Wem, ShropshireEdit This Page

From FamilySearch Wiki

England  Gotoarrow.png  ShropshireGotoarrow.png  Shropshire Parishes

Guide to Wem, Shropshire family history and genealogy: parish registers, census records, birth records, marriage records, and death records.

Wem, Shropshire
Wem church.png
Type Ancient Parish
Civil Jurisdictions
Hundred North Bradford
County Shropshire
Poor Law Union Wem PLU
Registration District Wem
Records begin
Parish registers: 1583
Bishop's Transcripts: 1659
Ecclesiastical Jurisdictions
Rural Deanery Wem
Diocese Lichfield
Province Canterbury
Legal Jurisdictions
Probate Court Court of the Bishop of Lichfield (Episcopal Consistory)
Location of Archive
Shropshire Record Office

Contents

History

In 1848 - WEM (St. Peter and St. Paul), a market-town andparish, and the head of a union, partly in the hundred of Pimhill, but chiefly in the Whitchurch division of the hundred of North Bradford, N. division of Shropshire. There are places of worship for Baptists and Presbyterians. [1]

Census Records

Census records from 1841 to 1911 are available online. For access, see England Census Records and Indexes Online. Census records from 1841 to 1891 are also available on film through a Family History Center or at the Family History Library. The first film number is 474580.

Year Piece Folios
1841    
1851    
1861    
1871    
1881    
1891    
1901    

NOTE: Many census transcribers have confused the town of Wem with "WEM", the Chapman Code for the county of Westmeath in Ireland! Beware of places of birth such as Edstaston, Westmeath, Ireland, as they should read Edstaston, Wem, Shropshire, England. There are many thousands of these errors!!!

Civil Records

The parish of Wem originally formed part of the Wem & Whitchurch Registration District when it was created on 1 Jul 1837. This was later renamed Wem Registration District when a separate registration district was created for Whitchurch. In 1935 the Wem Registration District was incorporated into the Whitchurch Registration District.

Years District Sub-district Volumes
1837-1935 Wem Wem XVIII (1837-51)
6a (1852-1935)
1 Apr 1935 - 31 Dec 1969 Whitchurch Wem 6a (1853-1946)
9A (1946-69)
1 Jan 1970 - 1974 North Shropshire Wem 9A (1970-74)

Church Records

The following records for Wem are available on the IGI:

Church Type Years Batch Number
St. Peter & St. Paul Baptisms 1813-1875 C008992
St. Peter & St. Paul Marriages 1582-1812 M008991
St. Peter & St. Paul Marriages 1813-1836 M008992
St. Peter & St. Paul Mixed 1583-1812 P008991

Wem parish registers of christenings, marriages and burials are available online for the following years:

BOYD = Boyd's Marriage Index (FindMyPast) - (£)
FMP = Shropshire Records (FindMyPast) - (£)[2][3][4][5]
IARC = Internet Archive - free
JOIN = The Joiner Marriage Index - (£)[6]
MLOC = Mel Lockie website - free
PALL = Pallot's Marriage Index (Ancestry) - (£)[7]
WEM PARISH (1583) Online Records

Baptisms
Marriages
Burials

Indexes Images Indexes Images Indexes Images
BOYD
1582-1812

FMP Undefined Undefined Undefined Undefined Undefined Undefined
IARC 1583-1812
1583-1812
1583-1812
JOIN
1582-1812

MLOC 1583-1812
1583-1812
1583-1812
PALL
1790-1810s

Bishop's transcripts held at Lichfield Record Office Bap 1659-1881 Marr 1659-1836 Bur 1659-1881 Missing all events 1871-1873, 1880

Nonconformist Church Records

The following records for Wem are available on the IGI:

Church Type Years Batch Number
Cripple Street Baptist Baptisms 1823-1836 C092491
Noble Street Presbyterian Baptisms 1822-1837 C016442
Independent Chapel Mixed 1779-1837 P016291
Presbyterian Chapel Mixed 1755-1814 P016441

Bibliography

  • Wem: a brief history to celebrate the 900th anniversary of Domesday Book, Patricia Jones 1986.
  • The story of Wem and its neighbourhood, 1952 (reprinted 1975 with additions).

Websites

References

  1. Samuel A. Lewis,A Topographical Dictionary of England (1848), pp. 506-509. Date accessed: 11 June 2012.
  2. 'Shropshire Baptisms 1538-1900,' FindMyPast, accessed 28 April 2014.
  3. 'Shropshire Marriages 1538-1900,' FindMyPast, accessed 28 April 2014.
  4. 'Shropshire Banns 1760-1900,' FindMyPast, accessed 28 April 2014.
  5. 'Shropshire Burials 1538-1900,' FindMyPast, accessed 28 April 2014.
  6. 'Shropshire Coverage,' The Joiner Marriage Index, accessed 9 September 2013.
  7. Pallot's Marriage and Birth Indexes, Guide to Parishes. Digital version at FamilySearch Books Online.

 

Need additional research help? Contact our research help specialists.

Need wiki, indexing, or website help? Contact our product teams.


Did you find this article helpful?

You're invited to explain your rating on the discussion page (you must be signed in).

  • This page was last modified on 28 April 2014, at 18:46.
  • This page has been accessed 1,980 times.