Webster County, MissouriEdit This Page

From FamilySearch Wiki

United States Gotoarrow.png Missouri Gotoarrow.png Webster County

Guide to Webster County Missouri genealogy. Birth records, marriage records, death records, census records, family history, and military records.

Hand and keyboard.jpg Missouri
Online Records


Webster County, Missouri
Map
Map of the U.S. highlighting Missouri
Location of Missouri in the U.S.
Facts
Founded March 3, 1855
County Seat Marshfield
Courthouse
Address Webster County Courthouse
100 Crittenden Street
Marshfield, MO 65706
Phone: 417.468.2223
Webster County Website

Contents

County Courthouse


 

County Clerk has birth records 1883-1893
and death records 1883-1887; County Recorder
has marriage and land records; Clerk Circuit
Court has divorce and court records; Probate
Judge has probate records[1]

History

Parent County

1855--Webster County was created 3 March 1855 from Greene and Wright Counties. County seat: Marshfield [2]

Boundary Changes

For animated maps illustrating Missouri county boundary changes, "Rotating Formation Missouri County Boundary Maps" (1804-1889) may be viewed for free at the MapofUS.org website.

Record Loss Brief History

Webster County was organized on March 3, 1855 and encompasses 590 miles of the highest extensive upland area of Missouri's Ozarks. The judicial seat is Marshfield, which lies 1,490 feet above sea level. Webster County is the highest county seat in the state of Missouri. Pioneer Legislator John F. McMahan named the county and county seat for Daniel Webster, and his Marshfield, Massachusetts home.

Marshfield was laid out in 1856 by R. H. Pitts, on land that was given by C. F. Dryden and W. T. and B. F. T. Burford. Until a courthouse was built, the county business was conducted at Hazelwood; where Joseph W. McClurg, later governor of Missouri, operated a general store. Today's Carthage Marble courthouse was built in 1939-1941 and is the county's third.

During the Civil War, a small force of pro-southern State troops was driven out of Marshfield in February of 1862, and ten months later a body of confederates was routed east of town. On January 9, 1863, General Joseph O. Shelby's troops burned the stoutly built Union fortification at Marshfield and at Sand Springs, evacuated earlier. By 1862, the telegraph line passed near Marshfield on a route later called the "Old Wire Road."

In Webster County, straddling the divide between the Missouri and Arkansas rivers, rise the headwaters of the James, Niangua, Gasconade, and Pomme de Terre rivers. A part of the 1808 Osage Indian land cession, the county was settled in the early 1830's by pioneers from Kentucky and Tennessee. An Indian trail crossed southern Webster County and many prehistoric mounds are in the area.

The railroad-building boom of the post Civil War period stimulated the county's growth as a dairy, poultry, and livestock producer. The Atlantic & Pacific (Frisco) Railroad was built through Marshfield in 1872, and by 1883 the Kansas City, Springfield, and Memphis (Frisco) crossed the county. Seymour, Rogersville, Fordland and Niangua grew up along the railroad routes. Early schools in the county were Marshfield Academy, chartered in 1860, Mt. Dale Academy, opened in 1873; and Henderson Academy, chartered in 1879. Today, education is still at the forefront of the county's foundation.

Astronomer Edwin P. Hubble (1889-1953) was born in Marshfield and attended through the third grade in the public school system. A replica of the Hubble telescope sits in the courthouse yard and the Marshfield stretch of I-44 was named in his honor. The composition "Marshfield Cyclone" by the African-American musician John W. (Blind) Boone, gave wide publicity to the April 18, 1880 tornado which struck the town, killing 65 and doing $1 million worth of damage. The cyclone is still listed as one of the top ten natural disasters in the history of the nation.

Webster County also boasts the longest continuous county fair in the state of Missouri. Marshfield holds claim to the oldest Independence Day parade west of the Mississippi River. Former United States President, George Herbert Walker Bush and wife Barbara, visited the parade on July 4, 1991, while campaigning for the Presidency through Missouri.

The annual Seymour Apple Festival, established in 1973, has grown to one of Missouri's largest free celebrations, with estimated crowds of more than 30,000 congregating on the Seymour public square each second weekend of September.

The festival pays tribute to Seymour's apple industry, which began in the 1840s, leading the Seymour being called "The Land Of The Big Red Apple" around the turn of the 20th century, when Webster County produced more than 50 percent of the state's apple crop.

Featured at the annual three-day event are more than 10 musical acts, numerous competitions for people of all ages, as well as more than 150 craft vendors and food venues, featuring the festival's signature barbecued chicken. The festival is sponsored by the Seymour Merchants' Association and is staffed completely with volunteer labor from the community.

In 2006, the Marshfield Cherry Blossom Festival became an annual spring tradition. The festival, which is held the last weekend of April, highlights American History and the community project of planting Cherry Blossom trees. During the festival, six famous Missourians are honored with stars on the Missouri Walk of Fame (which is located in historic downtown Marshfield in front of the Webster County Museum) and the Edwin P. Hubble Medal of Initiative is presented annually as well.

The festival serves as a reunion for descendants of the American Presidents and a total of 26 Presidential administrations have been represented at one time. Booths, craftsmen, book signing, symposiums, music, lectures and numerous free historic events are featured throughout the Cherry Blossom weekend. Information about the festival can be obtained by visiting http://www.cherryblossomfest.com

For a list of record loss in Missouri counties see: Missouri Counties with Burned Courthouses

Places / Localities

Populated Places

These are incorporated cities in Webster County, Missouri:
Diggins
Fordland
Marshfield
NIagua
Rogersville
Seymour

Neighboring Counties

Christian  • Dallas  • Douglas  • Greene  • Laclede  • Wright

Wright CountyTexas CountyPulaski CountyDallas CountyPolk CountySt. Clair CountyCedar CountyGreene CountyLawrence CountyBarry CountyStone CountyDade CountyChristian CountyTaney CountyDouglas CountyOzark CountyHickory CountyCamden CountyLaclede CountyWebster CountyMOWebster.JPG


Resources

Biographies

Cemeteries

BillionGraves:

Census

For tips on accessing Webster County, Missouri census records online, see: Missouri Census.

Church

Church records and the information they provide vary significantly depending on the denomination and the record keeper. They may contain information about members of the congregation, such as age, date of baptism, christening, or birth; marriage information and maiden names; and death date. For general information about Missouri denominations, view the Missouri Church Records wiki page.

Court

Land

Land and property records can place an ancestor in a particular location, provide economic information, and reveal family relationships. Land records include: deeds, abstracts and indexes, mortgages, leases, grants and land patents.

See Missouri Land and Property for information about records of land transfers from the government to private ownership. After that transfer, transactions were usually recorded and are currently housed at the county courthouse.

The Webster County Recorder compiles and maintains all county land records.  The Count Recorder will process land document requests via email or phone and will only mail those copies.  There is a nominal fee to process those record requests.

Webster County Recorder Contact Informaiton:
PO Box 546
101 S Crittenden, Rm 16
Marshfield, MO 65706
phone: 417-859-5882
fax: 417-468-3843

recorder@webstercountymo.gov

Local Histories

Local histories are available for Webster County, Missouri. County histories may include biographies, church, school and government history, and military information. For more information about local histories, see the Wiki page section Missouri Local Histories.

History of Laclede, Camden, Dallas, Webster, Wright, Texas, Pulaski, Phelps and Dent counties, Missouri.

Goodspeed. 1889.  Available online and searchable at:

http://cdm.sos.mo.gov/cdm4/document.php?CISOROOT=/mocohist&CISOPTR=71191&REC=20

Maps

Mowebster.jpg

Military

Civil War
- 16th Regiment, Missouri Cavalry (Union), Company D
:- 4th Regiment, Missouri Infantry - Confederate, Company I
:- 6th Provisional Regiment, Enrolled Missouri Militia (Union), Company D
:- 72nd Regiment, Enrolled Missouri Milita (Union), Company L
:- 72nd Regiment, Enrolled Missouri Milita (Union), Company M
:- 8th Regiment, Missouri Cavalry (Union), Company G
:- 8th Regiment, Missouri Cavalry (Union), Company L

Newspapers

Additional newspapers abstracts can sometimes be found using search phrases such as Webster County, Missouri newspapers in online catalogs like:


The State Historical Society of Missouri (SHSM) Newspaper Collection is the best resource for finding local newspaper articles, including obituaries.  They have digitized all local newspapers across all years and all printings from Webster County.  When you call a local paper (The Marshfield Mail is the oldest running paper in Webster County), they will refer you to this collection.  The archives in the local papers are stored away and difficult to access.

Probate

Probate records include wills, bonds, petitions, accounts, inventories, administrations, orders, decrees, and distributions. For further information, see United States Probate Records.

In Missouri, probate records have usually been recorded by the clerks of the probate courts, but in some counties the common pleas or circuit courts handled this function. They are frequently indexed.

Taxation

Taxes were levied on free white males over 21 and slaves aged 21 to 60. These persons are referred to as "polls." Tax listings, or digests, of a county generally list the taxable landowners and other polls and the amount of tax. The records for each county are divided by militia district. For more information see the wiki page Missouri Taxation.

Vital Records

Vital Records consist of births, adoptions, marriages, divorces, and deaths. For additional guidance on researching and using vital records, see United States Vital Records or How to order Missouri Vital Records.

St. Louis and Kansas City recorded births and deaths starting as early as 1850 for deaths and 1870 for births.  The Missouri Department of Health began keeping birth and death records in 1909. County records vary by year and the county. A copy or an extract of most original records can be purchased from the Missouri Vital Records State Department of Health, the County Clerk's office or order electronically online.

Births
  • 1877 - Worth County Birth Index 1877. Batch C515911 at FamilySearch - free.[3]
Marriages

The Webster County Recorder maintains all County Marriage records.  The County Recorder will respond to email and phone calls, but records will only be mailed to requestors.

The County is the repository for recorded Marriage Records until 1910.  It is important to note that some marriages may have occured in Christian and Wright Counties given the proximity of border cities to those counties.

Contact Information for Webster County Recorder

PO Box 546
101 S Crittenden, Rm 16
Marshfield, MO 65706
phone: 417-859-5882
fax: 417-468-3843

recorder@webstercountymo.gov

Online Records

  • 1855-1885 - Webster County Marriage Index 1855-1885. Batch M515911 at FamilySearch - free.[3]
Deaths

Missouri State Archives provides on-line access to Missouri Death Certificates more than 50 yrs old starting in 1910.  The database includes all counties and will allow you to search by county.  Webster County appears to have had slow adoption to the 1910 state law requirement as the records are minmal in the earlier years of the period.

Genealogy Societies, Archives and Libraries

Family History Centers