West Bromwich Holy Trinity, StaffordshireEdit This Page

From FamilySearch Wiki

England Gotoarrow.png Staffordshire Gotoarrow.png Staffordshire Parishes

Guide to West Bromwich Holy Trinity, Staffordshire family history and genealogy: parish register transcripts, census records, birth records, marriage records, and death records.

West Bromwich Holy Trinity, Staffordshire
Type Ecclesiastical Parish
Civil Jurisdictions
Hundred South Offlow
County Staffordshire
Poor Law Union West Bromwich PLU
Registration District West Bromwich
Records begin
Parish registers: 1841
Bishop's Transcripts: None
Ecclesiastical Jurisdictions
Rural Deanery Handsworth
Diocese Lichfield
Province Canterbury
Legal Jurisdictions
Probate Court Court of the Bishop of Lichfield (Episcopal Consistory)
Location of Archive
Staffordshire Record Office

Contents

Parish History

West Bromwich Holy Trinity is an Ecclesiastical Parish in the county of Staffordshire, created in 1841 from West Bromwich [All Saints] Ancient Parish. Non-Church of England denominations identified in West Bromwich Holy Trinity include: Baptist, Independent/Congregational, Methodist New Connexion, Primitive Methodist, Roman Catholic, and Wesleyan Methodist. Countess of Huntingdon Methodist is a non-Church of England denomination located somewhere in West Bromwich, but the exact parish has not been identified. [1]

Resources

Civil Registration

Birth, marriages and deaths were kept by the government, from July 1837 to the present day. The civil registration article tells more about these records. There are several Internet sites with name lists or indexes. A popular site is FreeBMD.

Church records

West Bromwich Holy Trinity was formed in 1841 from part of West Bromwich All Saints, Staffordshire EP

West Bromwich Holty Trinity parish registers of christenings, marriages and burials are available online for the following years:

FREG = FreeREG - free[2]
WEST BROMWICH HOLY TRINITY PARISH (1841) Online Records

Baptisms
Marriages
Burials

Indexes Images Indexes Images Indexes Images
FREG 1841-1880


1842-1872

Deposited parish registers at Staffordshire Record Office Bap 1841-1964 Mar 1846-1955 Bur 1842-1943
Lichfield Record Office holdings of Bishop's Transcripts Bap 1844-1847 Mar none Bur 1844-1847

Census records

Census records from 1841 to 1911 are available online. For access, see England Census Records and Indexes Online. Census records from 1841 to 1891 are also available on film through a Family History Center or at the Family History Library. The first film number is 474614.

Poor Law Unions

West Bromwich Poor Law Union,Staffordshire

Probate records

Records of wills, administrations, inventories, indexes, etc. were filed by the court with jurisdiction over this parish. Go to Staffordshire Probate Records to find the name of the court having primary jurisdiction. Scroll down in the article to the section Court Jurisdictions by Parish.

Maps and Gazetteers

Maps are a visual look at the locations in England. Gazetteers contain brief summaries about a place.

Websites

http://www.genuki.org.uk/big/eng/STS/WestBromwich/index.html

Reference


 

Need additional research help? Contact our research help specialists.

Need wiki, indexing, or website help? Contact our product teams.


Did you find this article helpful?

You're invited to explain your rating on the discussion page (you must be signed in).

  • This page was last modified on 26 August 2014, at 15:15.
  • This page has been accessed 1,134 times.