Wembley, MiddlesexEdit This Page

From FamilySearch Wiki

EnglandGotoarrow.png Middlesex Gotoarrow.png Middlesex Parishes

Guide to Wembley, Middlesex ancestry, family history, and genealogy: Parish registers, transcripts, census records, birth records, marriage records, and death records.

Wembley, Middlesex
Type Ecclesiastical Parish
Civil Jurisdictions
Hundred Gore
County Middlesex
Poor Law Union Hendon PLU
Registration District Hendon
Records begin
Parish registers: None
Bishop's Transcripts: None
Ecclesiastical Jurisdictions
Rural Deanery Not created until 1858
Diocese London
Province Canterbury
Legal Jurisdictions
Probate Court Court of the Peculiar Jurisdiction of the Archbishop of Canterbury in the Deaneries of the Arches, Croydon and Shoreham
Location of Archive
Middlesex Record Office

Contents

Parish History

Wembley is a district church created by the year 1847... and a hamlet, in the parish of Harrow-on-the-Hill, union of Hendon, hundred of Gore, county of Middlesex.[1]

Resources

Civil Registration

Birth, marriages and deaths were kept by the government, from July 1837 to the present day. The civil registration article tells more about these records. There are several Internet sites with name lists or indexes. A popular site is FreeBMD.

Church records

Burials from 1846 to 1866 are indexed in Greater London Burials (£)[2]

To find the names of the neighbouring parishes, use England Jurisdictions 1851. In this site, search for the name of the parish, click on the location "pin", click Options and click List contiguous parishes.

Census and Inhabitants Lists

Census records from 1841 to 1911 are available online. For access, see England Census Records and Indexes Online. Census records from 1841 to 1891 are also available on film through a Family History Center or at the Family History Library. The first film number is 438774.

1666 Hearth Tax

Probate records

Records of wills, administrations, inventories, indexes, etc. were filed by the court with jurisdiction over this parish. Go to Middlesex Probate Records to find the name of the court having primary jurisdiction. Scroll down in the article to the section Court Jurisdictions by Parish.

Poor Law Unions

Contributor: Add information about the pertinent poor law unions in the area.

Maps and Gazetteers

Maps are a visual look at the locations in England. Gazetteers contain brief summaries about a place.

Websites

Wembley in Harrow on the Hill on GENUKI

References

  1. Samuel A. Lewis, A Topographical Dictionary of England, (1848). Adapted. Date accessed: 24 January 2014.
  2. 'Greater London Burials: Middlesex and City of London Burials: Parishes, Counts and References,' British Origins, accessed 4 April 2013.

 

Need additional research help? Contact our research help specialists.

Need wiki, indexing, or website help? Contact our product teams.


Did you find this article helpful?

You're invited to explain your rating on the discussion page (you must be signed in).

  • This page was last modified on 14 November 2014, at 16:24.
  • This page has been accessed 1,922 times.