West Buckland, DevonEdit This Page

From FamilySearch Wiki

England Gotoarrow.png Devon Gotoarrow.png Devon Parishes

Guide to West Buckland, Devon family history and genealogy: parish registers, transcripts, census records, birth records, marriage records, and death records.

West Buckland, Devon
Type Ancient Parish
Civil Jurisdictions
Hundred Braunton
County Devon
Poor Law Union South Molton PLU
Registration District South Molton
Records begin
Parish registers: 1625
Bishop's Transcripts: 1597
Ecclesiastical Jurisdictions
Rural Deanery Shirwell
Diocese Exeter
Province Canterbury
Legal Jurisdictions
Probate Court Court of the Bishop (Consistory) of the Archdeaconry of Barnstaple
Location of Archive
Devon Record Office

Contents

Parish History

BUCKLAND, WEST (St. Peter), a parish, in the union of South Molton, hundred of Braunton, South Molton and N. divisions of Devon, 6 miles (N. W.) from South Molton. There is a place of worship for Wesleyans. [1]

Resources

Civil Registration


Births, marriages and deaths were kept by the government from July 1837 to the present day. The civil registration article tells more about these records. There are several Internet sites with name lists or indexes. A popular site is FreeBMD.

Church records

Census records

Census records from 1841 to 1911 are available online. For access, see England Census Records and Indexes Online. Census records from 1841 to 1891 are also available on film through a Family History Center or at the Family History Library. The first film number is 241303.

Probate records

Records of wills, administrations, inventories, indexes, etc. were filed by the court with jurisdiction over this parish. Go to Devon Probate Records to find the name of the court having primary jurisdiction. Scroll down in the article to the section Court Jurisdictions by Parish.

Maps and Gazetteers

There are many maps and gazetteers showing English places. Valuable web sites are:

  • 1851 Jurisdiction Maps
  • Vision of Britain

Websites

Add here any relevant sites that aren't mentioned above.

References

  1. Samuel A. Lewis, A Topographical Dictionary of England (1848), pp. 420-424. Date accessed: 27 August 2013.

 

Need additional research help? Contact our research help specialists.

Need wiki, indexing, or website help? Contact our product teams.


Did you find this article helpful?

You're invited to explain your rating on the discussion page (you must be signed in).

  • This page was last modified on 12 May 2014, at 19:51.
  • This page has been accessed 529 times.