Wellow, NottinghamshireEdit This Page

From FamilySearch Wiki

England Gotoarrow.png Nottinghamshire Gotoarrow.png Nottinghamshire Parishes

Contents

Parish History

Wellow, Nottinghamshire
Wellow St Switihins Nottinghamshire.jpg
Wellow St Switihins Nottinghamshire
Type Ancient Parish
Civil Jurisdictions
Hundred Bassetlaw
County Nottinghamshire
Poor Law Union Southwell PLU
Registration District Southwell
Records begin
Parish registers: 1703
Bishop's Transcripts: 1622
Ecclesiastical Jurisdictions
Rural Deanery Retford
Diocese Lincoln
Legal Jurisdictions
Probate Court Exchequer and Prerogative Courts of the Archbishop of York
Location of Archive
Nottinghamshire Record Office


WELLOW (St. Swithin), a parish, in the union of Southwell, South-Clay division of the wapentake of Bassetlaw, N. division of the county of Nottingham, 1½ mile (S. E. by E.) from Ollerton. [1]


Wellow St Swithin is an Ancient Parish in the Newark and Sherwood district of Nottinghamshire, see Wellow Wikipedia.

The Southwell and Nottingham Church History project are researching the history of this church and parish Wellow St Switihin

The Church of St Swithin has been designated as a grade II* listed building British listed building

Resources

Civil Registration

Birth, marriages and deaths were kept by the government, from July 1837 to the present day. The civil registration article tells more about these records. There are several Internet sites with name lists or indexes. A popular site is FreeBMD.

Church records

Wellow, Nottinghamshire parish registers of christenings, marriages and burials are available online for the following years:

PALL = Pallot's Marriage Index (Ancestry) - (£)[2]
WELLOW PARISH Online Records

Baptisms
Marriages
Burials

Indexes Images Indexes Images Indexes Images
PALL

1723-1812


Deposited records at Nottinghamshire Archives St Swithin Baptisms 1703-1923 Marriages 1704-1968 Burials 1703-1901 Bishop's Transcripts 1622-1849
Nottinghamshire County Council
County Hall
West Bridgford
Nottingham
NG2 7QP telephone: 08449 808080 online

Link to the FamilySearch Catalogue showing the film numbers in their collection Wellow

Wellow - St.Swithins. A transcription of Memorial Inscriptions dated from 1787, giving surname, given name, date of death, age. Article in the Nottinghamshire Family History Soc. Magazine, vol. 59, pages 44-45 , Family History Library Ref. 942.52 D25n

Wellow - St. Swithin's Relief Cemetery. A transcription of Memorial Inscriptions dated from 1902, giving surname, given name, date of death, age. Article in the Nottinghamshire Family History Soc. Magazine, vol. 59, pages 46-47, Family History Library Ref. 942.52 D25n

Census records

Census records from 1841 to 1911 are available online. For access, see England Census Records and Indexes Online. Census records from 1841 to 1891 are also available on film through a Family History Center or at the Family History Library. The first film number is 438902.

See Nottinghamshire Census

Poor Law Unions

Southwell Poor Law Union,Nottinghamshire

Probate records

Records of wills, administrations, inventories, indexes, etc. were filed by the court with jurisdiction over this parish. Go to Nottinghamshire Probate Records to find the name of the court having primary jurisdiction. Scroll down in the article to the section Court Jurisdictions by Parish.

Maps and Gazetteers

Maps are a visual look at the locations in England. Gazetteers contain brief summaries about a place.

Websites

References

  1. Samuel A. Lewis, A Topographical Dictionary of England (1848), pp. 499-506. Date accessed: 21 October 2013.
  2. Pallot's Marriage and Birth Indexes, Guide to Parishes. Digital version at FamilySearch Books Online.

 

Need additional research help? Contact our research help specialists.

Need wiki, indexing, or website help? Contact our product teams.


Did you find this article helpful?

You're invited to explain your rating on the discussion page (you must be signed in).

  • This page was last modified on 22 August 2014, at 00:20.
  • This page has been accessed 1,135 times.