West Allen, NorthumberlandEdit This Page

From FamilySearch Wiki

England Gotoarrow.png Northumberland Gotoarrow.png Northumberland Parishes

Guide to West Allen, Northumberland family history and genealogy: parish registers, transcripts, census records, birth records, marriage records, and death records.

West Allen, Northumberland
Former+Carrshield+church Northumberland.JPG
Former+Carrshield+church Northumberland
Type Ecclesiastical Parish
Civil Jurisdictions
Hundred Tindale
County Northumberland
Poor Law Union Hexham PLU
Registration District Hexham
Records begin
Parish registers: 1823
Bishop's Transcripts: 1823
Ecclesiastical Jurisdictions
Rural Deanery Hexham
Diocese Durham
Province York
Legal Jurisdictions
Probate Court Court of the Peculiar of the Archbishop of York in Hexham and Hexhamshire
Location of Archive
Northumberland Record Office

Contents

Parish History

ALLENDALE, (also known as West Allen) a market-town and parish, in the union of Hexham, S. division of Tindale ward and of Northumberland, 7 miles (S.) from Haydon-Bridge, 9¾ miles (S. W. by W.) from Hexham. Within the parish also are four chapels. Allendale Parish includes Allendale, St. Peter's, the chapel at Nine-Banks, the chapel at the Carr Shield, or West Allen High chapel, built in 1822 and that of Allenheads. There are places of worship for the Society of Friends and Wesleyans.[1]

Additional information:

West Allen is an Ecclesiastical Parish in the county of Northumberland, created in 1826 from chapelry in Allendale Ecclesiastical Parish and includes: High West Allen and Low West Allen.

Allen High West alias for Carrshield. The ancient parish of Allendale, Northumberland originally served the village of Carrshields.

In 1764 a chapel to Allendale church was built at Ninebanks. Three years later in 1767 the chapelry was created a parish. Carr Shields formed part of this new parish. In 1822 a chapelry of Ninebanks was built at Carr Shields for the use of the leadmining families that populated the area. Mrs. Diana Beaumont, the lady of the manor, provided the funding for the building.

When the new chapel was opened in 1822 the existing chapel building was converted into a schoolhouse. In November 1877 a Board School was established in the village. This school closed in July 1968 with only five pupils.

There is a strong history of religious non-conformity in the Allendale valley. There were no Methodist chapels at Carr Shields but there were several in West Allen township. There were Wesleyan Chapels at Limestone Brea (built in 1824); Hesleywell (built in 1827); High House (built in 1829); Shield Ridge (built in 1854) and Mohope (built in 1858). There were also Primitive Methodist chapels at Corryhill (built 1844) and Whitley Shield (built 1857).
Allen Low West alias for Ninebanks Refer to Ninebanks parish.

Resources

Civil Registration

Birth, marriages and deaths were kept by the government, from July 1837 to the present day. The civil registration article tells more about these records. There are several Internet sites with name lists or indexes. A popular site is FreeBMD.

Church Records

Durham University Library Archives and Special Collections Carr Shield Reference number: DDR/EA/PBT/2/49 Date: 1842-1852 Parish Register transcripts are available to search free online at FamilySearch Historical Records. The Ninebanks transcripts are Reference number: DDR/EA/PBT/2/195 Date: 1841-1857

The dates of the post-1760 transcripts have been noted in detail and sometimes only cover years. For most parishes in the collection there are gaps in the sequence of transcripts. It is advisable to consult the original parish registers for these years and events.

Carrshield, Christ Church: Records of baptisms 1823-1978, marriages 1900-1904 and burials 1823-1982 (at Chapel House) are available at Northumberland Collections Service. Bishops' Transcripts for the periods 1823-1837 and 1839-1841 are deposited at the Borthwick Institute University of York The International Genealogical Index (I.G.I.) includes baptisms 1823-1875 for Carrshield, but it is not included in Boyd's Marriage Index. A transcript of monumental inscriptions (microfiche TN73) is published by Northumberland and Durham Family History Society and these records are also available in book form at Newcastle Central Library, Local Studies Department.

The International Genealogical Index (I.G.I.) also includes baptisms 1823-1841 for "West Allen", which appears to relate to Carr Shield using the alias contained in the Durham Diocesan Registry.

Non Conformist Records
  •  Allendale Society of Friends: Records of births/baptisms 1838-1878, marriages 1837-1956 and deaths 1838-1908 are available at Northumberland Collections Service and Tyne and Wear Archives Service.
  •  Allendale, Alston, Edmondbyers And Haltwhistle Society of Friends: Bishops' Transcripts for for the period 1871-1892 are online at Record Search.

 A transcript of monumental inscriptions at Allendale and Allendale Society of Friends (microfiche TN71) is published by Northumberland and Durham Family History Society and these records are also available in book form at Newcastle Central Library, Local Studies Department.

 The following Methodist records are available at Northumberland Collections Service:

  •  Allendale Primitive Methodist Circuit - Baptisms 1847-1881
  •  Allendale Wesleyan Methodist Circuit - Baptisms 1883-1941
  •  Allendale, Dawson Place - Marriages 1909-1967
  •  Allenheads, Bethel - Baptisms 1834-1927
  •  Allenheads, Dirt Pot/Dove Pool - Marriages 1913-1946
  •  High House - Baptisms 1842-1964
  •  Mohope - Baptisms 1864-1933


Transcripts of monumental inscriptions at Keenley Methodist (microfiche TN73) and Ninebanks, West Allen High House and West Allen Limestone Brae (microfiche TN96) are published by Northumberland and Durham Family History Society and these records are also available in book form at Newcastle Central Library, Local Studies Department.

Early Primitive Methodist chapels in this area belonged to Hexham P.M. Circuit or to Westgate (Co. Durham) P.M. Circuit. Records for Hexham Circuit 1824-1837 are included on the IGI (listed as Bull Bank or Bethania Chapel). Records for Westgate 1824-1837 can be seen at Durham Record Office and are included on the IGI. Early Wesleyan Methodist chapels in this area belonged to Alston W.M. Circuit. Records for 1810-1951 can be seen at Cumbria Record Office in Carlisle.

FamilySearch Historical Records includes England, Durham Diocese, Marriage Bonds and Allegations (FamilySearch Historical Records)

Census records

Census records from 1841 to 1911 are available online. For access, see England Census Records and Indexes Online. Census records from 1841 to 1891 are also available on film through a Family History Center or at the Family History Library. The first film number is 438894.

Poor Law Unions

Hexham Poor Law Union, Northumberland

Probate records

Records of wills, administrations, inventories, indexes, etc. were filed by the court with jurisdiction over this parish. Go to Northumberland Probate Records to find the name of the court having primary jurisdiction. Scroll down in the article to the section Court Jurisdictions by Parish.

Maps and Gazetteers

Maps are a visual look at the locations in England. Gazetteers contain brief summaries about a place.

Web sites

Add any relevant sites that aren't mentioned above.

References

  1. Lewis, Samuel A., A Topographical Dictionary of England, (1848). Date accessed: 31 July 2013.

 

Need additional research help? Contact our research help specialists.

Need wiki, indexing, or website help? Contact our product teams.


Did you find this article helpful?

You're invited to explain your rating on the discussion page (you must be signed in).

  • This page was last modified on 30 May 2014, at 19:31.
  • This page has been accessed 1,046 times.