Webster County, IowaEdit This Page

From FamilySearch Wiki

United States Gotoarrow.png Iowa Gotoarrow.png Webster County

Guide to Webster County, Iowa ancestry, family history, and genealogy birth records, marriage records, death records, census records, family history, and military records.

Hand and keyboard.jpg Iowa
Online Records


Webster County, Iowa
Map
Map of Iowa highlighting Webster County
Location in the state of Iowa
Map of the U.S. highlighting Iowa
Location of Iowa in the U.S.
Facts
Founded January 15, 1851
County Seat Fort Dodge
Courthouse

Contents

County Courthouse

History

Parent County

1851--Webster County was created 15 January 1851 from Yell and Risley Counties. The named changed to Webster County 22 January 1853.  County seat: Fort Dodge [1]

Boundary Changes

For animated maps illustrating Iowa County boundary changes, "Rotating Formation Iowa County Boundary Maps" (1816-1872) may be viewed for free at the MapofUS.org website.

Record Loss

For a list of record loss in Iowa Counties see: Iowa Counties with Burned Courthouses

Places/Localities

Populated Places

Neighboring Counties

Boone • Calhoun • Greene • Hamilton • Humboldt • Pocahontas • Wright

Webster CountyHamilton CountyBoone CountyGreene CountyCalhoun CountyPocahontas CountyHumboldt CountyWright CountyFranklin CountyHardin CountyStory CountyPolk CountyDallas CountyGuthrie CountyAudubon CountyCarroll CountySac CountyBuena Vista CountyClay CountyPalo Alto CountyKossuth CountyHancock CountyCerro Gordo CountyIAWebster.JPG

Resources

Cemeteries

Church

Most church records are held by individual churches. For contact information, check a phone directory, such as SearchBug or Dex Knows. Some denominations are gathering their records into a central repository. For more information about these major repositories, see Iowa Church Records.


Lutheran

Badger Lutheran Church, Fort Dodge

  • Records of the Badger Lutheran Church, Fort Dodge, in Evangelical Lutheran Church in America database at Archives.com ($).

Callender

  • Records of the American Lutheran Church, Callender, in Evangelical Lutheran Church in America database at Archives.com ($).

Fort Dodge

  • Records of the American Lutheran Church, Fort Dodge, in Evangelical Lutheran Church in America database at Archives.com ($).

Webster County

  • Records of the American Lutheran Church, Webster County, in Evangelical Lutheran Church in America database at Archives.com ($).

Court

Land

Land and property records can place an ancestor in a particular location, provide economic information, and reveal family relationships. Land records include: deeds, abstracts and indexes, mortgages, leases, grants and land patents.

See Iowa Land and Property for additional information about early Iowa land grants. After land was transferred to private ownership, subsequent transactions were usually recorded at the county courthouse, where records are currently housed.


Local Histories 

Local histories are available for Webster County, Iowa. County histories may include biographies, church, school and government history, and military information. For more information about local histories, see the wiki page section Iowa Local Histories.


Maps

Military

Newspapers

Additional newspapers abstracts can sometimes be found using search phrases such as Webster County, Iowa newspapers in online catalogs like:


Probate

In most counties in Iowa, probate records have been kept by the county judge. They include wills, fee books, claim registers, legacy records, inheritance records, probate ticklers, and dockets. The records are available at the county courthouse.

The FamilySearch Catalog lists films of probate records. To find the records for this county, use the Place Search for Iowa - Webster - Probate records.


Taxation

Iowa tax records complement land records and can be used to supplement the years between censuses. Tax lists were usually made every year, however, there may be gaps of several years. For more information, see the wiki page Iowa Taxation.


Vital Records 

Vital Records consist of births, adoptions, marriages, divorces, and deaths recorded on registers, certificates, and documents. A copy or an extract of most original records can be purchased from the Iowa Department of Public Health or the County Clerk's office of the county where the event occurred. See also How to order Iowa Vital Records or order electronically online..


Societies and Libraries

See also a List of Iowa Archives, Libraries, Publications, Historical & Genealogical Societies

Family History Centers