Wennington, LancashireEdit This Page

From FamilySearch Wiki

England Gotoarrow.png Lancashire Gotoarrow.png Wennington

Guide to Wennington, Lancashire family history and genealogy: parish register transcripts, census records, birth records, marriage records, and death records.

Contents

Introduction

Wennington is a civil parish in the City of Lancaster district in Lancashire. The village is located on the B6480, near the River Wenning and the Yorkshire border. It is administered by Wennington Parish Council.

It has the remaining turnpike house on the road which divides the two counties.

The former Crazy Cow Inn has been converteed into a private dwelling.

WENNINGTON, a township in Melling parish, Lancashire; on the Lancaster and Settle railway, at the junction of the new line to Furness, 6 miles S by E of Kirkby-Lonsdale. It has a r station with telegraph. Acres, 830. Real property, £1,300. Pop., 180. Houses, 33. W. Hall is the seat of W. A. F. Saunders, Esq.
John Marius Wilson, Imperial Gazetteer of England and Wales (1870-72)

Wennington Bridge.jpg

Civil registration

Online index of Lancashire Births, Marriages and Deaths Lancashire BMD & Free BMD

  • Lancaster

Census

Poor Law Unions

Caton Gilbert Union,Lancashire

Lunesdale Poor Law Union,Lancashire

Taxation

References


 

Need additional research help? Contact our research help specialists.

Need wiki, indexing, or website help? Contact our product teams.


Did you find this article helpful?

You're invited to explain your rating on the discussion page (you must be signed in).

  • This page was last modified on 12 April 2014, at 19:12.
  • This page has been accessed 1,104 times.