West Blatchington, SussexEdit This Page
From FamilySearch Wiki
Guide to West Blatchington, Sussex ancestry, family history, and genealogy: parish registers, transcripts, census records, birth records, marriage records, and death records.
|West Blatchington, Sussex|
|Poor Law Union||Steyning PLU|
|Parish registers: Not Known|
|Bishop's Transcripts: 1635|
|Probate Court||Court of the Bishop (Episcopal Consistory) of Chichester for the Archdeaconry of Lewes|
|Location of Archive|
|Sussex Record Office|
BLATCHINGTON, WEST (St. Peter), a parish, in the union of Steyning, hundred of Whalesbone, rape of Lewes, E. division of Sussex, 1½ mile (N. W. by W.) from Brighton.
Church History West Blatchington St Peter
The parish church has been designated a grade II* listed building Grade II* listed buildings in Brighton and Hove
Birth, marriages and deaths were kept by the government, from July 1837 to the present day. The civil registration article tells more about these records. There are several Internet sites with name lists or indexes. A popular site is FreeBMD.
From 1837 this parish was in the Steyning registration district until the 1935 reorganisation of registration services
Certificates can be ordered from
Brighton & Hove The Register Office
Brighton Town Hall
BN1 1JA 01273 292016 01273 292019 register.office@brighton hove.gov.uk
Link to the FamilySearch Catalogue showing the film numbers in their collection Blatchington, West
Census records from 1841 to 1911 are available online. For access, see England Census Records and Indexes Online. Census records from 1841 to 1891 are also available on film through a Family History Center or at the Family History Library. The first film number is 464161.
The 1851 census of England and Wales attempted to identify religious places of worship in addition to the household survey census returns.
Poor Law Unions
Records of wills, administrations, inventories, indexes, etc. were filed by the court with jurisdiction over this parish. Go to Sussex Probate Records to find the name of the court having primary jurisdiction. Scroll down in the article to the section Court Jurisdictions by Parish.
Maps and Gazetteers
Maps are a visual look at the locations in England. Gazetteers contain brief summaries about a place.
- ↑ Samuel A. Lewis, A Topographical Dictionary of England (1848), pp. 279-282. Date Accessed: 4 October 2013
- This page was last modified on 4 November 2014, at 23:37.
- This page has been accessed 641 times.