Wells Cathedral St Andrew, SomersetEdit This Page

From FamilySearch Wiki

England Gotoarrow.pngSomerset Gotoarrow.png Somerset Parishes

Guide to Wells Cathedral St Andrew, Somerset ancestry, family history, and genealogy: parish registers, transcripts, census records, birth records, marriage records, and death records.

Wells Cathedral St Andrew, Somerset
Type Cathedral
Civil Jurisdictions
Hundred Wells-City
County Somerset
Poor Law Union Not Applicable PLU
Registration District Wells
Records begin
Parish registers: 1661
Bishop's Transcripts: None
Ecclesiastical Jurisdictions
Rural Deanery Not Applicable
Diocese Bath and Wells
Province Canterbury
Legal Jurisdictions
Probate Court Court of the Dean and Chapter of Wells
Location of Archive
Somerset Record Office

Contents

Parish History

WELLS, (Cathedral of St Andrew the Apostle), a city, having separate jurisdiction, and the head of a union, in the hundred of Wells-Forum, east division of Somerset, 19 miles southwest from Bath, 19 miles south of Bristol; with that part of St. Cuthbert's parish, outside the city's limits.

The city by 1870 was comprised of the in-parish of St. Cuthbert (registers commence from 1609), which surrounds the cathedral precincts, St Thomas Chapel, created and built by 1858 and the three district chapelries of (East) Horrington (registers begin in 1845), Coxley (registers begin in 1845), and Easton (registers begin in 1848).

In the town are places of worship for Baptists, Independents, and Wesleyans.[1]

Resources

Civil Registration

Birth, marriages and deaths were kept by the government, from July 1837 to the present day. The civil registration article tells more about these records. There are several Internet sites with name lists or indexes. A popular site is FreeBMD.

Church records

Wells Cathedral St Andrew, Somerset parish registers of christenings, marriages and burials are available online for the following years:

FREG = FreeREG - free[2]
WELLS CATHEDRAL PARISH Online Records

Baptisms
Marriages
Burials

Indexes Images Indexes Images Indexes Images
FREG 1601-1812
1670-1773
1665-1812


Census records


Census records from 1841 to 1911 are available online. For access, see England Census Records and Indexes Online. Census records from 1841 to 1891 are also available on film through a Family History Center or at the Family History Library. The first film number is 474605.

Probate records

Records of wills, administrations, inventories, indexes, etc. were filed by the court with jurisdiction over this parish. Go to Somerset Probate Records to find the name of the court having primary jurisdiction. Scroll down in the article to the section Court Jurisdictions by Parish.

Maps and Gazetteers

Maps are a visual look at the locations in England. Gazetteers contain brief summaries about a place.


Web sites

http://www.genuki.org.uk/big/eng/SOM/Wells/index.html

References

  1. John M. Wilson, Imperial Gazetteer of England and Wales, (1870). Date accessed and adapted: 26 September 2013.
  2. 'Somerset Coverage', FreeREG, accessed 17 October 2013.
  3. E 179 Database, The National Archives, http://www.nationalarchives.gov.uk/e179/, accessed 8 August 2013.

 

Need additional research help? Contact our research help specialists.

Need wiki, indexing, or website help? Contact our product teams.


Did you find this article helpful?

You're invited to explain your rating on the discussion page (you must be signed in).

  • This page was last modified on 4 November 2014, at 22:28.
  • This page has been accessed 1,204 times.