West Bridgford, NottinghamshireEdit This Page

From FamilySearch Wiki

England Gotoarrow.png Nottinghamshire Gotoarrow.png Nottinghamshire Parishes

Contents

Parish History

West Bridgford, Nottinghamshire
West Bridgford St Giles Nottinghamshire.jpg
West Bridgford St Giles Nottinghamshire
Type Ancient Parish
Civil Jurisdictions
Hundred Bingham; Rushcliffe
County Nottinghamshire
Poor Law Union Basford PLU
Registration District Basford
Records begin
Parish registers: 1559
Bishop's Transcripts: 1603
Ecclesiastical Jurisdictions
Rural Deanery Bingham
Diocese Lincoln
Legal Jurisdictions
Probate Court Exchequer and Prerogative Courts of the Archbishop of York
Location of Archive
Nottinghamshire Record Office

BRIDGFORD, WEST (St. Giles), a parish, in the union of Basford, partly in the S. division of the wapentake of Bingham, but chiefly in the N. division of the wapentake of Rushcliffe, S. division of the county of Nottingham, 2 miles (S. S. E.) from Nottingham. At each of the hamlets of Basingfield and Gampston is a place called Chapel Yard, the supposed site of a chapel.[1]

Additional information:

West Bridgford St Giles is an Ancient parish which includes Gamsford and Bassingfield

The church of St Giles dates from the 13th century and was restored in 1872; designated as a grade II listed building by English Heritage  British listed bulding

Gamston St Luke was formed from this Ancient Parish and should not be confused with Gamston, Nottinghamshire
West Bridgford Wikipedia

Resources

Civil Registration

Birth, marriages and deaths were kept by the government, from July 1837 to the present day. The civil registration article tells more about these records. There are several Internet sites with name lists or indexes. A popular site is FreeBMD.

This area was from 1837 part of the Basford registration district

Church records

West Bridgford, Nottinghamshire parish registers of christenings, marriages and burials are available online for the following years:

PALL = Pallot's Marriage Index (Ancestry) - (£)[2]
WEST BRIDGFORD PARISH Online Records

Baptisms
Marriages
Burials

Indexes Images Indexes Images Indexes Images
PALL

1559-1812


Deposited records at Nottinghamshire Archives West Bridgford St Giles Baptisms 1559-1944 Marriages 1559-1948 Burials 1559-1959 Bishop's Transcripts 1603-1842
Nottinghamshire County Council
County Hall
West Bridgford
Nottingham
NG2 7QP telephone: 08449 808080 online

Gamston St Luke within this parish should not be confused with Gamston, Nottinghamshire

Link to the FamilySearch Catalogue showing the film numbers in their collection Bridgford, West

Nottingham, Wilford Hill Hebrew Congregation.  Memorial Inscriptions giving an alphabetical listing surname, given name, age, date of death, dating from 1850.  Some give year of birth. Trascription is in Nottinghamshire Family History Society Magazine, vol. 97, pages 17-34. FHL Ref 942.52 D25n

Census records

Census records from 1841 to 1911 are available online. For access, see England Census Records and Indexes Online. Census records from 1841 to 1891 are also available on film through a Family History Center or at the Family History Library. The first film number is 438908.

See Nottinghamshire Census

Land and Property

Bailey, Bryan.  Particulars and Rental of an Estate at West Bridgeford in the County of Nottingham the Property of John Musters Esqr 1800.  Alphabetical listing surname, given name, description of whethether house or land, quantity of land, and the annual Rent. Original Article held Nottinghamshire Archives Ref DD.TB 2/2/14, transcription in Nottinghamshire Family History Soc. Magazine, vol. 115, pages 74-75, FHL Ref 942.52 D25n

Poor Law Unions

Basford Poor Law Union, Nottinghamshire

Probate records

Records of wills, administrations, inventories, indexes, etc. were filed by the court with jurisdiction over this parish. Go to Nottinghamshire Probate Records to find the name of the court having primary jurisdiction. Scroll down in the article to the section Court Jurisdictions by Parish.

Maps and Gazetteers

Maps are a visual look at the locations in England. Gazetteers contain brief summaries about a place.

Websites

References

  1. Samuel A. Lewis, A Topographical Dictionary of England, (1848). Adapted. Date accessed: 10 December 2013.
  2. Pallot's Marriage and Birth Indexes, Guide to Parishes. Digital version at FamilySearch Books Online.


  1. Samuel A. Lewis, A Topographical Dictionary of England, (1848). Adapted. Date accessed: 10 December 2013.
  2. Pallot's Marriage and Birth Indexes, Guide to Parishes. Digital version at FamilySearch Books Online.

 

Need additional research help? Contact our research help specialists.

Need wiki, indexing, or website help? Contact our product teams.


Did you find this article helpful?

You're invited to explain your rating on the discussion page (you must be signed in).

  • This page was last modified on 26 August 2014, at 16:30.
  • This page has been accessed 1,053 times.