Weiningen parish, Zürich, SwitzerlandEdit This Page

From FamilySearch Wiki

Back to Zürich in Switzerland

Contents

Geography

Weiningen includes the civil parishes of Geroldswil and Unterengstringen, and until 1928 included five households within the civil parish of Oberengstringen. The civil parish of Oetwil an der Limmat is comprised of two sections, Oberoetwil and Unteroetwil. Oberoetwil belonged to Weiningen, while Unteroetwil was transferred to Weiningen in 1867 from the church parish of Otelfingen.

History

Place Names

Locations within Weiningen

Surrounding Parishes

Dällikon
Dietikon
Höngg
Otelfingen
Regensdorf
Schlieren
Spreitenbach (Aargau)
Würenlos (Aargau)

Collections

Church Records

Census Records

(see here for article describing the Zürich census records)

The following censuses are available for Weiningen:

Census Year FHL Film number item number beginning page
1634 1185140 1 29
1637 1185142 2 1
1640 1185144 2 607
1643 1185146 2 763
1647 1185148 2 383
1650 1185150 2 671
1655-1656 1185179 2 49
1657 1185179 1 88
1663 1185179 2 461
1670 1185154 2 399
1678 1185158 1 885
1682 1185160 1 223
1689 1185162 2 25
1694 1185167 2 45
1701 1185167 2 69
1709 1185171 1 59
1726 1185178 2 635
1764 1185178 2 667

Genealogies

(see here for article describing Swiss compiled genealogies)

The following genealogies have been researched for Weiningen families:

Civil Registration

Surnames

The following surnames held citizenship in Weiningen prior to 1875:

Related Sources

The town's website (in German) can be found here.

Societies and Libraries

Cantonal Archive of Zürich

References

Register of Swiss Surnames

Historical Gazetteer of Switzerland


 

Need additional research help? Contact our research help specialists.

Need wiki, indexing, or website help? Contact our product teams.


Did you find this article helpful?

You're invited to explain your rating on the discussion page (you must be signed in).

  • This page was last modified on 28 February 2014, at 17:32.
  • This page has been accessed 252 times.