West Bromwich St James (formerlyHill Top), StaffordshireEdit This Page

From FamilySearch Wiki

England Gotoarrow.png Staffordshire Gotoarrow.png Staffordshire Parishes

Guide to West Bromwich St James (formerly Hill Top), Staffordshire family history and genealogy: parish registers, census records, birth records, marriage records, and death records.

West Bromwich St James (formerlyHill Top), Staffordshire
Type Ecclesiastical Parish
Civil Jurisdictions
Hundred South Offlow
County Staffordshire
Poor Law Union West Bromwich PLU
Registration District West Bromwich
Records begin
Parish registers: None
Bishop's Transcripts: None
Ecclesiastical Jurisdictions
Rural Deanery Handsworth
Diocese Lichfield
Province Canterbury
Legal Jurisdictions
Probate Court Court of the Bishop of Lichfield (Episcopal Consistory)
Location of Archive
Staffordshire Record Office

Contents

Parish History

Hill Top was an Ecclesiastical Parish in the county of Staffordshire, created in 1844 from West Bromwich All Saints, Staffordshire Ancient Parish and referred to as West Bromwich St. James (see church records)

BROMWICH, WEST (All Saints), a town and parish, and the head of a union, in the hundred of Offlow South, S. division of the county of Stafford, situated about 6 miles (N. W.) from Birmingham, 4 miles (E.) from Dudley, and 4 (S.) from Walsall; adjoining the town of Wednesbury. There are many places of worship for dissenters of different denominations. The Wesleyans have five meeting-houses, the Independents have four meeting-houses, the Baptists two, the Roman Catholics one; and the Primitive Methodists, Ranters, and others, have four or five small places of meeting. [1]

Resources

Civil Registration

Birth, marriages and deaths were kept by the government, from July 1837 to the present day. The civil registration article tells more about these records. There are several Internet sites with name lists or indexes. A popular site is FreeBMD.

See West Midlands BMD and Staffordshire BMD

Church records

West Bromwich St James was formed 1844 from  West Bromwich All Saints, Staffordshire EP

Deposited parish registers at Staffordshire Record Office Bap 1842-1979 Mar 1844-1978 Bur none no burial ground
Lichfield Record Office holdings of Bishop's Transcripts No Holdings



Census records

Census records from 1841 to 1911 are available online. For access, see England Census Records and Indexes Online. Census records from 1841 to 1891 are also available on film through a Family History Center or at the Family History Library. The first film number is 474614.

Poor Law Unions

West Bromwich Poor Law Union,Staffordshire

Probate records

Records of wills, administrations, inventories, indexes, etc. were filed by the court with jurisdiction over this parish. Go to Staffordshire Probate Records to find the name of the court having primary jurisdiction. Scroll down in the article to the section Court Jurisdictions by Parish.

Maps and Gazetteers

Maps are a visual look at the locations in England. Gazetteers contain brief summaries about a place.

Websites

Reference

  1. Samuel A. Lewis, A Topographical Dictionary of England (1848), pp. 400-405. Date accessed: 29 October 2012.



 

Need additional research help? Contact our research help specialists.

Need wiki, indexing, or website help? Contact our product teams.


Did you find this article helpful?

You're invited to explain your rating on the discussion page (you must be signed in).

  • This page was last modified on 22 August 2014, at 00:30.
  • This page has been accessed 1,668 times.