Wensley, YorkshireEdit This Page

From FamilySearch Wiki

England Gotoarrow.png Yorkshire Gotoarrow.png Yorkshire Parishes S-YGotoarrow.png North Riding of Yorkshire Gotoarrow.png Wensley

Guide to Wensley, Yorkshire ancestry, family history, and genealogy: parish registers, transcripts, census records, birth records, marriage records, and death records.

  
Wensley, Yorkshire
HolyTrinity Wensley Yorkshire.jpg
Type Ancient Parish
Civil Jurisdictions
Hundred West Hang
County Yorkshire
Poor Law Union Leyburn PLU
Registration District Leyburn
Records begin
Parish registers: 1538
Bishop's Transcripts: 1637
Ecclesiastical Jurisdictions
Rural Deanery Catterick
Diocese Pre-1836 - York; Post-1835 - Ripon
Province York
Legal Jurisdictions
Probate Court Court of the Bishop (Consistory) of the Commissary of the Archdeaconry of Richmond Eastern Deaneries - Catterick
Location of Archive
Yorkshire Record Office

Contents

Parish History

Wensley Holy Trinity is an Ancient Parish in the county of Yorkshire. Other places in the parish include: Leyburn, Preston under Soar, Preston under Scar, and Preston.

WENSLEY (Holy Trinity), a parish, in the union of Leyburn, wapentake of Hang-West, N. riding of York; containing, with the chapelries of Bolton-Castleand Redmire, and the townships of Leyburn and Preston-under-Scar, 1969 inhabitants, of whom 309 are in Wensley township, 3 miles (N. W. by W.) from Middleham.[1]

Resources

Civil Registration

Birth, marriages and deaths were kept by the government, from July 1837 to the present day. The civil registration article tells more about these records. There are several Internet sites with name lists or indexes. A popular site is FreeBMD.

Church records

Online Records

Online data content from chapelry registers of Wensley exists at some of the following websites and for the specified ranges of years:

FMP= FindMyPast - (£)[2]
FREG = FreeREG - free[3]
FS = FamilySearch.org
JOIN = JoinerMarriageIndex.co.uk - (£)
WENSLEY PARISH (1538) Online Records

Baptisms
Marriages
Burials

Indexes Images Indexes Images Indexes Images
FMP 1813-1877 1813-1877 1813-1876 1813-1876
FREG 1538-1837 1538-1875 1538-1837
FS 1538-1876

1538-1876

1637-1860

JOIN None

1538-1837

None

To find the names of the neighbouring parishes, use England Jurisdictions 1851. In this site, search for the name of the parish, click on the location "pin", click Options and click List contiguous parishes.

Census records

Census records from 1841 to 1911 are available online. For access, see England Census Records and Indexes Online. Census records from 1841 to 1891 are also available on film through a Family History Center or at the Family History Library. The first film number is 464232.

Poor Law Unions

Leyburn Poor Law Union, Yorkshire

Probate records

Records of wills, administrations, inventories, indexes, etc. were filed by the court with jurisdiction over this parish. Go to Yorkshire Probate Records to find the name of the court having primary jurisdiction. Scroll down in the article to the section Court Jurisdictions by Parish.

Maps and Gazetteers

Maps are a visual look at the locations in England. Gazetteers contain brief summaries about a place.

Web sites

References

  1. Lewis, Samuel A., A Topographical Dictionary of England (1848), pp. 509-513. Date accessed: 14 October 2013.
  2. 'Yorkshire Parish Records - Parish List,' findmypast, accessed 30 September 2014.
  3. http://www.freereg.org.uk/parishes/nry.htm 'Yorkshire North Riding,'] FreeREG, accessed 22 October 2014.

 

Need additional research help? Contact our research help specialists.

Need wiki, indexing, or website help? Contact our product teams.


Did you find this article helpful?

You're invited to explain your rating on the discussion page (you must be signed in).

  • This page was last modified on 15 November 2014, at 22:02.
  • This page has been accessed 1,245 times.