Wednesbury St Bartholomew, StaffordshireEdit This Page

From FamilySearch Wiki

England Gotoarrow.png Staffordshire Gotoarrow.png Staffordshire Parishes

Guide to Wednesbury St Bartholomew, Staffordshire family history and genealogy: parish register transcripts, census records, birth records, marriage records, and death records.
Wednesbury St Bartholomew, Staffordshire
Wednesbury St Bartholomew Staffordshire.jpg
Type Ancient Parish
Civil Jurisdictions
Hundred South Offlow
County Staffordshire
Poor Law Union West Bromwich PLU
Registration District West Bromwich
Records begin
Parish registers: 1561
Bishop's Transcripts: 1673
Ecclesiastical Jurisdictions
Rural Deanery Walsall
Diocese Lichfield
Province Canterbury
Legal Jurisdictions
Probate Court Court of the Bishop of Lichfield (Episcopal Consistory)
Location of Archive
Staffordshire Record Office

Contents

Parish History

WEDNESBURY (St. Bartholomew), a markettown and parish, in the union of West Bromwich, S. division of the hundred of Offlow and of the county of Stafford, 19 miles (S. S. E.) from Stafford, and 117 (N. W.) from London. Two new ecclesiastical parishes have been formed under the act 6th and 7th Victoria, cap. 37; called, respectively, St. John's and St. James'. There are places of worship for Baptists, Independents, Primitive Methodists, and Wesleyans.[1]

Resources

Civil Registration

Birth, marriages and deaths were kept by the government, from July 1837 to the present day. The civil registration article tells more about these records. There are several Internet sites with name lists or indexes. A popular site is FreeBMD.

See West Midlands BMD and Staffordshire BMD

Church records

Wednesbury St Bartholomew was formerly a chapelry in  Walsall St Matthew, Staffordshire EP

Wednesbury St Bartholomew parish registers of christenings, marriages and burials are available online for the following years:

FREG = FreeREG - free[2]
FS = FamilySearch - free[3]
NBI = National Burial Index (FindMyPast) - (£)[4]
WEDNESBURY ST BARTHOLOMEW PARISH (1561) Online Records

Baptisms
Marriages
Burials

Indexes Images Indexes Images Indexes Images
FREG 1569-1820
1813-1863
1569-1926
FS 1673-1844
1673-1836


NBI



1561-1977

Deposited parish registers at Staffordshire Record Office Bap 1569-1995 Mar  1562-1991 Bur 1561-1926
Lichfield Record Office holdings of Bishop's Transcripts Bap 1673-1844 Mar 1673-1836 Bur 1673-1844

Delves, The Good Shepherd, Staffordshire was a chapel of ease to this parish until 1875


Wednesbury St Andrew (Kings Hill) was formed as a Mission church to this parish.

WEDNESBURY ST ANDREW (KINGS HILL) PARISH Online Records

Baptisms
Marriages
Burials

Indexes Images Indexes Images Indexes Images
FREG 1853-1914




Deposited parish registers at Staffordshire Record Office Bap 1853-1914 Mar none Bur no burial ground
Lichfield Record Office holdings of Bishop's Transcripts No holdings

Wednesbury St Paul (Wood Green) was formed as a Mission church to this parish in 1875

Deposited parish registers at Staffordshire Record Office Bap 1875-1963 Mar 1876-1988 Bur no burial ground
Lichfield Record Office holdings of Bishop's Transcripts No holdings

Non-Conformist Churches

Primitive Methodist Chapel (Fallings Heath) registers of christenings, marriages and burials are available online for the following years:

  PRIMITIVE METHODIST CHAPEL (FALLINGS HEATH) (1866) Online Records

Baptisms
Marriages
Burials

Indexes Images Indexes Images Indexes Images
FREG 1866-1967






Primitive Methodist Chapel registers of christenings, marriages and burials are available online for the following years:

  PRIMITIVE METHODIST CHAPEL (1873) Online Records

Baptisms
Marriages
Burials

Indexes Images Indexes Images Indexes Images
FREG 1873-1844





Cemetery Records

Wood Green Cemetery[2]

FREG has transcribed the following Burial Registers1868-1870

Census records


Census records from 1841 to 1911 are available online. For access, see England Census Records and Indexes Online. Census records from 1841 to 1891 are also available on film through a Family History Center or at the Family History Library. The first film number is 474618.

Poor Law Unions

West Bromwich Poor Law Union,Staffordshire

Probate records

Records of wills, administrations, inventories, indexes, etc. were filed by the court with jurisdiction over this parish. Go to Staffordshire Probate Records to find the name of the court having primary jurisdiction. Scroll down in the article to the section Court Jurisdictions by Parish.

Maps and Gazetteers

Maps are a visual look at the locations in England. Gazetteers contain brief summaries about a place.

Websites

References

  1. Samuel A. Lewis, A Topographical Dictionary of England (1848), pp. 494-498. Date accessed: 06 November 2012.
  2. 2.0 2.1 'Staffordshire Coverage', FreeREG, accessed 16 August 2014.
  3. 'IGI Batch Numbers for Stafford (N-Z), England', IGI Batch Numbers - British Isles and North America, accessed 23 September 2013.
  4. 'Parish Records - National Burial Index Records 1538 - 2005 Coverage', Find My Past, accessed 8 September 2013.
  5. Ann J. Kettle, A List of Families in the Archdeaconry of Stafford, 1532-3 (Stafford: Staffordshire Record Society, 1976). FHL British Book 942.46 B4sc ser. 4 v. 8
Contributor: add any relevant sites that aren’t mentioned above.

 

Need additional research help? Contact our research help specialists.

Need wiki, indexing, or website help? Contact our product teams.


Did you find this article helpful?

You're invited to explain your rating on the discussion page (you must be signed in).

  • This page was last modified on 17 August 2014, at 16:06.
  • This page has been accessed 2,946 times.