West Bromwich All Saints, StaffordshireEdit This Page

From FamilySearch Wiki

England Gotoarrow.png Staffordshire Gotoarrow.png Staffordshire Parishes

Guide to West Bromwich All Saints, Staffordshire ancestry, family history, and genealogy: parish register transcripts, census records, birth records, marriage records, and death records.

West Bromwich All Saints, Staffordshire
West Bromwich All Saints Staffordshire.jpg
Type Ancient Parish
Civil Jurisdictions
Hundred South Offlow
County Staffordshire
Poor Law Union West Bromwich PLU
Registration District West Bromwich
Records begin
Parish registers: 1608
Bishop's Transcripts: 1676
Ecclesiastical Jurisdictions
Rural Deanery Handsworth
Diocese Lichfield
Province Canterbury
Legal Jurisdictions
Probate Court Court of the Bishop of Lichfield (Episcopal Consistory)
Location of Archive
Staffordshire Record Office

Contents

Parish History

BROMWICH, WEST (All Saints), a town and parish, and the head of a union, in the hundred of Offlow South, S. division of the county of Stafford, situated about 6 miles (N. W.) from Birmingham, 4 miles (E.) from Dudley, and 4 (S.) from Walsall; adjoining the town of Wednesbury. The name has been variously written  different periods as Bromwic, Bromwych,Bromich,Bromwhiche, and Bromwidge. There are many places of worship fordissenters of different denominations. The Wesleyans have five meeting-houses, of which the largest, Wesley Chapel, the Independents have four meeting-houses, the Baptists two, the Roman Catholics one; and the Primitive Methodists,Ranters, and others, have four or five small places of meeting. [1]

Resources

Civil Registration

Birth, marriages and deaths were kept by the government, from July 1837 to the present day. The civil registration article tells more about these records. There are several Internet sites with name lists or indexes. A popular site is FreeBMD.

Church records

West Bromwich All Saints, Ancient parish, registers of christenings, marriages and burials are available online for the following years:

FMP = Staffordshire Parish Register Collection (findmypast) - (£)[2]
FREG = FreeREG - free[3]
FS = FamilySearch - free[4]
IARC = Internet Archive - free
JOIN = The Joiner Marriage Index - (£)[5]
NBI = National Burial Index (findmypast) - (£)[6]
TGEN = TheGenealogist - (£)[7]
WEST BROMWICH ALL SAINTS PARISH (1563) Online Records

Baptisms
Marriages
Burials

Indexes Images Indexes Images Indexes Images
FREG 1608-1659/60, 1813-1824, 1859-1868
1608-1659, 1795-1860, 1862
1608-1658, 1813-1830-1872
FS 1608-1659, 1676-1868
1608-1659, 1676-1837


IARC 1608-1658
1608-1658
1608-1658
JOIN

1608-1837


NBI



1563-1979
TGEN 1608-1658
1608-1658
1608-1658

Deposited parish registers at Staffordshire Record Office Bap 1608-1920 Mar 1608-1975 Bur 1608-1956 available on microfilm only
Lichfield Record Office holdings of Bishop's Transcripts Bap 1676-1878 Mar 1676-1837 Bur 1676-1868
See Sandwell Archives

West Bromwich St Peter parish registers of christenings, marriages and burials are available online for the following years:

WEST BROMWICH ST PETER PARISH (1858) Online Records

Baptisms
Marriages
Burials

Indexes Images Indexes Images Indexes Images
BIVRI 1858-1889
1861-1899


FMP 1812-1900 1812-1900
FREG 1858-1878


1858-1904


St. Paul's, Golds Hill, which originated in a mission opened at the Golds Hill Ironworks in 1853, was in the parish of St. James until 1887.

West Bromwich St Paul (Golds's Hill) parish registers of christenings, marriages and burials are available online for the following years:

WEST BROMWICH ST PAUL (GOLD'S HILL) (1853) PARISH Online Records

Baptisms
Marriages
Burials

Indexes Images Indexes Images Indexes Images
FREG 1853-1920


1855-1865
Non Conformist Churches

West Bromwich Roman Catholic parish registers of christenings, marriages and burials are available online for the following years:

WEST BROMWICH ROMAN CATHOLIC Online Records

Baptisms
Marriages
Burials

Indexes Images Indexes Images Indexes Images
NBI



1734-1837


West Bromwich Old Meeting House Independent registers of christenings, marriages and burials are available online for the following years:

WEST BROMWICH OLD MEETING HOUSE INDEPEN Online Records

Baptisms
Marriages
Burials

Indexes Images Indexes Images Indexes Images
NBI



1837


West Bromwich Wesleyan Methodist parish registers of christenings, marriages and burials are available online for the following years:

WEST BROMWICH WESLEYAN METHODIST Online Records

Baptisms
Marriages
Burials

Indexes Images Indexes Images Indexes Images
NBI



1837

Golds Green Primitive Methodist Chapel'''registers of christenings, marriages and burials are available online for the following years:

  GOLDS GREEN PRIMITIVE METHODIST CHAPEL (1839) Online Records

Baptisms
Marriages
Burials

Indexes Images Indexes Images Indexes Images
FREG 1839-1886





High Street Wesleyan Chapel registers of christenings, marriages and burials are available online for the following years:

  HIGH STREET WESLEYAN CHAPEL (1815) Online Records

Baptisms
Marriages
Burials

Indexes Images Indexes Images Indexes Images
FREG 1815-1870





Hill Top Wesleyan Chapel registers of christenings, marriages and burials are available online for the following years:

  HILL TOP WESLEYAN CHAPEL (1841) Online Records

Baptisms
Marriages
Burials

Indexes Images Indexes Images Indexes Images
FREG 1841-1868





Cemetery Records

Heath Lane Cemetery[3]

FREG has transcribed the following Burial Registers 1859-1905

Census records


Census records from 1841 to 1911 are available online. For access, see England Census Records and Indexes Online. Census records from 1841 to 1891 are also available on film through a Family History Center or at the Family History Library. The first film number is 474614.

Poor Law Unions

West Bromwich Poor Law Union,Staffordshire

Probate records

Records of wills, administrations, inventories, indexes, etc. were filed by the court with jurisdiction over this parish. Go to Staffordshire Probate Records to find the name of the court having primary jurisdiction. Scroll down in the article to the section Court Jurisdictions by Parish.

Maps and Gazetteers

Maps are a visual look at the locations in England. Gazetteers contain brief summaries about a place.

Websites

http://www.genuki.org.uk/big/eng/STS/WestBromwich/AllSaints/index.html

Reference

  1. Samuel A. Lewis,A Topographical Dictionary of England (1848), pp. 400-405. Date accessed: 06 November 2012.
  2. 'Staffordshire Parish Records Coverage', Find My Past, accessed 25 August 2014.
  3. 3.0 3.1 'Staffordshire Coverage', FreeREG, accessed 28 September 2014.
  4. 'IGI Batch Numbers for Stafford (N-Z), England', IGI Batch Numbers - British Isles and North America, accessed 23 September 2013.
  5. Staffordshire Coverage, The Joiner Marriage Index, accessed 13 September 2013.
  6. 'Parish Records - National Burial Index Records 1538 - 2005 Coverage', Find My Past, accessed 8 September 2013.
  7. 'Parish Records - Staffordshire Coverage', The Genealogist, accessed 27 September 2013.
  8. Ann J. Kettle, A List of Families in the Archdeaconry of Stafford, 1532-3 (Stafford: Staffordshire Record Society, 1976). FHL British Book 942.46 B4sc ser. 4 v. 8


 

Need additional research help? Contact our research help specialists.

Need wiki, indexing, or website help? Contact our product teams.


Did you find this article helpful?

You're invited to explain your rating on the discussion page (you must be signed in).

  • This page was last modified on 15 November 2014, at 21:48.
  • This page has been accessed 3,653 times.