Wednesbury St James, Staffordshire GenealogyEdit This Page
From FamilySearch Wiki
Guide to Wednesbury St James, Staffordshire ancestry, family history, and genealogy: parish register transcripts, census records, birth records, marriage records, and death records.
|Wednesbury St James, Staffordshire|
|Poor Law Union||West Bromwich PLU|
|Registration District||West Bromwich|
|Parish registers: 1845|
|Bishop's Transcripts: None|
|Probate Court||Court of the Bishop of Lichfield (Episcopal Consistory)|
|Location of Archive|
|Staffordshire Record Office|
WEDNESBURY (St. Bartholomew), a markettown and parish, in the union of West Bromwich, S. division of the hundred of Offlow and of the county of Stafford, 19 miles (S. S. E.) from Stafford, and 117 (N. W.) from London. Two new ecclesiastical parishes have been formed under the act 6th and 7th Victoria, cap. 37; called, respectively, St. John's and St. James'.
Birth, marriages and deaths were kept by the government, from July 1837 to the present day. The civil registration article tells more about these records. There are several Internet sites with name lists or indexes. A popular site is FreeBMD.
Wednesbury St James was formed in 1843 from part of Wednesbury St Bartholomew, Staffordshire
In 1980 it united with Wednesbury St John, Staffordshire when that church closed.
Wednesbury St James parish registers of christenings, marriages and burials are available online for the following years:
|FREG = FreeREG - free|
|WEDNESBURY ST JAMES (1845) Online Records|
Burials for St James 1849-1936 have been transcribed by Staffordshire FreeREG and can be searched for free.
Census records from 1841 to 1911 are available online. For access, see England Census Records and Indexes Online. Census records from 1841 to 1891 are also available on film through a Family History Center or at the Family History Library. The first film number is 474618.
Poor Law Unions
Records of wills, administrations, inventories, indexes, etc. were filed by the court with jurisdiction over this parish. Go to Staffordshire Probate Records to find the name of the court having primary jurisdiction. Scroll down in the article to the section Court Jurisdictions by Parish.
Maps and Gazetteers
Maps are a visual look at the locations in England. Gazetteers contain brief summaries about a place.
- This page was last modified on 3 February 2015, at 22:39.
- This page has been accessed 1,607 times.
New to the Research Wiki?
In the FamilySearch Research Wiki, you can learn how to do genealogical research or share your knowledge with others.Learn More