Wellington, SomersetEdit This Page

From FamilySearch Wiki

England Gotoarrow.png Somerset Gotoarrow.png Somerset Parishes

Guide to Wellington, Somerset family history and genealogy: parish registers, transcripts, census records, birth records, marriage records, and death records.

Wellington, Somerset
Type Ancient Parish
Civil Jurisdictions
Hundred West Kingsbury
County Somerset
Poor Law Union Wellington PLU
Registration District Wellington
Records begin
Parish registers: 1683
Bishop's Transcripts: 1612
Ecclesiastical Jurisdictions
Rural Deanery Taunton
Diocese Bath and Wells
Province Canterbury
Legal Jurisdictions
Probate Court Court of the Bishop (Consistory) of the Archdeaconry of Taunton
Location of Archive
Somerset Record Office

Contents

Parish History

WELLINGTON (St. John the Baptist), a market town and parish, and the head of a union, forming, with the parish of West Buckland, one of the two unconnected portions which comprise the W. division of the hundred of Kingsbury, in the W. division of Somerset, 149 miles (W. S. W.) from London. There are places of worship for Baptists, the Society of Friends, Independents, and Wesleyans; also almshouses.[1]

Resources

Civil Registration

Birth, marriages and deaths were kept by the government, from July 1837 to the present day. The civil registration article tells more about these records. There are several Internet sites with name lists or indexes. A popular site is FreeBMD.

Church records

Wellington, Somerset parish registers of christenings, marriages and burials are available online for the following years:

BOYD = Boyd's Marriage Index (FindMyPast) - (£)[2]
FREG = FreeREG - free[3]
FS = FamilySearch - free[4]
JOIN = The Joiner Marriage Index - (£)[5]
MARR = Somerset Marriages (FindMyPast) - (£)[6]
NBI = National Burial Index (FindMyPast) - (£)[7]
PALL = Pallot's Marriage Index (Ancestry) - (£)[8]
SOPC = Somerset Online Parish Clerks - free[9]
WELLINGTON PARISH Online Records

Baptisms
Marriages
Burials

Indexes Images Indexes Images Indexes Images
BOYD
1683-1812

FREG 1683-1837, 1868-1884
1683-1837
1683-1837
FS 1616-1682


JOIN
1672-1837

MARR
1622-1754

NBI

1616-1957
PALL
1790-1812

Wellington St John parish registers of christenings, marriages and burials are available online for the following years:

WELLINGTON ST JOHN PARISH Online Records

Baptisms
Marriages
Burials

Indexes Images Indexes Images Indexes Images
FREG 1890-1912
1890-1912

SOPC 1813-1837
1783-1837
1812-1837

Wellington All Saints parish registers of christenings, marriages and burials are available online for the following years:

WELLINGTON ALL SAINTS PARISH Online Records

Baptisms
Marriages
Burials

Indexes Images Indexes Images Indexes Images
SOPC

1812-1911

Census records

 

Census records from 1841 to 1911 are available online. For access, see England Census Records and Indexes Online. Census records from 1841 to 1891 are also available on film through a Family History Center or at the Family History Library. The first film number is 474601.

Probate records

Records of wills, administrations, inventories, indexes, etc. were filed by the court with jurisdiction over this parish. Go to Somerset Probate Records to find the name of the court having primary jurisdiction. Scroll down in the article to the section Court Jurisdictions by Parish.

Maps and Gazetteers

Maps are a visual look at the locations in England. Gazetteers contain brief summaries about a place.

Web sites

http://www.genuki.org.uk/big/eng/SOM/Wellington/index.html

References

  1. Samuel A. Lewis, A Topographical Dictionary of England, (1848). Date accessed and adapted: 26 September 2013.
  2. Percival Boyd, A List of Parishes in Boyd's Marriage Index (London: Society of Genealogists, 1987). Digital version at FamilySearch Books Online.
  3. 'Somerset Coverage', FreeREG, accessed 17 October 2013.
  4. 'IGI Batch Numbers for Somerset, England', IGI Batch Numbers - British Isles and North America, accessed 21 October 2013.
  5. 'Somerset Coverage,' The Joiner Marriage Index, accessed 18 October 2013.
  6. 'Somerset Marriages', FindMyPast (WayBack Machine), accessed 29 April 2014.
  7. 'Parish Records - National Burial Index Records 1538 - 2005 Coverage', Find My Past, accessed 17 October 2013.
  8. Pallot's Marriage and Birth Indexes, Guide to Parishes. Digital version at FamilySearch Books Online.
  9. Somerset Online Parish Clerks Genealogy, accessed 22 October 2013.

 

Need additional research help? Contact our research help specialists.

Need wiki, indexing, or website help? Contact our product teams.


Did you find this article helpful?

You're invited to explain your rating on the discussion page (you must be signed in).

  • This page was last modified on 8 August 2014, at 20:48.
  • This page has been accessed 1,220 times.