Weld County, ColoradoEdit This Page

From FamilySearch Wiki

United StatesGotoarrow.pngColoradoGotoarrow.pngWeld County

Guide to Weld County, Colorado ancestry, family history, and genealogy birth records, marriage records, death records, census records, family history, and military records.

Hand and keyboard.jpg Colorado
Online Records


Weld County, Colorado
Map
Map of Colorado highlighting Weld County
Location in the state of Colorado
Map of the U.S. highlighting Colorado
Location of Colorado in the U.S.
Facts
Founded November 1, 1861
County Seat Greeley
Courthouse
Address Weld County Courthouse
1402 17th Street
Greeley, CO 80631-1123
Phone: 970.353.3840
Weld County Website

Contents

County Courthouse

County Clerk has marriage and land records;
Clerk District Court has divorce, probate and court records[1]

Clerk and Recorder
1402 North 17th Avenue
Greeley, CO 80631
phone: (970) 353-3840

Weld County Birth and Death Information
Department of Public Health and Environment
1555 North 17th Avenue
Greeley, CO 80631
970 304-6410 www.weldhealth.org

Historical Facts

Beginning dates for major county records
Birth
Marriage
Death
Tax
Land
Probate
1888 [2]*
1864 [3]*
1877 [2]*

1865[3]

*For earlier dates, try... Church | Obituaries | Cemeteries

County Seat

Greeley [4]

Parent County

Coweld.jpg
1861--Weld County was created 1 November 1861 as an original county.

Neighboring Counties

Record Loss

Vital Records

Vital Records consist of births, adoptions, marriages, divorces, and deaths recorded on registers, certificates, and documents. A copy or an extract of most original records can be purchased from the Vital Records Section Colorado Department of Public Health and Environment or the County Clerk's office of the county where the event occurred.

For some online statewide indexes, see the FamilySearch Historical Record Collections for Colorado.

See Colorado Vital Records.

Birth

Birth records may become public records when 100 years have elapsed after the date of birth. EXCEPTION: The birth record of any individual who is known to be currently alive will remain confidential even if they are 100 years of age or greater. [5]

For in-state births from 1900 to present, certificates can be obtained from Weld County Department of Public Health office. For birth certificates before 1900 contact the County where the birth occurred or the State Health Department at (303) 756-4464.

If you are obtaining a birth certificate for a sibling, parent, grandparent, etc., you will need to show chain of relationship. Examples are: A sibling could provide their birth certificate to show same parents. If you are trying to get a grandparent's birth certificate you will need to show your birth certificate, plus your parent's birth certificate to show chain of relationship. If you have questions on this please call our office at 970 304-6410.

Marriage

The Weld County Recorder's office will search their indexes if you call or come in to the office. If a record is found, a copy can be purchased in person or by mail. Call 970 353-3840.

Death

Death records may become public records when 75 years have elapsed after the date of death. [5]

To obtain a recent death certificate, you must show a direct and tangible interest to the deceased. Relatives include wife, mother, father, child (if they are listed on the death certificate). If they are not listed on the death certificate they must show proof of relationship. This would include maternal grandparents, paternal grandparents, siblings if they can prove chain of relationship. If you have questions on this please call the Weld County Department of Public Health office at 970 304-6410.

Divorce

Weld County divorces take place in Colorado’s 19th Judicial District. To obtain copies of divorce records there are fees for searching and for copies.

Weld County Combined Courts 970 475-2400.

Resources

African Americans

There was a small colony between Greeley and Fort Morgan. To learn more, see Dearfield, a Weld County Genealogical Society project.

The Colorado State Archives has school records available in this online database Archives Search.
Dearfield and surrounding area School Census 1909 - 1946

Cemeteries

Census

For tips on accessing Weld County, Colorado census records online, see: Colorado Census.

Church

Congregational

For a brief history with a list of churches and their organization date, click on Congregational Church in Colorado.

Lutheran

  • Records of Our Savior Lutheran Church, Greeley, in Evangelical Lutheran Church in America database at Archives.com ($).

Court Records

Directories

For 1902 medical directories and 1911 business directories click on UsGenWeb Weld County Directories.

Also see Weld County Directoriesfrom the Weld County Genealogical Society.

Gazetteers

Genealogy

For some Weld County names and sources, see Weld County Master Index courtesy of the Weld County Genealogical Society.

Local History

Local histories are available for Weld County, Colorado. County histories may include biographies, church, school and government history, and military information. For more information about local histories, see the wiki page section Colorado Local Histories.

Land and Property

Land and property records can place an ancestor in a particular location, provide economic information, and reveal family relationships. Land records include: deeds, abstracts and indexes, mortgages, leases, grants and land patents.

See Colorado Land and Property for additional information about early Colorado land grants.

After land was transferred to private ownership, subsequent transactions were usually recorded at the county courthouse, where current records are also housed.

Maps

Naturalization and Citizenship

Newspapers

Additional newspapers abstracts can sometimes be found using search phrases such as Weld County, Colorado newspapers in online catalogs like:

Poor Records

Colorado State Archives has put an Index to the Weld County Poor Records for 1902-1913 on-line.

Probate

Probate records have been kept by the county courts. Colorado probate records include bonds, affidavits, letters, claims, appraisals, fee accounts, minutes, judgments, dockets, calendars, case files, and wills. The Family History Library does not have copies of probate records from Colorado.

You may obtain copies of documents from the clerk's office in the county courthouse.

Public Records

School Records

Repositories

Archives

The Colorado State Archives has the following records available for Weld County, Colorado in this online database Archives Search. For a full list of online holdings, click here.
(Statewide)
Civilian Conservation Corps Enrollments 1936 - 1942
Divorce Index 1880 - 1939
Horseshoers 1897 - 1920
Mine Accidents, Non - fatal 1883 - 1900
Vietnam Deaths 1966, 1968

Weld County Old Age Pensions 1931
Weld County Poor Record 1902 - 1913
Weld County Probate Cases (1876 – 1981)
Weld County WW1 Vets

Family History Centers

Libraries

  • Dacono Public Library
    512 Cherry Street
    Dacono, CO 80514
    Telephone: 303-833-2317




Museums

Societies

Taxation

Colorado tax records complement land records and can be used as supplements to censuses. There may be gaps of several years in the records. To find tax records in the FamilySearch Catalog, do a Catalog/frameset_fhlc.asp Place Search for the county.

Places

Populated Places in Weld County
Cities
Towns
Unincorporated
Brighton *
Ault
Briggsdale
Dacono
Berthoud ***
Carr
Evans
Eaton
Dearfield
Fort Lupton
Erie **
Galeton
Greeley
Firestone
Gill
Longmont **
Frederick
Hereford
Northglenn *
Garden City
Keota
Thornton *
Gilcrest
Roggen

Grover
Stoneham

Hudson
Tampa

Johnstown ***
Wattenburg

Keenesburg


Kersey


La Salle


Lochbuie *


Lucerne


Mead


Milliken


Nunn


Pierce


Platteville


Raymer


Severance


Windsor ***

* partly in Adams County
** partly in Boulder County
*** partly in Larimer County

Web Sites

References

  1. Handybook for Genealogists: United States of America, 10th ed. (Draper, Utah: Everton Pub., 2002), Weld County, Colorado. Page 101 At various libraries (WorldCat); FHL Book 973 D27e 2002.
  2. 2.0 2.1 Earliest Colorado Vital Records on File in Colorado Counties, pub. by Colorado Department of Public Health and Environment, online at www.colorado.gov
  3. 3.0 3.1 The Red Book, American State, County, and Town Sources. Edited by Alice Eichholz. (Ancestry, Provo; 3d ed, 2004.) Colorado article by Birdie Monk Holzclaw and Marsha Hoffman Rising. page 94.
  4. The Handybook for Genealogists: United States of America,10th ed. (Draper, UT:Everton Publishers, 2002).
  5. 5.0 5.1 Letter from Colorado State Registrar, Dated September 1, 2011. Policy Number 2011- 08. http://www.colorado.gov

 

Need additional research help? Contact our research help specialists.

Need wiki, indexing, or website help? Contact our product teams.


Did you find this article helpful?

You're invited to explain your rating on the discussion page (you must be signed in).

  • This page was last modified on 20 November 2014, at 18:41.
  • This page has been accessed 7,758 times.