Welford, GloucestershireEdit This Page

From FamilySearch Wiki

England  Gotoarrow.png  Gloucestershire    Gotoarrow.png  Gloucestershire Parishes   

Guide to Welford, Gloucestershire family history and genealogy: parish registers, transcripts, census records, birth records, marriage records, and death records.

Part of this parish is in Warwickshire. See also Welford, Warwickshire.

Welford, Gloucestershire
Welford on Avon St Peter Warwickshire contributor Dave Bushell.jpg
Welford on Avon St Peter Warwickshire contributor Dave Bushell
Type Ancient Parish
Civil Jurisdictions
Hundred Barlichway; Deerhurst
County Gloucestershire
Poor Law Union Stratford on Avon PLU
Registration District Stratford on Avon
Records begin
Parish registers: 1561
Bishop's Transcripts: 1605
Ecclesiastical Jurisdictions
Rural Deanery Campden
Diocese Pre 1836 - Gloucester; Post 1835 - Gloucester and Bristol
Province Canterbury
Legal Jurisdictions
Probate Court Court of the Bishop of Gloucester (Episcopal Consistory)
Location of Archive
Gloucestershire Record Office

Contents

Parish History

WELFORD (Holy Trinity), a parish, in the union of Stratford-upon-Avon, partly in the Stratford division of the hundred of Barlichway, S. division of the county of Warwick, but chiefly in the Upper division of the hundred of Deerhurst, E. division of the county of Gloucester, 4¼ miles (W. S. W.) from Stratford;contains the hamlet of Brickmersh,in the township of Welford.The parish is situated on the river Avon. Here is a place of worship for Wesleyans; also an infants' school. [1]

Welford is an ancient Ecclesiastical parish is partly in the county of Gloucester and partly in the county of Warwick.

Until 1931 Welford-on-Avon was in Gloucestershire (as part of the rural district of Marston Sicca) and was, until 1974, part of Stratford-upon-Avon Rural District since then it is in the district of Stratford-on-Avon in the county of Warwickshire.

The village sits within a bend of the River Avon, on the south bank. It has the tallest maypole in England (at 65 feet / 20 metres). It used to be wooden but was replaced by an aluminium pole after a lightning strike

Resources

Civil Registration

Birth, marriages and deaths were kept by the government, from July 1837 to the present day. The civil registration article tells more about these records. There are several Internet sites with name lists or indexes. A popular site is FreeBMD.

Church records

Welford, Gloucestershire parish registers of christenings, marriages and burials are available online for the following years:

BIVRI = British Isles Vital Records Index (Ancestry) - (£)[2]
BOYD = Boyd's Marriage Index (FindMyPast) - (£)[3]
FHSO = FHSOnline - (£)[4]
Welford, Gloucestershire Parish Online Records

Baptisms
Marriages
Burials

Indexes Images Indexes Images Indexes Images
BIVRI 1880-1885


BOYD
1561-1716

FHSO 1813-1837

Census records

Census records from 1841 to 1911 are available online. For access, see England Census Records and Indexes Online. Census records from 1841 to 1891 are also available on film through a Family History Center or at the Family History Library. The first film number is 288772.

Probate records

Records of wills, administrations, inventories, indexes, etc. were filed by the court with jurisdiction over this parish. Go to Gloucestershire Probate Records to find the name of the court having primary jurisdiction. Scroll down in the article to the section Court Jurisdictions by Parish.

Maps and Gazetteers

Maps are a visual look at the locations in England. Gazetteers contain brief summaries about a place.

Websites

References

  1. Samuel A. Lewis,A Topographical Dictionary of England (1848), pp. 498-499. Date accessed: 12 March 2013.
  2. 'British Isles Vital Records Index - 2nd Ed. Breakdown of Records', Genoot, accessed 25 April 2014.
  3. Percival Boyd, A List of Parishes in Boyd's Marriage Index (London: Society of Genealogists, 1987). Digital version at FamilySearch Books Online.
  4. 'Coverage for the Gloucestershire Marriages database,' FHS Online, accessed 5 May 2014.

 

Need additional research help? Contact our research help specialists.

Need wiki, indexing, or website help? Contact our product teams.


Did you find this article helpful?

You're invited to explain your rating on the discussion page (you must be signed in).

  • This page was last modified on 16 May 2014, at 21:14.
  • This page has been accessed 1,527 times.