials, 1678-1759 BRITISH
1999958
Baptisms, 1800-1905. Marriages, 1754-1788. VAULT BRITISH
1999981
Marriages, 1788-1916. Burials, 1759-1846. BRITISH
1999982
Burials, 1846-1925 VAULT BRITISH
1999983 Item 1

Bishop's transcripts for Weaverham, 1579-1925 Records are not in strict chronological order. Some intermittent years are missing. Cheshire Record Office Call number: ECC/212

Bishop's transcripts Content FHL Film
Baptisms, marriages, burials, 1579, 1610-1615, 1617-1618, 1621-1630, 1639, 1658-1660, 1663-1676, 1678-1686, 1690-1704, 1706-1823.Baptisms, 1824. BRITISH
1736164 Item 2
Baptisms, marriages, burials, 1824-1828 BRITISH
1850240 Item 1
Burials, 1828. Baptisms, marriages, burials, 1829-1837. Baptisms, burials, 1838-1878, 1891-1912. BRITISH
1736165
Burials, 1912, baptisms, burials, 1913-1925. BRITISH
1736166 Item 1
Non-Conformist Churches

Acton Bridge, Methodist Chapel, Forest Road (Wesleyan). Built ca.1834, rebuilt in 1878.

Non-Conformist Records:

Chester Record Office call number EMS 310 Collection  Acton (Weaverham) Methodist Chapel 1898-1972 The chapel was built by the Wesleyan Methodists in Forest Road in 1878 next to an earlier chapel erected in c.1834. The first chapel was used by the Sunday School until new premises were built adjoining the new chapel in 1903.

Civil Registration

Birth, marriages and deaths were kept by the government, from 1 July 1837 to the present day. The civil registration article tells more about these records. Here are two excellent Internet sites with birth, marriage and death indexes available:

Registration Districts
  • Northwich (1837–1967)
  • Cheshire West

Poor Law Unions

  • Northwich

Probate records

Records of wills, administrations, inventories, indexes, etc. were filed by the court with jurisdiction over this parish. Go to Cheshire Probate Records to find the name of the court having primary jurisdiction. Scroll down in the article to the section Court Jurisdictions by Parish.

see also England Cheshire Probate Records (FamilySearch Historical Records)

Maps and Gazetteers

Maps are a visual look at the locations in England. Gazetteers contain brief summaries about a place.

Websites

References

  1. Samuel A. Lewis, A Topographical Dictionary of England (1848). Date Accessed: 16 April 2013
  2. 'British Isles Vital Records Index - 2nd Ed. Breakdown of Records', Genoot, accessed 14 October 2013.
  3. 'CPR Project Progress (As on 17 January 2014),' Cheshire Parish Register Project, accessed 1 February 2014.
  4. Cheshire Coverage, The Joiner Marriage Index, accessed 16 October 2013.

Contributor: Add any relevant sites that aren’t mentioned above

Bibliography

 Richards, Raymond (1947), Old Cheshire Churches, London: Batsford, pp. 345–348 
Salter, Mark (1995), The Old Parish Churches of Cheshire, Malvern: Folly Publications, pp. 78–79, ISBN 1871731232
Pevsner, Nikolaus; Edward Hubbard (2003) [1971], The Buildings of England: Cheshire, New Haven: Yale University Press, pp. 377–378, ISBN 0 300 09588 0

 

Need additional research help? Contact our research help specialists.

Need wiki, indexing, or website help? Contact our product teams.


Did you find this article helpful?

You're invited to explain your rating on the discussion page (you must be signed in).

  • This page was last modified on 12 April 2014, at 19:48.
  • This page has been accessed 1,513 times.