Werneth, CheshireEdit This Page

From FamilySearch Wiki

England Gotoarrow.png Cheshire Gotoarrow.png Cheshire Parishes Gotoarrow.png Werneth

Contents

Parish History

WERNETH, is a township-chapelry, in the parish and union of Stockport, hundred of Macclesfield, North division of the county of Chester, 5 miles (N. E. by E.) from Stockport. In the township are the hamlets or villages of Compstall, has a post-office under Stockport; Gee-Cross has a post office under Manchester, and Compstall-Bridge, as well a the village of Apethorne. A church, dedicated to St. Paul, a plain but neat structure, was erected in 1841, and is in the village of Compstall. There is a chapel for New Connexion Methodists in Compstall, and at GeeCross there is a chapel for Unitarians.[1] [2]

Resources

Census records

Census records from 1841 to 1911 are available online. For access, see England Census Records and Indexes Online. Census records from 1841 to 1891 are also available on film through a Family History Center or at the Family History Library. The first film number is 241246.

Church records

Werneth St Paul registers of christenings, marriages and burials have been indexed by the following groups:

FS PR's =FamilySearch Parish Registers
FS BT's = FamilySearch Bishops Transcripts
FMP = FindMyPast
NBI = National Burial Index (FindMyPast) - (£)[3]
Werneth St Paul Parish (1839) Online Records

Baptisms
Marriages
Burials

Indexes Images Indexes Images Indexes Images
FS PR's 1839-1848
  NONE
   NONE
  NONE
1874-1887
  NONE
FS BT'S    NONE
  NONE
   NONE
  NONE
   NONE
  NONE
FMP (£)



1841-1887
1841-1887
NBI



1841-1887

To find the names of the neighbouring parishes, use England Jurisdictions 1851. In this site, search for the name of the parish, click on the location "pin", click Options and click List contiguous parishes.  Here is a list of parish registers on microfilm at the Family History Library in Salt Lake City.

Chapelry of Werneth Parish registers: Chester Record Office call no.: P231/1-2.

Parish registers for chapelry of Werneth, Cheshire, 1839-1887

Film

Baptisms, 1839-1865. Burials, 1841-1887.

1941927 Items 3 - 4

Non Conformist Churches

  • Unitarian
  • Wesleyan Methodist
  • New Connexion Methodist

Civil Registration

Birth, marriages and deaths were kept by the government, from 1 July 1837 to the present day. The civil registration article tells more about these records. Here are two excellent Internet sites with birth, marriage and death indexes available:

Registration Districts

  • Stockport (1837-97)

Probate records

Records of wills, administrations, inventories, indexes, etc. were filed by the court with jurisdiction over this parish. Go to Cheshire Probate Records to find the name of the court having primary jurisdiction. Scroll down in the article to the section Court Jurisdictions by Parish.

see also England Cheshire Probate Records (FamilySearch Historical Records)

Maps and Gazetteers

Maps are a visual look at the locations in England. Gazetteers contain brief summaries about a place.

Websites

References

  1. Samuel A. Lewis, A Topographical Dictionary of England (1848) Adapted 16 April 2013
  2. John Marius Wilson, Imperial Gazetteer of England and Wales (1870-72). Date Accessed: 16 April 2013
  3. 'Parish Records - National Burial Index Records 1538 - 2005 Coverage', Find My Past, accessed 15 October 2013.
Contributor: add any relevant sites that aren’t mentioned above.



 

Need additional research help? Contact our research help specialists.

Need wiki, indexing, or website help? Contact our product teams.


Did you find this article helpful?

You're invited to explain your rating on the discussion page (you must be signed in).

  • This page was last modified on 17 April 2014, at 04:00.
  • This page has been accessed 972 times.