Wells St ThomasEdit This Page

From FamilySearch Wiki

England Gotoarrow.pngSomerset Gotoarrow.png Somerset Parishes


Contents

Parish History

WELLS St Thomas was created a chapel of ease to the ancient parish (The Cathedral) of St Andrew the Apostle, in the city (registers begin in 1858).

The city by 1870 was not only comprised of the Cathedral St Andrew, but also the in-parish of St. Cuthbert (registers commence from 1609), which surrounds the cathedral precincts, St Thomas Chapel, created and built by 1858 and the three district chapelries of (East) Horrington (registers begin in 1845), Coxley (registers begin in 1845), and Easton (registers begin in 1848).

In the town are places of worship for Baptists, Independents, and Wesleyans.[1]

Resources

Civil Registration

Church records

Wells St Thomas parish registers of christenings, marriages and burials are available online for the following years:

FREG = FreeREG - free[2]
WELLS ST THOMAS PARISH Online Records

Baptisms
Marriages
Burials

Indexes Images Indexes Images Indexes Images
FREG 1858-1901
1858-1901
1858-1901

Online Parish Clerks

Census records


Census records from 1841 to 1911 are available online. For access, see England Census Records and Indexes Online. Census records from 1841 to 1891 are also available on film through a Family History Center or at the Family History Library. The first film number is 474605.

Poor Law Unions

Probate records

Maps and Gazetteers

Web sites

References

  1. John M. Wilson, Imperial Gazetteer of England and Wales, (1870). Date accessed and adapted: 26 September 2013.
  2. 'Somerset Coverage', FreeREG, accessed 17 October 2013.
  3. E 179 Database, The National Archives, http://www.nationalarchives.gov.uk/e179/, accessed 8 August 2013.



 

Need additional research help? Contact our research help specialists.

Need wiki, indexing, or website help? Contact our product teams.


Did you find this article helpful?

You're invited to explain your rating on the discussion page (you must be signed in).

  • This page was last modified on 29 April 2014, at 05:34.
  • This page has been accessed 521 times.