Wednesbury St John, StaffordshireEdit This Page

From FamilySearch Wiki

England Gotoarrow.png Staffordshire Gotoarrow.png Staffordshire Parishes

Guide to Wednesbury St John, Staffordshire ancestry, family history, and genealogy: parish register transcripts, census records, birth records, marriage records, and death records.

Wednesbury St John, Staffordshire
Type Ecclesiastical Parish
Civil Jurisdictions
Hundred South Offlow
County Staffordshire
Poor Law Union West Bromwich PLU
Registration District West Bromwich
Records begin
Parish registers: 1845
Bishop's Transcripts: None
Ecclesiastical Jurisdictions
Rural Deanery Walsall
Diocese Lichfield
Province Canterbury
Legal Jurisdictions
Probate Court Court of the Bishop of Lichfield (Episcopal Consistory)
Location of Archive
Staffordshire Record Office

Contents

Parish History

WEDNESBURY (St. Bartholomew), a markettown and parish, in the union of West Bromwich, S. division of the hundred of Offlow and of the county of Stafford, 19 miles (S. S. E.) from Stafford, and 117 (N. W.) from London. Two new ecclesiastical parishes have been formed under the act 6th and 7th Victoria, cap. 37; called, respectively, St. John's and St. James'.[1]

Resources

Civil Registration

Birth, marriages and deaths were kept by the government, from July 1837 to the present day. The civil registration article tells more about these records. There are several Internet sites with name lists or indexes. A popular site is FreeBMD.

Church records

Wednesbury St John was formed in 1844 from part of Wednesbury St Bartholomew, Staffordshire

In 1980 it united with Wednesbury St James, Staffordshire and the church is now closed.

Wednesbury St John parish registers of christenings, marriages and burials are available online for the following years:

FREG = FreeREG - free[2]
WEDNESBURY ST JOHN (1845) Online Records

Baptisms
Marriages
Burials

Indexes Images Indexes Images Indexes Images
FREG 1845-1878

1846-1882, 1937-1941

1846-1948

Deposited parish registers at Staffordshire Record Office Bap 1845-1980 Mar 1845-1980 Bur 1846-1948
Lichfield Record Office holdings of Bishop's Transcripts None

Census records

Census records from 1841 to 1911 are available online. For access, see England Census Records and Indexes Online. Census records from 1841 to 1891 are also available on film through a Family History Center or at the Family History Library. The first film number is 474618.

Poor Law Unions

West Bromwich Poor Law Union,Staffordshire

Probate records

Records of wills, administrations, inventories, indexes, etc. were filed by the court with jurisdiction over this parish. Go to Staffordshire Probate Records to find the name of the court having primary jurisdiction. Scroll down in the article to the section Court Jurisdictions by Parish.

Maps and Gazetteers

Maps are a visual look at the locations in England. Gazetteers contain brief summaries about a place.

Websites

http://www.genuki.org.uk/big/eng/STS/Wednesbury/index.html

References

  1. Samuel A. Lewis, A Topographical Dictionary of England (1848), pp. 494-498. Date accessed: 06 November 2012.
  2. 'Staffordshire Coverage', FreeREG, accessed 17 August 2014.
Contributor: add any relevant sites that aren’t mentioned above.

 

Need additional research help? Contact our research help specialists.

Need wiki, indexing, or website help? Contact our product teams.


Did you find this article helpful?

You're invited to explain your rating on the discussion page (you must be signed in).

  • This page was last modified on 4 November 2014, at 22:20.
  • This page has been accessed 838 times.